We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First class stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Beverley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First class stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2010

We have just returned from our third stay at Porto Mare, the first stay was in the hotel when we bought our timeshare and have since stayed at the Residence for the last two years. We love the place and the staff and service is excellent from the cleaners, waiters and reception. The staff at the Residence who look after you Tom, Yvette and Claire are always on hand to make your stay comfortable. If you fancy a trip to Madeira then be sure to stay at this hotel. Madeira offers lots of walks and fabulous scenery and at this time of year, the Christmas lights are something else.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, January 5, 2011
Thank you for the comments posted on Tripadvisor about The Residence.
We are happy to learn that you had a good time during your holidays and I will certainly share with my team your positive thoughts about their service.

Muito Obrigado

With best regards

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    57
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
133
271
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2010

We stay at the Residence at Porto Mare, as timeshare owners and have been going for six years. The staff are exceptional, the accommodation excellent and the facilities extremely good. The gardens around the hotel complex are delightful with such a variety of plants - well named - this year there was a new orchid garden.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, January 5, 2011
"Muito Obrigado" for posting on Tripadvisor your holidays experience at The Residence.

It is rewarding to know that even after six years we are able to meet your holiday expectations.

P.S. There is a new plants corner …next visit to Madeira, come to find it and give us your feedback about it!

With warm regards,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesbourne Hastings, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

Although we have stayed here on several occasions, and know the staff responsible for time share owners' services, it is disappointing to be let down with the arrangements for our airport transfer more than once. Having had difficulty getting on to the transportation a couple of occasions previously, the next time we organised a taxi. Due to the need to move 4 people and 4 large suitcases, and taxis often being E-class Mercedes Saloons, we chose to try the Blandy's transport again, and booked our return transfer the day after we arrived through the Residence. We found out when boarding the mini bus that we had been incorrectly put on the one an hour later, which would have caused us to miss our flight home! No apology, just chastisement for not checking the list the night before! And at the prices charged by the hotel restaurants etc, we expect courtesy and efficiency which is sadly lacking from the lady in charge of guest/owner satisfaction

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, November 25, 2010
I regret to know that you had a negative experience with the airport transfers. I promise good attention to your notes and thoughts and with my colleagues will try to do a better job on future visits to The Residence.

Muito Obrigado

Best regards,

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2010

This was our sixth stay at The Residence, and was wonderful as always.
The hotel maintains its high standards year after year.
The apartments are beautiful and well cared for, and the hotel itself is always quiet and tranquil.
Our holiday at the Residence is the highlight of our year. We love it.
Cannot recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, November 14, 2010
Dear Sirs,

It is Sunday, nice weather outside, I and so many other colleagues are working!!! but it feels great when we open the computer and read comments like yours...Thank you for sharing on tripadvisor your holiday experience at The Residence.

Hope to see you on your 7th stay and have the opportunity to meet you.

Best regards,

Muito Obrigado

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2010

fantastic place to stay, amenities great. you can do as little or as much as you like. staff always very helpful....we, and several people that we know, will be going back again......just an all round brilliant holiday

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, November 14, 2010
Dear Sirs,

Many thanks for your comments shared on Tripadvisor. I will certainly share your thoughts with The Residence team.

Hope to have the opportunity to meet you in a near future,

Muito Obrigado,

Best regards,
Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2010

Our third visit. Every year improves on the last. Service and attention to detail has not deteriorated at all. Maintenance and upkeep remains at a very high standard. Better than others in the area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2010

This hotel is on the western edge of Funchal overlooking the Lido. Although full, the hotel never seemed to be overrun with people. There was always plenty of space around the pools. The staff are very friendly and eager to please. There are a choice of restaurants in the hotel but also plenty of good choice a short walk away. The supermarket is just around the corner and even an 'English' one just up the road. For those visitors who want to see other parts of the Island, excursions are provided. There is a free shuttle bus to and from Funchal itself and numerous local buses also stop just outside. The rooms/suites are cleaned every day and the linen beautifully white. Adequate kitchen utensils are provided for cooking in oven, hob or microwave and there is also a dishwasher.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, October 17, 2010
Dear Madam, Dear Sir,

We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed the facilities & services during your stay. In fact within Vila Porto Mare we have the three hotels with shared facilities, 5 pools, 4 restaurants, different bars, Spa and nearly 20.000 square meters of gardens and areas with different corners and places to be on a relaxed atmosphere.

I also take the opportunity to thank you for your comments about your stay at The Residence.

Muito Obrigado,

Best cumpliments,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.