We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“MUCH MORE THAN A SECOND HOME - TRANQUILITY & FUN IN EQUAL AMOUNTS” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“MUCH MORE THAN A SECOND HOME - TRANQUILITY & FUN IN EQUAL AMOUNTS”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

We cannot enthuse enough about our timeshare apartment. So delighted with the tour of this amazing "complex" of timeshare, + 2 outstanding hotels we immediately signed up for 1 week of bliss; quickly changing it to 2 weeks. This was back in 2005 and selfishly we haven't done a review before, as I wanted to keep it all to myself!! Wiser and somewhat older now, one realises how silly this sounds. This is a truely amazing place, with wonderful grounds, 5 swimming pools, fabulous food served in all their restaurants, and the staff who are truely exceptional. Warm, friendly, helpful and fun - nothing is too much trouble, and you really do feel more like a long lost relative than a paying guest, on your return each year. However, don't just take our word for it - Go and See for Yourself.
Alice & Julian

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Alice an Julian, TripAdvisor advise us not to use the guest names in our answer, which I think is non sense…anyway and it is not to go against the rules (although sometimes we need to..).
Yes you have been with us so many times and the way you enjoy your holidays and whenever you are around you just enjoy your self’s and get the most out of it which not everyone can do it..

THANK YOU for staying with us, for your kindness, for being the persons you are.

It will always be a great pleasure to see you and people like you in our hotels.


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,
Abraço


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    494
    65
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
153
319
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sandy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Just returned from our 5th year in The Residence and it never disappoints.
It was good to see music around the pool bar 3 evenings this year and hopefully the support it had will encourage it in the future. The only disappointment was no BBQ as it is only held every other week, why not weekly !!!
Already to book my flights for next year
Thanks Carole and John

Room Tip: I have two bedroom and lovely garden area, would not change it
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, August 1, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the nice feedback about your recent 5th stay at The Residence. It is rewarding to know that you have enjoyed another holiday experience with us.
,
Regarding the BBQ we organize it every week on every Thursday during summer. This year we have started on the 19th June…next year you can join us for a lovely outdoor evening meal.

Looking forward to welcome you,

Warm regards,


Muito obrigado


. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Claire Taylor Dias (Admin Dept) at The Residence went over and above with regards emotional, physical, practical support. She made calls for me, packed up my whole room for me (whilst I lay in a hospital bed - totally incapacitated). She bought me shopping and visited me loads (I am 40 years old, and went on holiday alone for a "break" ....oh the irony).

She even did all of this on her DAYS OFF ! Amazing.

She gave me her personal mobile number and was there for me 24/7.

I am part of the 10 year Time Share deal and I can honestly say nowhere has EVER come close to the standard of The Residence/Porto Mare Hotel.

The staff are (clearly!) beyond amazing. The place is spotlessly clean and beautiful.

10 out of 10 ..... in every aspect. Really. And I am a very fussy person with ridiculously high standards.

40 year old single female, Kent.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback about your recent holiday experience at The Residence shared with so many other holiday makers.
Thank you also for the public praise of our staff members Claire in particular. I am sure she will be delighted to receive your thoughts.

We all wish you a quick recover from the incident during your holidays.

We will always be pleased to welcome you.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Lovely hotel overlooking the sea with beautiful well kept grounds and gardens. We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment in May which was very spacious and liked it so much that we're returning later in the year. We didn't eat in the hotel but listening to other residents the food was good. There is a Hotel courtesy bus to Funchal town which has to be booked in advance as The lido area is a long walk to centre but bearing in mind they do not operate over the lunch period and in the evening. There are also plenty of eateries in the Lido area to choose from.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Porto Mare Residence and for your feedback about it.
It is rewarding to know that you took a very positive impression of our property and services provided.

It will always be a pleasure to welcome you back,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,


. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely weeks holiday in the Residence with our family, we had two apartments. Our Grandchildren of 6 and 8 had a wonderful time taking full advantage of all the facilities like tennis, table tennis kids club the list goes on. Every year they enjoy the magic show and the addition of Mr Marron a bonus. It's a shame they don't advertise the kids club more we only sought it out as they loved it last year, the only mention is in a small brochure in your welcome pack.
Well done Porto Bay another great week !

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the nice feedback about your recent stay at The Residence. Thank you also for being with us once again.

It is rewarding to know that you have enjoyed another holiday experience with us.

We have taken good note of you suggestion about the Kids club program.

Looking forward to welcome you,

Warm regards,


Muito obrigado


. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilhavo, Portugal
Level Contributor
87 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

This has got to be one of the nicest hotels we've stayed in and we can't wait to go back. Accomodation great, huge and with all state of the art appliances; great breakfast, plentiful and always well stocked; nice pools (since the weather was not great we used more the indoor pools, but all were lovely); and the nicest part was definitely the gardens and outdoor setup, with nice spots everywhere. Only down points were the distance to our room from the reception (felt like the length of a football field) and the lack of free internet in the room (there was free wifi in the reception are but that was, like I mentioned, mileeees away). We will definitely want to go back.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a short message to thank you for your ” “Superb” ” feedback about your recent visit to our hotel. Really happy to learn that overall you had a pleasant holiday experience.

We have made good note about the internet charge and promise to discuss it internally.

We sincerely hope to see you around whenever you decide to visit Madeira Island once again,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

We have just returned from wonderful Madeira and the Residence. If you are considering visiting Madeira, book to stay at the Residence or the Porto Mare Hotel. You will see from the many previous reviews it has excellent facilities. The Staff, from the Senior Management through to the lovely Chambermaids cannot do enough for you. The beautiful gardens must be seen to be believed ! The ample choice of swimming pools gives everyone their own individual space. In house entertainment is varied and good. Try it you won't be disappointed!

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the street on the west side, otherwise any choice will be good for differing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for your recent stay at The Residence hotel and for your thoughts about it.

Happy to learn that you have enjoyed your holiday experience with us.


It will be a pleasure to welcome you whenever you decide to visit us.

Warm regards,

Muto obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)
0.4 mi away
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
1.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Quinta Jardins do Lago
#2 of 88 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 88 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 551 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vidamar Resort Madeira
Vidamar Resort Madeira
#18 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.