We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed and chilled out” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
scotland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Relaxed and chilled out”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2008

Arrived at the residence at about 1pm our room was ready even though check-in time was 4pm. We have a 1 bed apt which was fantastic lovely and clean with great views from the balcony to the sea. The resort is a great place to unwind plenty of sunbeds and a great large pool outside with two further heated pools inside. The staff are very friendly and often came over to speak throughout the day, the restaurants are really good with something for every taste, there is also a good supermarket nearby if you fancied cooking in your apartment, I will definately be going back next year I rate the residence and porta mare resort 5 star

  • Liked — very spacious, clean and modern, great views
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    57
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
133
269
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
cumbriauk
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2008

We booked a studio room with a side sea view in the Eden Mar,another of the three hotels on the Porto Mare complex. On arrival at 2am in the morning were told we were in the wrong hotel and our room was in the Residence. We never discovered why and didn't like to ask in case they changed their minds as the room we were given was pretty well perfect. We had a kitchen , two bathrooms, large sitting room, bedroom with huge bed, and a balcony overlooking the gardens and ocean.

The pools were great and the gardens pleasant. The breakfasts were outstanding, with loads of choice. The design of the hotels meant that you never felt you were in a large hotel full of people, there were loads of areas, inside and out, where you could sit quietly.

We found the food at the Alfama restaurent in the hotel was exactly to our taste and the service excellent. It wasn't cheap but well worth what we paid. In the town we found a great cafe near the university called something like the Academe. It looked nothing special and we went in because our feet were tired. It seemed to cater mostly to locals. The menu was very restricted but the food was brilliant and terrific value for money, especially the soup. We also ate at a seafood restaurant along the promenade. Very good food and sensational views of the sunset.

We hope to return to Madeira and would choose the Porto Mare complex again.

Stayed October 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BRISTOL
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2008

Stayed at porto mare in a two bedroom apartment in the last week of june.The apartment had everything you could wish for,both bedrooms ensuite,tvs in all rooms,dvd player,fully equiped kitchen with clean utensils.The complex is very clean with plent of sun beds and umbrellas [cost 1 euro per day].The walk into town takes approx 25 mins,taxi costs about 4.50euros.
Overall the holiday was great but if your going expecting theme bars and pubs showing eastenders and cafes with full english and sunday lunches everywhere you will be dissapointed.
We travelled with are two boys 12 and 11, and food wasn t an issue,plenty of very good resturantes.
a must when you visit funchal, take a cable car ride up to the gardens ,then take the toobogan back down[only takes you down half way]

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2008

I booked a 2 bedroom apartment in the Porto Mare Residence in March and paid for it in full 11th April through Panorama/Thomas Cook. When we at last arrived at one a.m. after a long flight we were told to put our luggage back in the taxi as there was no room and to go to another establishment on the same complex I am 74 years old, I was tired and angry.
The next morning after the rep's spiel, I told him of my anger, he said it was the first he'd heard of the problem, consulted his boss, and offered us half-board in compensation, which we accepted. But damage had been done.
The hotel was fine and quiet, the buffets were great and the staff most pleasing. But nobody from management offered apology or excuse. Two other people on our flight had got the same welcome and one of the Thomas Cook reps told me that thirty people had been overbooked and had had to move the following week. So be warned.
The high mountain walking is splendid, the levadas one of the world's wonders, built by slaves from Africa. A pity about the welcome though.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — Welcome
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2008

We stayed for a week in a 2 bedroomed apartment, arriving on Easter Monday. The apartment was clean, spacious and comfortable and had an excellent uninterrupted sea view. The facilities at the hotel were excellent, although we only scratched the surface of what was available - the pool, spa and gym were great. I loved the gardens too which were beautifully maintained. Some good restaurants nearby and a good supermarket (Pingo Doce) a short walk away so we were able to have several meals in too. The walk along the promenade was beautiful. The walk into Funchal is OK as there are good views and its mainly downhill but it is along quite a busy road. A taxi worked out cheaper than the bus for four of us - 4-5 Euros. We also used taxis to get to places like the Botanic Gardens as it was easier than getting two buses. We used Madeira Explorers to do the Pico Areiro to Pico Ruivo walk - this was a tough walk but we had a thoroughly enjoyable day and I'd highly recommend it as a way of seeing more of the island - far better than sitting on a coach all day - we could literally see the whole island from the top - unforgettable.

A lot of people say that Madeira isn't a great place to take children. We went with two teenagers who both really enjoyed it (admittedly they aren't into clubbing etc) - but the hotel facilities are very good and there are plenty of things that interested them including the cable car, boat trips to see the dolphins and the gardens where they developed an interest in photography! I'd certainly take younger children as the weather was beautifully sunny but not so hot that it would make them miserable.

  • Liked — Clean, spacious and a great view
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2008

We just returned from our stay at the Residence Porto Mare. Fabulous! We were there from 08 March to 15 March. We stayed in a studio at the Residence and it was perfect. It is a very large studio with a large balcony. It appeared almost every room had a sea view except the ground floor rooms. It also has a large kitchen that is fully equipped, Cookware, silverware, dishes, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, kettle and dish towels. There is even a full size ironing board and full size iron in the room. We had complimentary bathrobes that I lived in most of the week at the indoor and outdoor pools. The bed was HUGE! The size of two queen size beds! It had a couch, a dining room table and a huge amount of storage space and lots of hangers for the clothes. Everything about Porto Mare is top notch. Great TV also to have so many English Speaking Channels! And the buffet breakfast is the best I have ever seen. They even make fresh made waffles!
The Residence, Porto Mare and Eden Mar are all one big resort. It is landscaped beautifully and laid out in a friendly manner. It doesn't matter which you stay at because they all can use the same facilities. I really liked my stay here and I could relax completely. Good entertainment day and night. I even took a Portuguese language class. I especially wanted to compliment Pierre (who works the bars) Deborah (the french girl at the desk) and Marisella( also at the desk). Their friendliness and attitude were lovely and made our stay special. The courtesy bus is great and runs all day. In addition for you golfers there is a courtesy bus up to the two golf courses. Book with the front desk at the hotel. My husband only paid 52 euro a game. My husband so appreciated the free bus ride to golf. He said to make sure you specify you want to play the Championship course at Santo de Serra as the other course at Santo da Serra is not as good. He also said that Palheiro is not as good as Santo de Serra. And to bring your own clubs if possible because the ones you rent at Santo de Serra are not very good. A man he golfed with did not book through his hotel and paid 75 euro to play.
Now just a couple of negatives. The Med restaurant was horrible. The food was terrible. Do not eat the Bruschetta. The bread was not even toasted and was stale! The food tasted microwaved and it was cold. We hated the food at the Med as did many of the people we spoke to afterwards. Overpriced and just plain bad. Also the girls at the Spa need to have a better attitude, They were rude and unfriendly. I looked forward to my booked treatments for the week and was very disappointed . The manicures were very unprofessional. I could have done my own nails better and ended up removing their polish and doing it myself. Get your nails done at one of the many salons they have around Funchal. Also the person teaching the Portuguese language class may want to take a class herself in manners. She seemed to have a huge problem with Americans and made a lot of references to it throughout the class. Although I have lived in Ireland for many years I do not think she realized that I am an American. One should always be aware you never know who will be in an audience. I found her constant negative reference to Americans annoying and condescending. I would have thought a classy hotel like Porto Mare would have instructed their staff to never speak negative about any nationality.
If you stay away from the Spa and the Med Restaurant you should have a fabulous time.

  • Liked — Room, Pools, Bars, Breakfast Buffet, This hotel has everything
  • Disliked — The Spa staff and the girl that teaches the Portuguese Language class, The Med Restaurant
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2008

wow...we have just arrived back from the residence,we had a very spacious 2 bed apartment with 2 huge bathrooms,we also had our own garden.....the views were fantastic...only problem being the new hotels they are building next door they start at 8 in the morning til about 5 in eve.not keen on funchal as a town nothing much there shops are all the same,we went one evening to the old town hoping to have a nice meal as soon as the taxi dropped us off we were surrounded by waiters trying to get you to go to there restaurant,this was very off putting in the end we walked back to the promenade and had a meal on the beatles boat...a very beautiful island we went on the west coast tour only 8 of us in a mini bus met some nice people,plus the mad hatters from HEREFORDSHIRE if you are reading this CHEERS....
a nice restaurant by the hotel is la paella if you walk through to the poto mare hotel entrance and up the stairs in front of you it is across the road plus also there is a lovely bakers, we had 2 huge pieces of gateaux and coffee all for 5 euros.also if u go out of the residence entrance onto the prom walk past where they are building right along the prom you will come toa lido walk on past the views are fantastic soon you will arrive at the magic tea rooms you will need a drink by then....carry on walking along the prom past the pestana grand hotel down some steps to a lovely restaurant overlooking the sea, you then go on through a tunnel along the boardwalk,to another nice restaurant.not a walk for the faint hearted...we were out about 3 or 4 hours we needed a siesta when we arrived back....a lovely island to visit to chill out

  • Liked — the apartment and stunning views
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.