We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all true!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)

Save Saved
You added The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Coventry
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“It's all true!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We have just returned from either our fifth or sixth visit to the Porto Mare, and our second time in the Residence. There is no point in repeating what people say - it's all true. This time we had a room over the street and were initially disappointed, but as the day wore on and the sun came round we realised it was a fantastic view over the sea with some great sunsets. So we had a really nice two week stay. The apartments are great, really spacious for two. We didn't do anything special, just went out every day, walking either into Funchal or the other way towards Camara de Lobos.

Incidentally if you are walking that way the tunnel is closed and the path has disappeared either side of the yacht club bar. It's best to walk along the Monumental on the left hand pavement. When you get to the big traffic island with what looks like a statue of an angel on, the Regency Palace Hotel in on your left. Just past it is a sign pointing left down a path to Praia Formosa. After many steps down you arrive at the bottom and it's left to the yacht bar, or right then first left to continue the walk along the seafront.

We did a couple of DIY levada walks using buses or Daniel's taxi service as a drop off and pick up. We were also there for the carnival which is brilliant.

All in all we love this place - the hotel, the staff, the Madeiran people, the scenery, the weather, and we'll be back next year, and the year after..........

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for so many stays at The Residence and for your feedback about it shared on TripAdvisor.

It is so rewarding to know that you took another positive impression of our property, and Madeira in general.

It will always be a pleasure to welcome you back,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,


. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    390
    51
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
121
242
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dunoon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

We stayed in a studio in The Residence Porto Mare. The room was large with a balcony looking over a small park to the sea. The gardens on the complex were fabulous and the facilities including large outdoor and indoor pools were lovely. The buffet breakfasts were excellent at 1 of the 4 onsite restaurants. There was a good supermarket and variety of good places to eat nearby. Overall an excellent experience and one to be strongly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for your kind words about your recent stay at The Residence and happy to learn that overall you had a positive holiday experience.

We sincerely hope to see you around for many future visits to madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Though about Madeira for a long time and eventually got there, to land up in what must be one of the best holiday experiences ever. The self-catering facilities in the Porto Mare are excellent and were combined with open access to all the hotel complex leisure facilities, bars and restaurants, making this the best of all worlds. The staff were excellent and responded to all requests and requests, although the level of provision made for few requests and certainly no complaints. The level of maintenance and cleanliness was impressive, but there was no noise or impression of work being carried out while the guests relaxed. Many hotels I have stayed in would benefit from a visit here to see what can be delivered at a reasonable price to the guest. I think a return visit coming on.

Room Tip: I looked over the locations and I don't think there is a bad room location, so its down to when...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind review about your holiday experience at The Residence.
Really pleased to know that you enjoyed our facilities and the services provided by my team.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in future visits to Madeira,

See you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauchline, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Excellent design of hotel, love it. Our 2nd visit and just so restful. The gardens are absolutely beautiful and the housekeeping staff and gardening staff work so hard. The spa was magnificent. Would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The garden apartments are excellent - especially on our first visit in the summer - July 2010.. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for another stay at The Residence and for your positive feedback about it shared with so many other holiday makers of TripAdvisor,

It will be a pleasure to welcome you for your third visit to our hotel.

Warm regards,

Muto obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Our ninth year staying in our two weeks share of a great holiday complex. We have no regrets about buying into this lovely experience. Everyone is so friendly and helpful and the whole complex is so well cared for. We especially like to walk round the Orchid garden next door to our apartment; so many beautiful flowers and plants - it reminds me of a trip we had to Queensland, Australia. Would highly recommend it to anyone for a great winter escape. Wish we could afford to extend our time.

Room Tip: Try and get a garden apartment on the third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your stay and for the kind feedback about your holiday experience.

It is so rewarding to know that you had such a positive experience with us and took profit of some of the facilities we have within the Vila Porto Mare complex including the lovely orchid garden…by the way we are already thinking of an extension of this beautiful corner..

We all be most pleased to welcome you soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

We have been coming to The Residence every year for the last 6 years and it's just like a home from home. The apartments are superbly furnished and exceptionally well maintained. The staff are marvelous and the restaurants are very good value for money (the discounts for members make it even more VFM) Sadly our ownership expires in 2033 so only 19 more visits left.

Room Tip: 3rd Floor Gardens rooms have a great view and a private (shared with a few others) garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for another stay at The Residence and for your feedback about it shared on TripAdvisor,

We will be most pleased to welcome you for the next 19 years!

Warm regards,

Muto obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014

Have just returned from my third visit to Madeira and my second at the Residence. I am so glad I decided on buying into the apartments as I can see that I will not be disappointed. The standards are high on every level and the facilities are excellent. I made good use of the spa this year and enjoyed a peaceful and relaxing time to recharge my batteries! The staff are all so friendly and efficient and it is nice to see familiar faces .I am so looking forward to returning next year for the flower festival. Would highly recommend The Residence.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “Winter Sun!” feedback shared with so many other holiday makers and good to know that you had another positive holiday experience with us…

See you on your fourth visit to our property.


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.