We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful time” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Surrey
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Wonderful time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

The accommodation is fantastic, great place to stay, the one bedroom apartments are very big, comfortable, we had a large balcony. 20 mins walk from Funchal, or you can get the curtesy bus. We've booked to go again!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “Wonderful time” review, shared with so many other holiday makers of TripAdvisor.

Really happy to learn that you have enjoyed it and we will be most pleased to welcome you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    428
    57
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
133
271
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bridgwater
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Absolutely fabulous again but please stay away, we dont want to ruin it with any "Lager swiiling louts". Perfect family orientated holiday destination. Walkers paradise, generally level walks after you have reached the "Levada's ", beautiful views,temperatures fairly constant throughout the year. Staff very friendly most speak English. Local shops and restaurants are varied and very good. The resort is the best we have ever stayed at. Multi pools, all excellent, many bars all serving mouthwatering snacks . Award winnig restaurant. Now feeling depressed because its another 49 weeks before we go back for the 10th time, with luck we shall renew our membership next year. Resort sells itself.

Room Tip: Trees keep growing so 3rd floor and above for uninterupted views of the Atlantic Ocean. The Melia Ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

THANK YOU “nine times” (one per year) for your review, for your stays and for your comments about us.

It will be a pleasure to see you around within 49 weeks and for the future 10 years( minimum..)

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Whilst holidaying in Madeira in 2010, my wife and I took a visit to The Residence Porto Mare, in Funchal.
Not expecting to committ to anything other than a free cup of coffee, we found ourselves, within a very short time, arranging to spend one week for the next 10 years there. We were instantly impressed with the hotel and surrounding gardens, view over the ocean and sheer genuine friendleness and helpfulness of the staff that shone through immediately.

It has proven to be one of the best decisions we have ever made.

The island itself is unique. Rising steeply from the oceans shore, through the banana growing valley sides a rich growth of sub tropical beauty, interspersed with bright sun lit coloured roofs of local peoples homes that rise up through green forests to mountain tops that are above the clouds and all accessible by road. Its no surprise that Ronaldo the footballer is proud to be a native and Sir Winston Churchill used to retreat to a small fishing village near to Funchal, to escape the pressures of World War 2.

Last year we took our daughters and their families with us and managed to have 2 apartments side by side - all kindly arranged by the management.

The reviews say it all. Fellow owners and visitors alike, enthuse toward the Residence Porto Mare and we all cannot wait to get back each year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Wow…
Thank you for “Best decision we ever made” review shared on TripAdvisor..you should write about holiday destinations, well done…

We will be most pleased to welcome you for the remaining 6 years or more ..

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littlehampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

Our 7th year and as good as the first time, whole complex is great, new orchid gardens are a lovely place to sit and relax. Evening BBQ is great, I managed 24 different starters and there were still more! Local restaurants are good, we like the 3 barrels at the top of the hill, La Bamba and Port Tao in the Old town. IL Basicila below the Residence is excellent value for money and good food. The organised lavada walks are good value for money and get to fairly remote parts of the island, pick up from reception and off in a mini-bus for coffee and toilets before setting off, meet transport at end of walk for return to hotel. Botanic gardens and Monte Gardens are well worth visiting. We took an excellent visit to the north side of the island; St Vincent's volcanic caves are well worth a seeing. Looking forward to 2014's visit.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the 7th visit to The Residence and for the review shared on tripadvisor.

Good to know that you had another enjoyable stay and really hope to welcome you for the 8th visit.
Warm regards


Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

Our time here although short was great. The suites were really big and well maintained, really clean and more than equipped. Lovely views of the Atlantic and beautiful gardens.

Three hotels share the outdoor pools of which there is plenty of variety( 2 indoor and 2 outdoor with a child's pool. ) There are plenty of loungers and although you are not meant to reserve beds, people do so be warned! Only downside, after 3 days in the pools, our costumes turned slighty green and the tips of my hair....not sure if the chlorine levels were a little too high maybe? Not the end of the world though. Had been at other hotels before so may just have been too long exposed to sun and chlorine

We have previously stayed in the Eden Mar which shares the same facilities but not up to the standard of the Residence.

Really enjoyed our stay, will be back.

Room Tip: Our room was 3114, a great view from here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for another stay within the Vila Porto Mare complex and for the review shared on tripadvisor.
We do apologies for what happened to your costumes. In our pools the chemicals used are brome and chore.

Hope to welcome you on a future visit our hotel.

Warm regards


Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Just back from our fifth visit to The Residence. It really feels like home. All the staff make you feel very welcome. Lovely grounds kept spotlessly clean. Loads of lovely restaurants nearby if you are staying in an apartment, our favourite being La Bamba - Steak on the stone - amazing!
Looking forward to returning next year.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for “Another fabulous week!” review shared with so many other holiday makers of tripadvisor.

Really happy to learn that with had another positive holiday experience,


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Back at The Residence for our 3rd year and the complex and staff are as good as ever. The restaurants in the complex are fantastic, lovely food and wine all reasonably priced. The whole island is wonderful and the people are helpful and welcoming.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for another stay and for the review about it shared on tripadvisor.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you on your 4th visit.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.