We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for a holiday for couples & young families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)

Save Saved
You added The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great place for a holiday for couples & young families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

My husband and I are just back from a weeks holiday at the Residence, Porto Mare. We had a lovely time here and would recommend it to both couples and young families. The 1 bedroom apartment was very comfortable and of a good size, The kitchen was well equipped and the bathrooms were very nice. Our view wasn't good (over the street) but there are nice views of the gardens/sea. The gardens are really lovely - full of various flowers and plants and there are nice grassed areas on which to sunbathe. The pools are of a good size and the pool water temp is nice too (as sometimes hotels pools are FREEZING!!). There are a couple of restaurants, pool bar and a pizza restaurant. The pizza cafe is expensive (pizzas £10 and above which is alot compared to back home). They have a happy hour too which is a good touch! Staff were friendly and Pedro at the reception was lovely. Would definitely go again.

Room Tip: An apartment overlooking the gardens/sea would be nice, rather than overlooking the side street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review about your recent stay at The Residence and shared on tripadvisor. I will be most pleased to share your thoughts with Pedro and for which I thank you.


Sincerely hope to welcome you on a future visit to Madeira.

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

447 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    390
    51
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
121
242
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (138)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
West Country
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

This, our 5th visit, was only a week this time and certainly not long enough ( we here for 2 weeks last Sept/Oct). Our apartment as always was very comfortable, cleaned daily to a high standard, the gardens wonderful and the staff professional and courteous. We mix eating in and dining out and the apartment is well equipped for the sort of meals we have on holiday. Looking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review about your recent stay at The Residence and shared on tripadvisor.

We will be most pleased to welcome you on the 6th visit to Madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We are time share owners at The Residence part of the Porto Bay Group.

We have reviewed it before so all we want to say is - it is EXCELLENT - we love it and love returning each year. We cannot say often enough how pleased we are that we took the plunge and bought a week in this Time Share. We have the most wonderful time and the social life with friends we have made there is a major element of the holiday.

Already planning for next year.....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

"Already planning for next year..." and we are already waiting to welcome you with great pleasure on your 8th visit to The Residence.

Thank you also for sharing your thoughts on tripadvisor.

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
323 helpful votes 323 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was our second visit to The Residence & it was absolutely fantastic. This time we had a wonderful upgraded apartment, again with private gardens for sunbathing although the place is designed so well that even if we hadn't we would not have felt crowded as there are so many pools & sunbathing spots when it's out of school holidays. The complex itself is absolutely gorgeous, designed to offer space and tranquility amongst flowers & lush gardens.
There is a good selection of restaurants available. We very much enjoyed enjoyed Il Basilico and we also chose to eat in town at Forte & Mozarts or the nearby Tricolore pizzeria.
The bars are lovely & most evenings a charming pair, Duo Harmonica, sing in the bar and guests get up and dance which was a real treat. One evening we saw the fantastic Black Dogs blues band who were absolutely wonderful and not to be missed.
The apartment itself was spacious and equipped with everything one might need with a fully equipped kitchen, bathrooms with power showers, huge beds and both inside and outside dining options. It was absolutely spotless and cleaned every day with toiletries all topped up on a daily basis and fresh bottled drinking water provided.The views out to sea are lovely and the whole complex is designed so that you never feel too crowded with lots of little areas to hide away in.
It really is a beautiful hotel on a beautiful island. If it's a cloudy day try walking down to town to check out the pavement cafes with skilled musicians outside, the painted doors in the atmospsheric old town & the beautiful architecture and numerous parks. We can highly recommend the jeep tours booked via the owners. Ours ended up being a private tour as we went on a quiet day & it really was an incredible way to see this enchanting island, some of it taking a coastal route & some of it off road along dirt tracks up into the mountains, with scenery changing from one astonishing sight to another as we explored the tropical terrain that manages to be both rugged and lush at the same time.The only thing we would not recommend is the casino - it's really just a room full of slot machines, but other than that we were charmed & delighted at every turn - and we're only 33 so it's not just for the oldies!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for such a comprehensive review about madeira and our hotel in particular. Glad that you have enjoyed your visit to Madeira and also enjoyed the services and facilities provided on our resort.

I am sure that my all team will be most pleased to welcome you for a third visit…

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have just returned from our 6th visit to our time share apartment, so now we only have four more years to go. We will be very sad when the final date comes.
The standards within the accomodation are still as excellent as ever, and the gardens seemed to be even more lush and beautiful this year.
The entertainment in the hotel had also improved, so it was more tempting to stay in rather than explore the outside world.
That was also changing with many new bars and restaurants that have opened since our last visit. There was construction work being carried out in the Lido area which was a little noisy at time, but no doubt in true Madeiran fashion, the end result will be very worth while.
Thanks to all the staff and management for providing a very beautiful and relaxing holiday experience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for another stay. Thank you for another review on Tripadvisor and for sharing your feedback about your recent stay. Really happy that you have enjoyed it.

See you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A fantastic luxury apartments very clean the standards are high.The food is very good and all cooked from scratch on the premises.All the staff are always very helpful and pleasant.we always have a relaxing week if you want to be a busy week there is lots to do if you want it be a chill then you can just chill!!! As we do.We have been coming to Maderia for several years and have been to Porto Santa Maria and Porto Falesia in the Algarve you will find all of the Porto Bay hotels keep to the high standard so you when you visit these hotels and apartment you know what you are going to get and that is everything is good all you have to do is enjoy your holiday. In the rooms have large TV also DVD player and all the amenities for cooking your On my way! Meals if you wish.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for if you want that bit of luxury you want things to be right e.g rooms clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you so much for being such a great supporter of Porto Bay hotels.
Secondly thank you also for posting on tripadvisor your comments about your recent visit to the Residence and we are most pleased that you had another enjoyable holiday experience at one of the 10th Porto Bay hotels.

It will always be a pleasure to welcome you.

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have just returned after this our 7th visit, every year we return to The Residence it just gets better every time. From the moment you check in you are made most welcome nothing is to much trouble for the Reception Staff. The apartments are spotless and well maintained, your first walk around the grounds of the whole complex are stunning such an array of flowers and plants. There is a excellent choice of restaurants on site with a good choice of food followed by a good selection of entertainment. Well done to all the staff there from the cleaners to the management team, we can't wait to return again next year, Tony Clark

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for another stay and for being such a great supporter of our hotel. Thank you also for sharing your thoughts on tripadvisor.

We will be most pleased to welcome you for the 8th visit to our property.

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, TravelClick, Booking.com, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.