We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second trip even better than the first” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
335 helpful votes 335 helpful votes
“Second trip even better than the first”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

This was our second visit to The Residence & it was absolutely fantastic. This time we had a wonderful upgraded apartment, again with private gardens for sunbathing although the place is designed so well that even if we hadn't we would not have felt crowded as there are so many pools & sunbathing spots when it's out of school holidays. The complex itself is absolutely gorgeous, designed to offer space and tranquility amongst flowers & lush gardens.
There is a good selection of restaurants available. We very much enjoyed enjoyed Il Basilico and we also chose to eat in town at Forte & Mozarts or the nearby Tricolore pizzeria.
The bars are lovely & most evenings a charming pair, Duo Harmonica, sing in the bar and guests get up and dance which was a real treat. One evening we saw the fantastic Black Dogs blues band who were absolutely wonderful and not to be missed.
The apartment itself was spacious and equipped with everything one might need with a fully equipped kitchen, bathrooms with power showers, huge beds and both inside and outside dining options. It was absolutely spotless and cleaned every day with toiletries all topped up on a daily basis and fresh bottled drinking water provided.The views out to sea are lovely and the whole complex is designed so that you never feel too crowded with lots of little areas to hide away in.
It really is a beautiful hotel on a beautiful island. If it's a cloudy day try walking down to town to check out the pavement cafes with skilled musicians outside, the painted doors in the atmospsheric old town & the beautiful architecture and numerous parks. We can highly recommend the jeep tours booked via the owners. Ours ended up being a private tour as we went on a quiet day & it really was an incredible way to see this enchanting island, some of it taking a coastal route & some of it off road along dirt tracks up into the mountains, with scenery changing from one astonishing sight to another as we explored the tropical terrain that manages to be both rugged and lush at the same time.The only thing we would not recommend is the casino - it's really just a room full of slot machines, but other than that we were charmed & delighted at every turn - and we're only 33 so it's not just for the oldies!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for such a comprehensive review about madeira and our hotel in particular. Glad that you have enjoyed your visit to Madeira and also enjoyed the services and facilities provided on our resort.

I am sure that my all team will be most pleased to welcome you for a third visit…

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

489 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    424
    57
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
133
269
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have just returned from our 6th visit to our time share apartment, so now we only have four more years to go. We will be very sad when the final date comes.
The standards within the accomodation are still as excellent as ever, and the gardens seemed to be even more lush and beautiful this year.
The entertainment in the hotel had also improved, so it was more tempting to stay in rather than explore the outside world.
That was also changing with many new bars and restaurants that have opened since our last visit. There was construction work being carried out in the Lido area which was a little noisy at time, but no doubt in true Madeiran fashion, the end result will be very worth while.
Thanks to all the staff and management for providing a very beautiful and relaxing holiday experience

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for another stay. Thank you for another review on Tripadvisor and for sharing your feedback about your recent stay. Really happy that you have enjoyed it.

See you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

A fantastic luxury apartments very clean the standards are high.The food is very good and all cooked from scratch on the premises.All the staff are always very helpful and pleasant.we always have a relaxing week if you want to be a busy week there is lots to do if you want it be a chill then you can just chill!!! As we do.We have been coming to Maderia for several years and have been to Porto Santa Maria and Porto Falesia in the Algarve you will find all of the Porto Bay hotels keep to the high standard so you when you visit these hotels and apartment you know what you are going to get and that is everything is good all you have to do is enjoy your holiday. In the rooms have large TV also DVD player and all the amenities for cooking your On my way! Meals if you wish.

Room Tip: You get what you pay for if you want that bit of luxury you want things to be right e.g rooms clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

First of all thank you so much for being such a great supporter of Porto Bay hotels.
Secondly thank you also for posting on tripadvisor your comments about your recent visit to the Residence and we are most pleased that you had another enjoyable holiday experience at one of the 10th Porto Bay hotels.

It will always be a pleasure to welcome you.

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

We have just returned after this our 7th visit, every year we return to The Residence it just gets better every time. From the moment you check in you are made most welcome nothing is to much trouble for the Reception Staff. The apartments are spotless and well maintained, your first walk around the grounds of the whole complex are stunning such an array of flowers and plants. There is a excellent choice of restaurants on site with a good choice of food followed by a good selection of entertainment. Well done to all the staff there from the cleaners to the management team, we can't wait to return again next year, Tony Clark

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for another stay and for being such a great supporter of our hotel. Thank you also for sharing your thoughts on tripadvisor.

We will be most pleased to welcome you for the 8th visit to our property.

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

It just gets better. This is a perfect place to stay for a very relaxing holiday.

Wi Fi is now, fully operational , in the apartment.

Nothing more can be said about the staff, that hasn't already been said. They are just the best.

There is building work going on at The Lido, but, it really does not cause too much bother.

Now looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: I am sure there are no bad rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for the “Another Gorgeous Stay” review about the residence and shared on tripadvisor.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back soon

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

This is a perfect place to stay. The rooms are immaculate, the grounds are stunning, the pools aare beautiful, the whole place is faultless. Our breakfasts were out of this world with a huge choice of gorgeous hot & cold options - a buffet fit for a king.
The hotel is perfectly located with a supermarket on the doorstep & countless fab restaurants within walking distance.
We've been to Madeira for the last 16 years and this is by far our favourite place to stay.
The whole family is genuinely sad to leave & count the weeks down to the next visit.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “perfect place to stay” review shared one tripadvisor. It is really great to know that all family had such a positive holiday experience.
Thank you also for being such a fan of Madeira, by visiting our island so many times.

Sincerely hope to welcome you back soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

We have just returned from our eighth visit to The Residence. Clearly my view of Porto Bay is biased so I will pass on the view of a Dutch (part Australian) lady I met on her first visit - “ The buildings of the 3 hotels (The Residence, Porto Mar and Eden Mar) are so wonderful, the rooms are so good. The gardens are just beautiful - the swimming pools the gym the restaurants. Everything is just … just perfect”. So Madeira is achingly beautiful and Porto Bay hotels fit their surroundings. All that is left is for me to comment on then is the staff who bring the whole experience together making it truly unforgettable. From the maids to the management, all are excellent. Where did the manager find all these wonderful people? They should all be “Employees of the month” every month. Which brings me to the manager. Should you visit any of the above hotels you will see him. An indecently young chap who looks far too young to be the manager - you could believe he is the owner perhaps - he is everywhere!
The attention to detail of everyone is hard to fault.
So a magical place. (Even with all the hullabaloo of tree removal going on round and about in 2013).

Room Tip: Any room not overlooking a road or car park is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

What a pleasure to read such a positive review of our resort, facilities and mainly about my team.
Your thoughts were already used by myself to “give a fresh injection” of motivation and also as an example of how we can negatively or positively impact the holiday feelings of our guests. THANK YOU.

Let me also say that, and this is a “common say” among the hoteliers, “a guest is not always right, but we have to remember that is still a guest”… by saying this may I dare to tell you that you are "not right" as unfortunately I am not “so young” as you mention and the second one is that I would really like to be the hotel owner, but again “unfortunately”, I am just the Manager !

It will always be a great pleasure to welcome you for your 9th stay with us,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.