We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our 7th stay and still very happy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)

Save Saved
You added The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Our 7th stay and still very happy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

This year was our 7th stay in our timeshare apartment, it was like coming home again. The same high standards from reception, the comfort and quality of the apartment and the huge array of restaurants and facilities. We even had lovely, sunny weather for the week. By staying in the Hotel Eden Mar for 3 nights before moving across we were able to arrange lavada walks, theatre trips and find out about events. The Residence office staff are helpful and pleasant and full of information to help. The room we have overlooks the garden and the sea, is quiet, roomy and very comfortable. We ate in all 3 of the complex restaurants, each has a different theme, is of the highest standard and very good value. We never regret taking on our timeshare.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you do much for the seven stay at the Residence. Thank you also for the nice review shared on tripadvisor and really happy to know that you had another enjoyable stay.

Hope to see you around soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    53
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
126
248
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

29 April - 13 May 2013
This is our 5th stay at the Porto Mare Residence and it just gets better with each visit. My lovely Mother-in-Law has a time share and invites my husband and I to join her - it's never a difficult decision. We stay in one of the garden apartments over looking the sea, which is lovely and peaceful.
The Porto Mare Residence is also attached to the Porto Mare Hotel and the Eden Mar Hotel and there is linked access between all three. Whether you walk through the beautifully decorated inside areas and take a breather in the many comfortable lounges or walk around the wonderfully unique subtropial gardens with each and every plant individually labelled you will never be disappointed. There are also many bars and restaurants to choose from both day and night each offering something different whatever your taste.
We can most definitely recommend the Med Restaurant and especially the Manager, Paulo, and his team who are very friendly but remain professional. The food is exquisite and the service is perfect. There is also the Il Basilico which offers great Italian food both lunchtime or dinner.
During our stay we attended Paulo's wine tasting session in the Med, we also attended last year and learnt so much we decided to go again. We can highly recommend these sessions. Paulo is enthusiastic and knowledgeable about wine and again we came away with a better understanding of wine.
We also took a trip to the Santa de Serra Golf Hotel, which is part of Porto Bay Hotels & Resorts, which also takes in a cheese making factory and a bakery. WOW - what a great trip! Valentina was our lovely guide on the trip and Bruno was our very capable driver. The cheese tasting and eating the warm bread was wonderful. We then went on to the hotel and was served a three course meal with wine in a beautiful dinning room - this was advertised as a light lunch!!! What also made it even more special was our fellow trip goers. As the day progessed we began to laugh and chat and found that we all enjoyed each others company - a lovely day out was had by all.
What makes time share at the Porto Mare Residence special is that you meet up with the same people each year. It's like meeing up with long lost friends.
We have looked at many other hotels whilst we have been in Madeira and truthfully we feel there is no better place to stay!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely, attention to detail is evident in all rooms whether you stay in The Residence...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for such a nice review shared on tripadvisor. It will be a great pleasure to share your thoughts with all my team but in particular with the ones mentioned in your message.

It is also rewarding to know that you had such a great fun on the visit to Santo da Serra. It is as I use to say a back to the basics trip, where you can “feel” some genuine things we still have in Madeira.

Sincerely hope to welcome you on a future third visit to Madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Very well maintained and appointed apartments in a lovely location by the sea. Just a couple of minutes from the Pingo Doce supermarket for your self catering needs but also very close to a large selection of restaurants in addition to the adjoining Porto Mare hotel restaurants.
If you intend to self cater I would recommend taking some dishwasher tablets, washing up sponge and salt & pepper but there is a store cupboard in the owners office with odds and ends left by previous guests to which you can help yourself on arrival and leave items at the end of your stay.
The only real criticism was that the air conditioning wasn't effective enough at night and was set to its maximum.

Room Tip: I would suggest a garden view room if you like peace and quiet but a high floor West facing room if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your another stay at the Residence and for your feedback posted on tripadvisor

Regarding the AC issue we will check it again to see what went wrong and take the opportunity to apologize for it.

Sincerely hope to welcome you on a future third visit to Madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is my second year at the Residence. The apartments are very high quality with a full kitchen, DVD included (no additional rental cost there as in some places), safe and possibly the most comfortable beds and pillows I've ever slept on! We had a garden apartment which are an absolute joy as you can choose to sunbath in relative privacy (only so many of the apartments open out on to each garden) and be surrounded by the sight and smell of gorgeous flowers whilst listening to the ocean. The Spa is of superb quality with very highly trained staff and not overly priced. John in Owner Relations is excellent and nothing is too much trouble, as is the German gentleman on Reception (sorry didn't catch his name). The public areas, bars and restaurants are also of equally high standard. The only niggles are pretty minor ones; no little welcome pack of salt, pepper, dishwasher tablets and washing up sponge all of which would have been useful. If you want an ocean view you have to forego the garden and move upwards to a balcony and only one toilet which with two jack and jill bathrooms would have been easy to put in a second one. Minor things though - overall a great place to stay and will be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent second stay at the Residence and for let us know that overall you had a positive holiday experience.
Regarding the issues raised and on the things we can change we promise good attention and solutions…

Sincerely hope to welcome you on a future third visit to Madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stone, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed at the Residence for the second year running and were yet again blown away by the whole place. The hotel, rooms and reception areas are decorated beautifully and always spotlessly clean. The staff, from Reception right through to cleaning staff are all happy, helpful and seem genuinely bothered about each and every guests happiness.

We travelled with my mother and father in law and my two year old little girl and although the hotel is aimed at an adult guest, the facilities to keep my daughter entertained were fantastic. There is a small indoor play room which was clean and tidy and had some lovely toys in. There was also an outdoor climbing frame and swing set which again was clean and tidy and very safe.

The restaurants served fantastic food, for breakfast and evening meal, all foods were fresh and tasty with a good variety.

There aren't enough positive things I can say about this hotel, and all of its staff. I cannot wait to return. Even the grey clouds couldn't ruin our week away! :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your recent second stay at the Residence. It is rewarding to know that you had such a positive holiday experience.

It will be for sure a great pleasure to have around on a future third visit to Madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

My friend and I have just returned from a week's stay at The Residence. We were in room 3908, on the ground floor, set in a lovely private garden area.

The apartment was excellent. Everything you needed was in the kitchenette. We were only expecting a couple of rings on a hob. However we had a four ring hob, plus an oven/grill and a microwave. The china and cutlery were all of a good quality and the rooms were spotless. We had a twin bedded room and the beds were very comfortable. We did find the air conditioning a bit inadequate and noisy but not bad enough to complain about.

The staff, particularly the housekeepers and waiting staff, were very nice natured and friendly.

We didn't realize, until we booked in at reception, that we had breakfast included. This was a nice bonus and there was a great selection of everything. Again the waiting staff were very efficient and friendly despite having to relay tables when it was very busy.

My friend and I hired a car this time. We were last in Madeira ten years ago. We did find that there was an overkill of tunnels! I accept they are useful in getting from A to B much quicker but we both felt that we missed a lot of the beauty of the island being inside one tunnel after another. We made a mistake, when visiting Santana, and inadvertently found ourselves paying 10 euros each to go in to a theme park! This was really more suited to children and we left, feeling conned, and finally found our way to the 'real' Santana houses. When you reach Santana go past the multi storey car park, on your right. Take the road to the left, up the hill, and you will then see the real original Santana houses. It was not difficult to find a parking space and walk back.

Another place I would recommend is the Tropical Gardens at Monte. We spent a few hours here amongst beautiful, interesting gardens, but don't forget it is quite a steep walk back up again! I think there were buggies to drive you back up but we couldn't see where they stopped! We went up on the cable car and planned to go down on a sledge. However it was Sunday and we found the sledges do not run on Sunday! So, if you plan to go up and want to come down again, by cable car, please buy a return ticket which is 15 euros, as opposed to 10 euros each way!

The Pingo Doce supermarket, just along the seafront from the Residence, is within easy walking distance so ideal if you plan to self cater.

On the whole this was a lovely, much needed break and very enjoyable. Thank you to all at The Residence.

Room Tip: We found 3908 to be a very good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, May 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “ excellent relaxing stay at The Residence” review shared on tripadvisor about your recent stay with us.

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed it so much and for sure we will be most pleased to see you around soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The second year in our time-share apartment at the Residence. From the pick up from the airport to check-out on the last day, and return to the airport, our care was faultless. No wonder people have been holidaying here for 10 years! We are looking forward to completing our 10.

Room Tip: Room was chosen when we bought our week so not applicable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, May 17, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for the “Brilliant again” review posted on tripadvisor about your recent stay at The Residence.

Sincerely hope to welcome you soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.