We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another pleasant stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)

Save Saved
You added The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Another pleasant stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This was our ninth visit to Madeira and also to this hotel and timeshare complex. While we stayed at the Residence which is the timeshare section of the hotel we do not own a timeshare prefering to remain flexible in the length of stay and timing of our visits. The rooms are used as hotel suites or studios when not sold as timeshares. The service was excellent and the room up to the usual standard. We very much enjoy the grounds of the hotel which has some lovely plants all labelled. There are 4 swimming pools, 2 indoors and several restuarants. We used the Atlantida which is a buffet restaurant with the best buffet we have ever seen. The staff there are first rate and always ready to make your meal a pleasant experience. The Manager, Alexandre, is especially good at answering our many questions abouit Madeira and it's peoples.

Our room was well equiped as a studio and our maid Fatima was most efficient and friendly. Part of the complex is a small ice cream and coffee cafe on the parade - Patricia runs this and she made it a pleasant place to relax for half an hour with a coffee or a large ice cream concoction!

The hotel is about 1.5 miles from the centre of Funchal next to the Lido. A free curtesy bus will take you downtown although we prefer to use our car and walk the many levadas on the island, most leading into the wild and very beautiful back country. You do need a head for heights though since many have very narrow (15inch) walkways with sheer drops and not all have guard rails!

Room Tip: In Residence a west facing room to get afternoon sun can be a bit noisy since it looks out over the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Another stay, another review about one of our properties…Thank you so much.

Thank you also for the public praise of some of our staff members, that I will be most pleased to share your thoughts.

Sincerely hope to see you around soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    53
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
126
248
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

This was our 1st visit to Madeira and what better could we have had than The Residence at Porto Mare (Porto Bay). Apartment well furnished and very well equipped for self catering. We hat 4th floor with view of the sea (a little windy) but would have been pleased with one of the garden rooms with beatiful flowers and sea view.

Great to have access to all the facilities of Porto Mare hotel and Eden Mare - 2 fabulous indoor pools, 5 restaurants, beautiful gardens, excellent Spa with wide range of treatments and well stocked supermarket within 5 mins walk. Courtesy bus into Funchal from hotel was very useful, as was the pick up for the Yellow Tourist Bus just outside too.

Cannnot fault it for a wonderful break. Highly recommended in every way.

Special mention for The Med restaurant - really good food and excellent service (led by Paulo).
Hope to be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the feedback about your first holiday experience at The Residence and hopefully won’t be the last… I am really happy to know that you had such a positive stay with us and we will be most pleased to welcome you back in a future visit to Madeira

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotonda West, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have just returned from our tenth year at The Residence at the Porto Mare Hotel, Madeira. Beautiful place and the standard and quality of the property is first class. With the use of all the hotel facilities the Residence is a home away from home.The gardens are well stocked with beautiful flowers and shrubs and the orchid garden outstanding.
The property is well situated for shops, restaurants and bars. With the added beautiful climate what more could you wish for!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review shared on tripadvisor with so many other holiday makers. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to learn that you had another positive holiday experience with us.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just returned from by 9th visit staying at The Residence!
Standards still high.. everywhere spotless, fresh flowers and very welcoming staff!
Given bottle of wine for my birthday.
White Candle restaurant at top of the hill opened in October fantastic food huge portions.
New entertainment live latin show on Sat night was good value beautifully presented food.
We need entertainment for when wet. First time ever it rained for 2 days so would be good to have something inside to do. A DVD of Adrie Rieu ws playing but cut short for the footbal!
Free bus into town. Harbour still being repaired. Back agian next year

Room Tip: Ask for sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the “superb” review about The Residence. Happy to know that overall you had another positive holiday experience (9 stays …THANK YOU so much).

It is also rewarding to know that you have enjoyed the new event of our winter entertainment program..One Night Dinner Show at Lido Bar is one of the new activities we have been introducing in order to please the majority of our guests and we are happy that we have accomplished it with you.

Sincerely hope to welcome you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have just returned from our 4th trip to Madeira staying firstly at the Porto Mare Hotel and then 3 times at The Residence. It is just such a perfect setting - their are 3 different parts: Eden Mare, Porto Mare and The Residence - all the facilities are available and include a beautiful outdoor pool surrounded by palm trees and the most pretty and exotic gardens, a tranquil indoor/outdoor spa pool with an outdoor jacuzzi (heated) and another indoor heated pool, and yet another outdoor unheated pool! What a choice! The gardens are amazing - a sunken tropical one with orchids and many unusual trees and plants. A viewing point overlooking the sea with cosy thatched seating areas and lots of comfy sun loungers. There are four restaurants. The buffet style suited us as we have a young daughter - the choice is amazing and there are different themes every night! There a several bars with entertainment, wifi throughout the complex, wonderful staff and service. The lounge area is beautiful with soft, comfy sofas to lounge on, coffee tables and lamps all in the most lovely fabrics and colours. There is a kids club and lots of activities including table tennis, mini golf, playground etc. A free bus service into central Funchal which is great. Funchal is beautiful too with gardens, jacaranda trees, mosaic pavements and old colonial buildings, an amazing cable car ride to the mountain gardens of Monte. Madeira has lots of lovely walks by the levadas to suit all abilities and we go horse riding in the mountains - a unique experience!

The whole place is so tastefully and luxuriously appointed from the apartments to entrance halls - flowers, beautiful fabrics, lighting the lot is superb! We avoided time share like a plague and vowed we would never buy into one, but we have here and 3 years on we are very happy indeed that we did! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view! They are all brill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the five star review shared with such a vast audience. It is really rewarding to know how much you enjoy Madeira island and our hotel in particular.

It will always be a great pleasure to welcome you in our hotel,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TINTINHULL U.K.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Can't fault the place or the people. Good position in the town and a free COACH service to the town and back; hourly. Food is exceptional and room cleaning is the best we've seen. Four times in three years; and we will be back again this year ( 2013 )

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for the nice review about The Residence posted on tripadvisor. Thank you as well for your support by staying in our property and it will be a pleasure to welcome you on the 5th visit to Madeira.

Warm regards

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I have now been to Madeira 3 times and I have stayed at The Residence 2/3 of these times. I can't wait to go back as everything is lovely. Not only is the food served at the hotel extremely nice but the surrounding restaurants also provide wonderful food. The fact that The Residence joins on to 2 other hotels is also a wonderful feature as you can use the facilities from all 3 hotels. There is something on in the hotel practically every night so you are never short or something to do, the magic show I saw was very entertaining. All in all the hotel, as well as all the other hotels in the 'Porto Bay Group', are very good at putting the customer first and I cannot wait for my next stay in The Residence.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your “lovely” review shared on Tripadvisor about your recent stay at The Residence and for letting us know that you have enjoyed it.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back soon,

Warm regards

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#1 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Tingo, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.