We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Porto Mare Porto Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Porto Mare Porto Bay to your Saves list
The Residence Porto Mare Porto Bay
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Rotonda West, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have just returned from our tenth year at The Residence at the Porto Mare Hotel, Madeira. Beautiful place and the standard and quality of the property is first class. With the use of all the hotel facilities the Residence is a home away from home.The gardens are well stocked with beautiful flowers and shrubs and the orchid garden outstanding.
The property is well situated for shops, restaurants and bars. With the added beautiful climate what more could you wish for!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare Porto Bay, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review shared on tripadvisor with so many other holiday makers. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to learn that you had another positive holiday experience with us.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    512
    67
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
165
327
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

Just returned from by 9th visit staying at The Residence!
Standards still high.. everywhere spotless, fresh flowers and very welcoming staff!
Given bottle of wine for my birthday.
White Candle restaurant at top of the hill opened in October fantastic food huge portions.
New entertainment live latin show on Sat night was good value beautifully presented food.
We need entertainment for when wet. First time ever it rained for 2 days so would be good to have something inside to do. A DVD of Adrie Rieu ws playing but cut short for the footbal!
Free bus into town. Harbour still being repaired. Back agian next year

Room Tip: Ask for sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare Porto Bay, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the “superb” review about The Residence. Happy to know that overall you had another positive holiday experience (9 stays …THANK YOU so much).

It is also rewarding to know that you have enjoyed the new event of our winter entertainment program..One Night Dinner Show at Lido Bar is one of the new activities we have been introducing in order to please the majority of our guests and we are happy that we have accomplished it with you.

Sincerely hope to welcome you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Totnes
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

We have just returned from our 4th trip to Madeira staying firstly at the Porto Mare Hotel and then 3 times at The Residence. It is just such a perfect setting - their are 3 different parts: Eden Mare, Porto Mare and The Residence - all the facilities are available and include a beautiful outdoor pool surrounded by palm trees and the most pretty and exotic gardens, a tranquil indoor/outdoor spa pool with an outdoor jacuzzi (heated) and another indoor heated pool, and yet another outdoor unheated pool! What a choice! The gardens are amazing - a sunken tropical one with orchids and many unusual trees and plants. A viewing point overlooking the sea with cosy thatched seating areas and lots of comfy sun loungers. There are four restaurants. The buffet style suited us as we have a young daughter - the choice is amazing and there are different themes every night! There a several bars with entertainment, wifi throughout the complex, wonderful staff and service. The lounge area is beautiful with soft, comfy sofas to lounge on, coffee tables and lamps all in the most lovely fabrics and colours. There is a kids club and lots of activities including table tennis, mini golf, playground etc. A free bus service into central Funchal which is great. Funchal is beautiful too with gardens, jacaranda trees, mosaic pavements and old colonial buildings, an amazing cable car ride to the mountain gardens of Monte. Madeira has lots of lovely walks by the levadas to suit all abilities and we go horse riding in the mountains - a unique experience!

The whole place is so tastefully and luxuriously appointed from the apartments to entrance halls - flowers, beautiful fabrics, lighting the lot is superb! We avoided time share like a plague and vowed we would never buy into one, but we have here and 3 years on we are very happy indeed that we did! Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view! They are all brill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare Porto Bay, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for the five star review shared with such a vast audience. It is really rewarding to know how much you enjoy Madeira island and our hotel in particular.

It will always be a great pleasure to welcome you in our hotel,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TINTINHULL U.K.
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

Can't fault the place or the people. Good position in the town and a free COACH service to the town and back; hourly. Food is exceptional and room cleaning is the best we've seen. Four times in three years; and we will be back again this year ( 2013 )

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare Porto Bay, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for the nice review about The Residence posted on tripadvisor. Thank you as well for your support by staying in our property and it will be a pleasure to welcome you on the 5th visit to Madeira.

Warm regards

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

I have now been to Madeira 3 times and I have stayed at The Residence 2/3 of these times. I can't wait to go back as everything is lovely. Not only is the food served at the hotel extremely nice but the surrounding restaurants also provide wonderful food. The fact that The Residence joins on to 2 other hotels is also a wonderful feature as you can use the facilities from all 3 hotels. There is something on in the hotel practically every night so you are never short or something to do, the magic show I saw was very entertaining. All in all the hotel, as well as all the other hotels in the 'Porto Bay Group', are very good at putting the customer first and I cannot wait for my next stay in The Residence.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare Porto Bay, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your “lovely” review shared on Tripadvisor about your recent stay at The Residence and for letting us know that you have enjoyed it.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you back soon,

Warm regards

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odessa
Level Contributor
71 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Just 25 min.drive fm Funchal airport,arrived to my beatifull apartments(2 bedrooms,fully equipped kitchen,2 bathrooms+great dinner room +2 balconies)with great ocean view,surrounded y the tropical garden with thousands of plants,trees and flowers.Just few steps fm the apartment was orchid garden!!!Appartment was extremely clean,fuul of natural wood and stone.Some steps away you can find good swimming pool,apart fm other 2 outdoor and indoor pools.we've 2 birthdays with my wife(interval 4days),each one-rcvd complimentary bottle of champagne fm the hotel.nearest vicinity fm the hotel,you can find huge supermarket with fresh seafood everyday,good choice of local wines and fruits.centre of Funchal is just 30 inutes by walk,but good opportunity0free shuttlebus fm the hotel to the centre of funchal(movement as per schedule).Everyday,we'd nice breakfast on the open veranda,close to the swimming pool with fresh bakery,fresh fruits,good choice of cold cuts and hot dishes(and even sparkling wine).service was perfect as well.Everyday in the numerous bars and restaraunts you can have different kind of programm,as per yr interests.We've early check-out,all you need-is to inform reception day before and yr breakfast will be served in the food court(in the hall).Only nice memories and intentions to visit again remained after so perfect holiday.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare Porto Bay, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a comprehensive review about your stay at The Residence.

Really happy to know that you have enjoyed your holiday experience and it will be a great pleasure to welcome you back in a near future,

Warm regards

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We have stayed in the charming Eden Mare Suite Hotel, several times over the last 9 years. It is linked directly to the newer Porto Mare Hotel and The Residence. All are sited together with a choice of two outdoor and two indoor pools, 5 excellent restaurants, fantastic friendly and helpful staff. This is a very relaxing place to stay with wonderful views of the sea and gardens. The accomodation is clean, modern and well thought out. Furnishings and decore is of high quality. I am sure you will not be dissapointed. The town is a 10 minute bus ride away, or a great 25 minute walk. My daughter Maria, aged 6 has no problem walking from the hotel down into the town. On route are shops and a great park, with a childrens play area. For me and my family this is a safe and pleasant holiday. Most tourists enjoy their evening at the local restaurants, eating great dishes. Meat and fish are the best. If you like beef, its the place to come. The restaurant Med located in the hotel, serves fantastic beef, don't miss it. The manager Paulo is brilliant. The hotel also has an italian restaurant, managed by Rosa, and the food is well priced, well presented and extremely tasty. Hotel offers discount vouchers and deals throughout the year. We will definately be returning.

Room Tip: Eden Mare Hotel, junior suite have a kitchenette, great if you have a littleone or like us we are la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare Porto Bay, responded to this review, March 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your thoughts about your recent stay at the Vila Porto Mare and for let us know tha you had a positive holiday experience.

Thank youalso for being such a great supporter of our resort by staying with us so many times.

It will be a pleasure to see you around soon once agian.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.1 mi away
Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)
0.4 mi away
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
1.6 mi away
Quinta Jardins do Lago
Quinta Jardins do Lago
#2 of 88 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 804 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Suite Hotel Eden Mar (Porto Bay)
0.5 mi away
Quinta da Casa Branca
Quinta da Casa Branca
#4 of 88 in Funchal
5.0 of 5 stars 558 reviews
0.4 mi away
Vidamar Resort Madeira
Vidamar Resort Madeira
#18 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Porto Mare Porto Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Porto Mare Porto Bay

Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence Porto Mare Porto Bay 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Residence Porto Mare Porto Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Porto Mare Porto Bay Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Porto Mare Porto Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.