We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why return year after year?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)

Save Saved
You added The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Penrith, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Why return year after year?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

From the various reviews it is so evident that many of us return here year after year. There must be a reason for this and this is not difficult to identify. First the location. Situated at the Lido, you are in the quiet part of town with a wonderful walk on your doorstep and yet a regular free coach to take you into town if you don't feel up to the walk. The gardens of the hotel have to be seen to be believed - this is no concrete carbuncle and these gardens in our view are on a par with the botanic gardens themselves. Next the staff - having stayed in many hotels we have never experienced such warmth and friendliness - without exception - and when you meet the senior management of the hotel it is not difficult to see why this is very much the house style. If you eat in the hotel you have a wide choice of restaurants from which to choose - from formal dining to casual dining around the swimming pool and in the evening a varied programme of entertainment. The lesirure facilities are equally attractive and provide all that the more energetic may require. Each December we return for our dose of Madeiran sunshine and each year we leave with tremendous reluctance.

Room Tip: We love our one bedroom apartment in the residence
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a rewarding feedback about the Residence, its facilities and services. Thank you for your support by staying with us again and again. It is also because of guest like you that motivates us to work hard in order to keep the standards we believe you deserve as a guest.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and all the best for the forthcoming year.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

439 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    382
    51
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
117
238
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pamplona, Navarra, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Both the city and the hotel are superb!!! We enjoyed a lot not only the sunshine, but the swimming-pool, the restaurants, the terraces... and also the personnel that is very very kind. The acqua gym teacher was very very funny and attentive to us!

Lots of things to choose at breackfast, even champaign! Charming waiters were always attentive to our needings.

Room Tip: ask for a room with sea view... they are excellent!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such “ a very pleasant” review about your recent visit to the Residence and for the positive feedback about some of the services and staff of our resort.

We sincerely hope to welcome you again in a near future.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and all the best for the forthcoming year.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

Yet another wonderful holiday at The Residence. It's a home from home for us now after 5 years. Everything excellent - our apartment, the staff, the spa, the restaurants, the superb gardens - we can't fault it. Already we're looking forward to our visit next year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Just to thank you for the review about the residence and for the pictures of our resort
It will always be a great pleasure to see you around.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and all the best for the forthcoming year.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Arran, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012

Our 7th visit and as good as ever. The staff are excellent, accommodation could not be bettered and the warm weather was wonderful. I recommend the Spa treatments! Madeira is a very good holiday destination any time of the year.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for your feedback about another stay at the residence.
It will always be a pleasure to welcome you back.

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and all the best for the forthcoming year.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

We have just got back from Maderia,This was our fouth year at the Residence,we have never been disappointed.We have a one bedroom apartment ,which over looks the sea.From our balcony we had the sun late morning and to evening ,some of the sunsets were wonderful.This year the weather was warm but we did have more rain than ever before.There is always plenty to do tennis squash,table tennis a gym,and of course the wonderful swimming pools.For children there is a small play ground and also inside a play room.It also has Spa facilities with sauna and steam room.Maderia is a great island with lots to do,All trips can be arranged for you ,nothing is too much trouble all the staff are so helpful and friendly

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for the” back again” review posted on tripadvisor. Thank you also for such a comprehensive description of our resort. It probably means that profited from our facilities.

We sincerely hope to welcome you in a future visit to our hotel,

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and all the best for the forthcoming year.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Have been coming here for 8 years and have never been disappointed. The standard of accommodation is better than some 5 star hotels and the staff are efficient,welcoming and so happy in their work and the way they go about it. The facilities are superb and the weather,we go in October,is usually good but we understand that this year they had some rain in November although it may have been needed as there was a plague of mosquitos. RCI continue to offer us swops ro other locations but we doubt that the Residence could be bettered. The staff make an effort to know you and make your stay a good one. I have never heard of anyone having a serious complaint about a holiday there.

Room Tip: Some people prefer low rooms to have access to the beautiful gardens but we prefer higher rooms for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

We are happy to learn that overall you had a positive holiday experience at the Residence and thank you for your feedback about it.

Sincerely hope to meet you on a future visit to Madeira,

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and all the best for the forthcoming year.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

Having spent 2 weeks in The Residence in January/February this year and liked it so much, we had the opportunity to return end October/beginning November for a further two weeks. The first week was a timeshare exchange and we were in a 2-bedroom apartment looking out onto one of the garden levels. The second week was booked through the Porto Bay Hotel Group as a one-bedroom apartment which included breakfast. Once again we were in a 2-bedroom apartment overlooking gardens, which was a lovely surprise. The luxury was wonderful and the size of the apartment was larger than our own house in the UK! We would have preferred not to have had breakfast included in the price of the second week but this is hotel policy, as trying to justify a full breakfast every morning wasn’t easy! Breakfast was taken in the Atlantida restaurant and unfortunately although the choice of food was excellent, the temperature of the cooked food could have been hotter. This also applied to the coffee which was served up in thermos jugs which I suspect had been made much earlier. The only day we had hot coffee was on the last day when we had breakfast earlier than usual as we had the airport bus to catch. This is only a slight niggle and didn’t ruin the holiday at all. As before everyone was so friendly and helpful. We went on a very interesting excursion to a small cheese factory making cottage cheese which we sampled followed by a visit to a very small bakery. Here we were served up fresh bread and wine, finished off with roast chestnuts. We then went on to the Santo da Serra Golf Club for a sneak view of the facilities and then to the Santa da Serra Hotel (part of the Porto Bay Group) for a delicious three course lunch washed down with wine and coffee. Very good value. Thoroughly recommend this trip but book early as spaces are limited. Roll on our next visit hopefully in Spring 2014!

Room Tip: Try for an apartment leading out onto gardens as more privacy than some others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, December 17, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent visit to the Residence. I will pass your comments to our Food & beverage operation so we can improve the points raised.

Glad that you took advantage of some of the activities we organize for our guests. We are already working on a few more events for the near future.

It will always be a pleasure to have you around therefore we will be waiting for you on your future visit

Wishing you a Merry Christmas and all the best for the forthcoming year.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#2 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#3 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Tingo, TravelClick, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline and Otel so you can book your The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.