We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Wonderful Holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

This was our 6th year in The Residence and yet again it was perfect. The appartments are clean, tidy and comfortable. The staff are friendly and helpful and it is just a perfect place. Our son joined us this year and his comment was ' I knew it was going to be good but not this good. Can I come again?
The overall facilities are absolutely wonderful with wonderful gardens and pools and plenty to do. The bars are very good with variable entertainment. Each year there seems to be an improvement made such as new sun loungers etc. and this year was no different. Can't wait until next year.

Room Tip: We like our room looking out on a grassy area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Dear guests,

Thank you for your support by staying with us so many times and for the time you spent giving us feedback about your previous visit to Madeira. Happy to learn that you had a positive experience and therefore hope to see you around soon,

Best regards

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

561 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    485
    65
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
150
313
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

Standard of the appartment, the cleanliness and furnishings are all first class, the staff in all areas are polite, and helpfull, a very enjoyable holiday where one can relax and enjoy good food, good entertainment in perfect surroundings

Room Tip: All ok no preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Just a short not to thank you for your comments about the residence and really hope to meet you in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 352 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We recently had our first visit to the Residence at Porto Mare in Funchal and we were delighted.
We had a huge apartment (3117) with private gardens for sunbathing - handy as the pool areas were very busy it being peak season. The complex is beautifully designed with lush gardens and pools dotted around to look like a tropical paradise.
There is a good selection of restaurants available, although we chose to eat in town or the nearby Tricolore pizzeria, and the bars are lovely. Bar Varanda hosts entertainment poolside and the spanish guitar band currently in residence on a Sunday night were some of the best musicians we have seen across the world. The duo that sing in the bar with ballroom dancing are also excellent and the opportunity to dance was a real treat. One evening we saw an incredible blues band as well in the Oceana bar who were absolutely wonderful and not to be missed.
The apartment itself was spacious and equipped with everything one might need with a fully equipped kitchen, two bathrooms with power showers, huge bed and both inside and outside dining options. It was absolutely spotless and cleaned every day with toiletries all topped up on a daily basis and fresh bottled drinking water provided.
The views out to sea are lovely and the whole complex is designed so that you never feel too crowded with lots of little areas to hide away in.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Muito obrigado for the “outstanding” review posted on Tripadvisor.
Happy to learn the you enjoyed your holidays and profited from the entertainment we have within Vila Porto Mare complex.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you on your second visit to our property

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monifieth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was our second time in Madeira but the first time in our new time share. The Residence is an excellent facility with just about everything you need for a great holiday 2 indoor pools, 2 outdoor pools a Spa and a Gym. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are cleaned daily. The kitchen is well equipped which I admit we didn't use very much because of the great range of restaurants in Funchal - try Il Basilico which is part of the hotel- really recommend this. The rooms are large, infact the bed is almost the size of a small country. The hotel runs a free bus service into the town which you do have to book. Would suggest the walk to Camara de Lobos along the coastal path.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about you first experience as a time share owner. Happy to know that you had such a positive felling about it and hopefully will meet each other for the following years…

It will be a pleasure to welcome you soon

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is our seventh visit to The Residence at Porto Mare and their high standards have been maintained yet again. The staff are well trained, professional, friendly and a credit to the Portobay hotel group. Everyone from the General Manager to the housekeeping team go out of their way to make the guests welcome and ensure they have a good time. The rooms in the apartments are clean and well maintained but are getting a bit dated now. However, this does not detract from our overall enjoyment of the apartment.

We travelled with family again this year, including our two granddaughters age 4 and 7 and the Kid's Club was a particular hit with them. We all love the pools, the gardens, the bars and the general ambience of the place. The BBQ was great as was the "Pink Party" - not sure about the fire eaters though!!!

Had a wonderfully relaxing facial in the Spa - very professional.

This hotel is situated in an ideal location, overlooking the sea and with great walks, restaurants and bars nearby. The food in the Basilica restaurant is excellent - highly recommended.

Looking forward to our eighth visit now - maybe at New Year? Too long to wait till next summer!!!

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are the best - the higher up the better the view as the trees have grown along the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for “another fantastic “ post shared on tripadvisor about your stay at The residence.

I am delightful to know that you had another enjoyable family stay and profited from the facilities and activities we organize at Vila Porto Mare.

It will be a pleasure to have you around soon

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

A well maintained hotel we had 2 apartments on the fourth floor which were quiet with sea views. You can use the facilities of the other 2 Porto Hotels on the same site, there were 5 pools.

We used the restaurant for breakfast a lot too choose from but we often found it difficult to find a clean table for 4, but it only took minutes to sort out.

My only bug bear with the complex is the saving of sunbeds, by 8 am the ones by the main pools would have the towels on, and sometimes they were not used for hours. I know the hotel claim they do not want this to carry on but it does.

The staff were all very pleasant and i would recommend it for a base to stay in Madeira

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at the Residence shared with such a vast audience.
It is rewarding to know that you had a positive holiday experience

I would be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APO
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed in a 1BR apartment a couple weeks ago and I found it to be meticulously well-kept and clean. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The whole property was very well-maintained and with five pools, we never had to fight for space to swim. My daughter enjoyed the kids club. The staff were very good with the kids. However, the length of the program is quite short and did not allow for me to do much more than laundry or go to the gym. Being a single parent, I would have loved to have been able to utilize the kids club so that I could attend some of the other functions, like the wine-tasting. Unfortunately, the times were not coordinated. Overall, this would not deter me from staying at the Residence again. We really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing on tripadvisor your holiday feelings about the Residence.
I am really happy to know that in general you had a positive stay with us.
I have taken good note of your comments about the Kids club and although we have a general program we probably can extend it a bit more and meet the specific needs of our guests…for future stays please kindly contact us so we can discuss the matter


I would be most pleased to meet you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#4 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#6 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.