We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding apartments in beautiful complex” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Yorkshire
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
337 helpful votes 337 helpful votes
“Outstanding apartments in beautiful complex”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We recently had our first visit to the Residence at Porto Mare in Funchal and we were delighted.
We had a huge apartment (3117) with private gardens for sunbathing - handy as the pool areas were very busy it being peak season. The complex is beautifully designed with lush gardens and pools dotted around to look like a tropical paradise.
There is a good selection of restaurants available, although we chose to eat in town or the nearby Tricolore pizzeria, and the bars are lovely. Bar Varanda hosts entertainment poolside and the spanish guitar band currently in residence on a Sunday night were some of the best musicians we have seen across the world. The duo that sing in the bar with ballroom dancing are also excellent and the opportunity to dance was a real treat. One evening we saw an incredible blues band as well in the Oceana bar who were absolutely wonderful and not to be missed.
The apartment itself was spacious and equipped with everything one might need with a fully equipped kitchen, two bathrooms with power showers, huge bed and both inside and outside dining options. It was absolutely spotless and cleaned every day with toiletries all topped up on a daily basis and fresh bottled drinking water provided.
The views out to sea are lovely and the whole complex is designed so that you never feel too crowded with lots of little areas to hide away in.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Muito obrigado for the “outstanding” review posted on Tripadvisor.
Happy to learn the you enjoyed your holidays and profited from the entertainment we have within Vila Porto Mare complex.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you on your second visit to our property

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

490 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    425
    57
    5
    2
    1
See reviews for
133
270
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Monifieth, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was our second time in Madeira but the first time in our new time share. The Residence is an excellent facility with just about everything you need for a great holiday 2 indoor pools, 2 outdoor pools a Spa and a Gym. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are cleaned daily. The kitchen is well equipped which I admit we didn't use very much because of the great range of restaurants in Funchal - try Il Basilico which is part of the hotel- really recommend this. The rooms are large, infact the bed is almost the size of a small country. The hotel runs a free bus service into the town which you do have to book. Would suggest the walk to Camara de Lobos along the coastal path.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about you first experience as a time share owner. Happy to know that you had such a positive felling about it and hopefully will meet each other for the following years…

It will be a pleasure to welcome you soon

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is our seventh visit to The Residence at Porto Mare and their high standards have been maintained yet again. The staff are well trained, professional, friendly and a credit to the Portobay hotel group. Everyone from the General Manager to the housekeeping team go out of their way to make the guests welcome and ensure they have a good time. The rooms in the apartments are clean and well maintained but are getting a bit dated now. However, this does not detract from our overall enjoyment of the apartment.

We travelled with family again this year, including our two granddaughters age 4 and 7 and the Kid's Club was a particular hit with them. We all love the pools, the gardens, the bars and the general ambience of the place. The BBQ was great as was the "Pink Party" - not sure about the fire eaters though!!!

Had a wonderfully relaxing facial in the Spa - very professional.

This hotel is situated in an ideal location, overlooking the sea and with great walks, restaurants and bars nearby. The food in the Basilica restaurant is excellent - highly recommended.

Looking forward to our eighth visit now - maybe at New Year? Too long to wait till next summer!!!

Room Tip: Sea facing rooms are the best - the higher up the better the view as the trees have grown along the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for “another fantastic “ post shared on tripadvisor about your stay at The residence.

I am delightful to know that you had another enjoyable family stay and profited from the facilities and activities we organize at Vila Porto Mare.

It will be a pleasure to have you around soon

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2012

A well maintained hotel we had 2 apartments on the fourth floor which were quiet with sea views. You can use the facilities of the other 2 Porto Hotels on the same site, there were 5 pools.

We used the restaurant for breakfast a lot too choose from but we often found it difficult to find a clean table for 4, but it only took minutes to sort out.

My only bug bear with the complex is the saving of sunbeds, by 8 am the ones by the main pools would have the towels on, and sometimes they were not used for hours. I know the hotel claim they do not want this to carry on but it does.

The staff were all very pleasant and i would recommend it for a base to stay in Madeira

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments about your stay at the Residence shared with such a vast audience.
It is rewarding to know that you had a positive holiday experience

I would be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
APO
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

We stayed in a 1BR apartment a couple weeks ago and I found it to be meticulously well-kept and clean. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. The whole property was very well-maintained and with five pools, we never had to fight for space to swim. My daughter enjoyed the kids club. The staff were very good with the kids. However, the length of the program is quite short and did not allow for me to do much more than laundry or go to the gym. Being a single parent, I would have loved to have been able to utilize the kids club so that I could attend some of the other functions, like the wine-tasting. Unfortunately, the times were not coordinated. Overall, this would not deter me from staying at the Residence again. We really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing on tripadvisor your holiday feelings about the Residence.
I am really happy to know that in general you had a positive stay with us.
I have taken good note of your comments about the Kids club and although we have a general program we probably can extend it a bit more and meet the specific needs of our guests…for future stays please kindly contact us so we can discuss the matter


I would be most pleased to meet you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

We visited with friends who are residents with a week in this hotel. What a lovely place. The apartment was lovely, spotlessly clean with all the facilities you need or could want.
The rooms all looked out to sea and the facilities in the hotel were great .the gardens are particularly lovely.
A great stay and we hope to be invited to join our friends again for what was a delightful weeks holiday.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your post on tripadvisor about your first holiday at The Residence. Hopefully want be your last…

I am really happy to know that you and your friends had such a positive stay.

I would be delightful to meet you on the second visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andover, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Have just spent a fantastic two weeks in our two bedroom apartment, where our daughter and her disabled husband joined us for the first week. Firstly the four of us were picked up from the airport by Tony in his specially adapted taxi. (The wheelchair was loaded into the taxi with passenger complete). This was so much better than the extraordinary process onto the aircraft itself. Did not feel at all confident with the way they handled our son-in-law!
However, once we arrived at The Residence, (11am) only had half an hour before Limao Doce opened. If you haven't tried one of their superb milkshakes, make sure you do on your next visit. Must make a special mention of John who has now joined Clare and Tom. We love to travel on the local buses and John printed out timetables for us. He completely compliments C&T. What a team. Already missing The Residence and only been home 10 days.

Room Tip: Overlooking the park and sea, although there does seem to be "night owls" at the weekend i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your post on tripadvisor about your holiday at The residence and happy to learn that in general you had a positive experience.

Thank you also for the public praise of one of our staff members. He will be most pleased to receive your kind words which I’ll pleasurably share with him.

Hope to meet you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#4 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#7 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.