We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My second home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“My second home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2012

I visit this hotel twice yearly and am never disappointed by any aspect of it. The service is second to none the rooms are comfortable spacious and very clean and the staff are the friendliest bunch of people you will meet anywhere. This year I questioned why they only had a 4* rating and was told that they would rather be the best 4* hotel in Portugal than just another 5* one in Madeira and I must agree with the award that they won this year. Keep up the good work guys and see you in September

Room Tip: Any room is a good room if you get a bad one you are in the wrong hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Dear Guest,

THANK YOU for the nice review shared on tripadvisor about the Porto Mare Residence.
The public recognition makes us feel proud of our work, therefore Muito Obrigado.
In September we will discuss the issue “second home” !!!

See you in September

With warm regards,

Antonio Pais

. ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    460
    60
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
144
292
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2012

We returned to the Residence for 3 weeks on the 20th February and saw lots of old friends some of whom are the staff at the Porto Mare complex.Nothing changes, in fact it only gets better. Right from the top management ,Antonio Pais, the restaurant manager of the Med. Paulo , and to our chamber maid Dina , everyone was absolutely charming.The only trouble is that we enjoy ourselves so much we start wishing our lives away looking forward to next year.Well done everybody at the Residence, Porto Mare and The Eden Mar for making our stay so very very enjoyable.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 27, 2012
Thank you for such a nice review about your previous stay.
Also thank you for mentioning some of my colleagues names who on a daily basis do their best to support the operation of the Vila Porto Mare resort. I am sure they will be very proud to receive your words.

Hope to see you back soon,

With warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

Antonio Pais

. ..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ronde, Denmark
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

Over the years we have stayed at several very good hotels in Madeira, but The Residence has come to be our favourite. It is excellently situated close to the seashore, offering a seaview from almost every room. It gives access to a lovely garden with all sorts of both endemic and exotic plants and trees. It is very well run, with an efficient and friendly staff, always ready to see to your needs and answer your questions, and all the appartments are fully equipped with all modern kitchen facilities, which makes it possible to cook your own meals if you want to cut down on restaurant visits.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Thank you for another stay at The Residence and to let us know that you had another positiv holiday experience.

Really hope to meet you in a future visit.

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado
Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2012

Just returned from 2 bonus weeks at Porto Mare Residence in Funchal, Madeira. Wow! - EXCELLENT! This is the best timeshare resort we have ever stayed at. As we like to self cater, the kitchen facilities were first class with full oven and hob, microwave, coffee machine etc, sink and even a dishwasher! The 1 bed apartment was very comfortable with a separate bedroom with 2 very large beds. wardrobes, drawers, safe & small TV; 2 bathrooms - one with bath with shower over and basin & the other one with WC, bidet, walk in shower and basin. The lounge/dining room had a dining table with 4 chairs, a double sofa bed and 2 easy chairs, coffee tables, lamps and a TV unit. This led out onto a patio with table & chairs which in turn led onto a lovely garden. The Residence is part of a hotel complex & the entire resort was beautifully laid out with gardens. There were 5 swimming pools & a Spa, Gym, games room, several bars and restaurants . Another useful asset was a self service launderette which was handy when staying for more than one week. On arrival we had a bowl of fresh fruit and a a daily bottle of water supplied. The resort is on the Aerobus route (5 Euros one way or 7.50 Euros return) so travelling from and to the airport was no problem although transport can be arranged through the resort. All staff from management to reception to maids were so helpful and always very courteous. Hopefully we will be able to go back one day - probably shouldn't have made it sound so good as it will be in high demand in the future!

Room Tip: The Residence is a time-share resort but I THINK Thomsons also have access to rooms in the complex.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your “wow” review, shared with so many other people.
I am really happy to know that you had such a positive holiday experience in our resort.

Hope to meet you in future stay at Vila Porto Mare,

With best regards,

Muito obrigado

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

We holiday in Maderia every year and this is the best place we have stayed in the place is spotless and the staff are so friendly also the gardens are excellent would recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 9, 2012
Dear Guest,

Just a simple note to thank you for your nice review posted on tripadvisor about the Residence.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you soon,

With warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

Antonio Pais
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southsea
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
153 helpful votes 153 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

This year was our third stay at the Residence; every year seems better than the previous one; there are so many things to do, to see, to discover. The hotel Tropical garden offers a great variety of very beautiful and well maintained plants; our apartment overlooking the sea and the garden was very spacious, comfortable with all the modern comfort; the friendly chambermaid came every day to change towels and sheets as often as we wanted. There is a frequent shuttle bus service to the Old Town of Funchal, including on Sunday, but the 30 minutes' walk to the town is very pleasant. Staying in an apartment gives us freedom while being able to make the most of both hotels Eden Mar and Porto Mare, thus being able to have dinner at the superb Atlantida Restaurant, famous for its most delicious and copious buffets, or lunch at the very typically Italian restaurant Il Basilico. This very popular and very friendly place is just fantastic; the presence of guests from all parts of Europe is there to confirm it. We would recommend it to anyone coming to the beautiful island of Madeira.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

My sincere apologies for the very late feedback to your post on tripadvisor for which we thank you.

We are happy to know that you had such a positive family holiday experience and profited from the different gastronomic options we offer at Vila Porto Mare,

Really hope to welcome you in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

We stayed here from 26th dec for a week myself my husband and two teenage (14) girls.We had a one bedroomed apartment with garden access.The apartment was lovely and had plenty of room although another bedroom would have been great but the bed sette was made up for you in the longe area.Great kitchen full dishwasher which was loaded and switched on every day for us by the maid.There is an oven and four ring hob if you want to cook and all the normal accessories like toaster kettle coffee maker even a hand mixer.You have all you need and more in cutlery and crockery.We only had breakfast there as there are so many places to eat at great prices it wasnt worth the hassle.And you can even have breakfast made for you in one of the lovely restaurants.The facilities are great lots of indoor and outdoor pools plus spa treatments and sport activities plus a gym.It was perfect for us as a family with two 14 year olds something for everyone.Being there for new years eve and the fire works were amazing, the hotel took anyone that wanted to go to a great viewing spot up the mountain all free of charge on coaches it was very well organised and a glass off bubble to let the new year in was the iceing on the cake.We cant wait to go again.

Room Tip: ground floor rooms have access to gardens and sole use of sunbeds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Dear Guest,

My sincere apologies for the very late feedback to your post on tripadvisor for which we thank you.

We are happy to know that you had such a positive family holiday experience and really hope top welcome you in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua Leichlingen 7, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal (Formerly Porto Mare Residence)
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Funchal
#3 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#5 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Occupying the west wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort, The Residence enjoys the use of all its facilities and a real sense of community. A wide selection of carefully furnished and fully equipped apartments where comfort is our motto. The 99 units divided into studios, one and two bedroom apartments are decorated with a touch of exoticism. The Residence apartments combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Residence Funchal
Porto Mare Residence Hotel Funchal
The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Residence Porto Mare (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.