We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel, great service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lti Pestana Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lti Pestana Grand to your Saves list
Lti Pestana Grand
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Great big rooms, clean and up to date. Beautiful grounds with lovely pools. Super service! Including room cleaning service that went out of their way to help us (with a very small baby). Front desk also great. This hotel is not very close to Funchal center but we had a car and that was sufficient. Nice walks around the hotel. Very good value / price. Highly recommend if you are looking for something outside of city center.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for visiting us and for leaving your feedback about your recent stay with us.
We were happy to read that, the hotel, facilities and the service provided from the team were up to your expectations and beyond. We hope you have had a good and safe flight back home and look forward for a future visit with your family.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

842 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    520
    245
    57
    16
    4
See reviews for
176
501
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (262)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Just returned from a weeks stay at the Pestana Grand. This was our second stay at the Grand and again we cannot wait to return. We have had a great time.The staff are very friendly and welcoming. The rooms are very comfortable and relaxing, whilst the pools are surrounded by well maintained gardens. Our stay was on a bed and breakfast arrangement, but we bought a three meal deal and enjoyed a lovely Italian, Moroccan and Steak on the Stone meals in the hotel. The hotel is well positioned to enjoy views over the sea, or to take a walk to surrounding restaurants, particularly the Doca do Cavacas, a traditional fish restaurant. We cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, July 20, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us again.
We were happy to learn that, the whole experience with us was again successful and you had a great time at the Pestana Grand. We shall share all you feedback with our team in order to express our gratitude of welcoming you back. We hope to see you again in the future.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidmouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

We love visiting every May in our lovely time share suite. Lovely gardens and pools but outdoor pool very cold in fact too cold for me. Indoor pool lovely but who wants to swim indoors on a hot sunny day. Also bathroom towels not very luxurious but these are small gripes. Great location with lots of eating places. We love it!

Room Tip: Sea view rooms quieter. Lots of lovely suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

It is such a pleasure to read such a lovely review from a returning guest, there is no greater compliment to the hotel.
Your compliments about the service we provided to you were highly appreciated! Your comment was the best award that we can get.
We are currently working our way through the linen renovation which I hope will be an improvement on your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future

Warm regards
Miguel Grosse
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ardrossan, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2014

Excellent hotel with great views from most rooms,the back rooms do not have full sea views but partial views You look upon the town and over to the hills with a nice church on top so all is not bad. The room are large and comfortable, balcony with two cane chair and two cane sun loungers and table all you need . If you have west side of hotel you will get the afternoon sun until sets in the evening. Each room has small kitchen with kettle toaster pot and pans glasses cups plate etc for four all you need. The maid is in once a day to clean room they do good job (THANKS)..The hotel is well looked after clean and tidy and situated on cliff above the sea in an excellent position . There is a promenade walk in to Funchal this can be very nice but a few steep hills if you want an easier way in to funchal you can walk up to the lido and straight along the road passing many shops and restaurants ,it will take a good 30 /40 minutes The hotel runs a free bus to funchal every 30 minutes or so which is very good only take 5/10 minutes and drops you on water front small walk along front and you go up to your left and into main town.Food in hotel is good breakfast well worth it.Evening meal is nice but for the same price you could go to one of the many restaurants that is close by and pay same amount for what your choice is and not the hotels. I had one or two small problems at the start of holiday but those were well sorted by Sabina and her staff Well done to Guest relations. A problem is only a problem if know one can fix it but mine was handled very well. Again with all reviews the Wi Fi is a hit or miss in reception. Overall a great hotel i will be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. The Team are always delighted to read such kind feedback and I am very lucky to work with them. As a Pestana hotel we strive to make sure people feel at home here and so there is no greater compliment.
Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back in a the not too distant future.

Kind regards
Miguek Grosse
Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow, scotland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Just returned home from a fabulous weeks holiday in Madeira. The hotel is first class, really couldn't fault it. Great location, very clean, beautiful gardens, felt very safe too. Would probably not recommend it though for families with young children as there really is nothing for them to do. It is definitely geared towards older people but that's wonderful obviously if you don't have children with you which we didn't. Very peaceful and relaxing. My one and only gripe which I feel bad for saying because I don't want to be negative, but the old man making the omelettes in the morning is the most miserable person I have ever met, it's not nice to see someone so glum and extremely rude like that. He clearly shouldn't be out the front but behind the scenes somewhere. Awful man. Anyway everything else was fab and we would definitely go back here.

Room Tip: Pick a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maria Joao S, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for taking the time to share your experience of The lti Pestana Grand Hotel on TripAdvisor.

I am delighted to read of what a wonderful experience you had during your stay with us. It is enormously rewarding to provide the service we offer, then to receive such complimentary feedback.

I only hope that we shall have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Grand on a future visit.

As per Silvino, I sincerely hope you'll find a big difference on his atitude on your next visit.

Warm regards,
Miguel Grosse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamburg, Germany
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Excellent hotel for an wonderful holiday in Madeira: great location (on the Promenade and Madeira Forum so there were plenty of shopping and eating facilities, bus station almost in front of the hotel, airport bus: 200m), excellent competent and extremely attentive service in all departments (reception, room service, breakfast), almost every hour complimentary shuttle to the center of Funchal (at Marina), spacious room (we actually got a update to a corner suite and that was gorgeous: 64m2, one bedroom, one living room, two balconies, one big bathroom and one guest toilet, great view: we could see both the mountain coast and Funchal), free wifi in the lobby, delicious qualitative breakfast, very good coffee (not always a default even in 5 stars hotels). We will definitely come again.

Room Tip: A room with a front sea view is gorgeous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us for your holidays.
Our aim is to provide the best holiday experience, were glad we accomplished that with you.
We were happy to read that, the suite provided from us was well appreciated by you, making your holiday a memorable one.

With our kindest regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

Wonderful wonderful hotel, friendly staff, excellent rooms, bar food was good - however we were room only so generally ate out.
Ocean view that took my breath away every morning.
Loads of sunbeds and parasols,
I will never tire of visiting this hotel

Room Tip: Rooms on 3 sides see the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your loyalty for the Pestana Grand.
We hope to continue to provide the service you praise so much.
With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lti Pestana Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lti Pestana Grand

Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#9 Family Hotel in Funchal
#12 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#16 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Lti Pestana Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lti Pestana Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Lti Pestana Grand Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lti Pestana Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.