We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better” 5 of 5 stars
Review of lti Pestana Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added lti Pestana Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
lti Pestana Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

I had booked a triple occupancy seaview room and was upgraded to a family seaview room which had a day bed made up. The room had a little kitchenette with dishes, silverware, cookware and 2 burners if I wanted to cook but most importantly it had an electric kettle. The room was very clean and spacious and the view was wonderful. Breakfast was plentiful and delicious with eggs made to order if you so desire. The resort grounds were immaculate with lots of flowers and plants. I did not use the pool unfortunately as the weather was too cool for my taste. The resort also offered scheduled transportation into the Old Town which was an added bonus. We were there for Carnival but missed the festivities on Tuesday in downtown Funchal. The resort did have entertainment come in for Carnival but again I did not see the entertainment as I was on my way to dinner that evening. All in all a fabulous stay. I don't usually take the time to rate my hotel stay but I wanted to comment on the exceptional service at this resort hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
Were glad to hear that, not only you enjoyed the room provided from us, as well as the whole holidays with us. We shall congratulate the ladies that so well, take care of our gardens as, once again it is commented. We hope you left with good memories from the Grand and look forward to welcome you again one day.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

727 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    446
    216
    45
    15
    5
See reviews for
139
420
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

We returned home yesterday having a spent a week at the Pestana Grand. We have not been disappointed, we have had a lovely relaxing week with fabulous weather and great views. the staff have been very attentive and the spa/sauna area is well worth time spent in there. We looked forward to happy hour and the daily cocktail, be careful however as during happy hour it is a buy one get one free this caught us out and we ended up with 4 gin and tonics, 2 cocktails and 2 beers for 4 people. But that was not really something to complain about.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion with us.
We hope you have returned home relaxed after your stay with us and look forward to provide you another holiday experience. You know that, happy hour will always be available at our bars.
With kind regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014 via mobile

We had read the reviews before we arrived and were expecting very high standards, we were not disappointed! From the moment we arrived we were very well looked after, once we booked in, after a small booking problem, we were personally shown to our room by the delightful Claudia and our bags arrived a few mins later; the room was on the fourth floor with a delightful sea view; the room was spacious and as previously mentioned had two single beds pushed together as a double, there was a well presented bathroom with shower over the bath and the usual hair dryer, toiletries and bathrobes, all immaculately clean and fresh! We had a small kitchenette with a two ring hob and sink unit and fridge, there were all the usual types of kitchen equipment and more, nothing was forgotten right down to dish cloth, scourer and tea towel...all very welcome!
We only booked breakfast and it was certainly plentiful, all well presented, the freshly cooked eggs and pancakes were an added bonus, we were escorted to our table every morning by Eduardo, who was so charming and polite, the staff who waited the tables were also very charming and efficient, a very well run restaurant, we didn't dine there in the evening as we like to sample different restaurants and there are a few really nice ones just outside the front of the hotel and a lovely fish restaurant down some steps towards the supermarket at the back of the hotel, all well recommended! We spoke to a few people who said the evening hotel buffets were excellent, you are spoilt for choice!
The hotel did have some entertainment in the evenings but we only managed to see one singer which created a very nice atmosphere, we did enjoy the early evening 'happy hour' where you have 2 for 1 drinks, you do have to have them both at the same time but we managed! We sat at the bar and were served by Ricardo who remembered your drinks and greeted you with a smile!
It is a fair walk to Funchal, we are quite quick walkers and it took is a good hour to get right into the town and a bit hilly in places but a pleasant walk along the promenade but this is not all the way into the town; the free bus is a welcome choice.
There is lovely outdoor pool but was too cold in February, so we chose the indoor pool which was lovely and warm, there is a steam room etc and a gym. The gardens are immaculate and beautifully landscaped, a pleasure to walk around.
The only negatives were the wifi, which is mentioned in other reviews, you would expect it to be in all the rooms but we understand this is being reviewed, also we missed the iron and ironing board in the room, just to run the iron over an outfit that has been squashed in the suitcase!
Two very minor negatives against many positives about this hotel and it's staff, it's a lovely hotel in a lovely spot with efficient staff and very well run, it you decide to book it, you won't be disappointed!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us.
After reading such a detailed review from all our facilities and services in our hotel, we are glad to know that all in all, you found a nice place to relax with people that will look after you.
I have shared your comments with Claudia, Eduardo and Ricardo and thank you in name of them, it is very important to us as employees to be recognized. We all hope to have the chance to welcome you back and provide you another great holiday experience.
With kind regards from us all.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weybridge, Surrey
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

In a world where it is easier to complain and be negative than compliment and be positive, we are great believers in giving credit where it is due.
From the moment we arrived until this moment, the stay has been extraordinary good. We were impressed by the genuine enthusiastic, charming, sincere attitude of all the staff and the phenomenal team spirit. Everyone is caring, smiling as if they enjoyed their work and couldn’t do enough for the guests. The service has been superb. There is a great buzz in the hotel. Be it a cleaner in the corridor or a member of staff passing by, everyone is smiling, always greeting you with the time of the day. It is a pleasure to be amongst so many enthusiastic, likeable individuals. We have always believed that it is the employees who make a company a success or not. The staff at The Pestana Grand are delightful. We believe give praise and credit where it is due. So much in this world is taken for granted.
The entertainment has been excellent. The shows were professionally presented and extremely enjoyable and entertaining. The quality of all the Restaurants and bars are superb as well as all the food and beverage. All the staff are first-rate. The cleaning staff are delightful. Maid service never get appreciated but the service has been outstanding. The weekly Programme sheets are informative as well as the Reception and Vacation Owners Club staff are extremely caring and helpful. To summarise, one can sense a phenomenal positive atmosphere, great team work, morale and attention to detail and that can only come from a strong and very capable management team. You will not be disappointed when you visit.

Room Tip: All the rooms we have seen are spacious and well appointed but I always leave my cases in the lobby...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback. We shall never forget one of your first sentences "In a world where it is easier to complain and be negative than compliment and be positive, we are great believers in giving credit where it is due".
We do our best everyday to make our guests feel, as if they were at home. Sometimes we are not suceeded, sometimes we fail but, many of those times we do provide a nice holiday experience to our guests, just being ourselves.
In the name of our management i can tell you that, the Grand gives great credit to their employees and try everytime to make them be recognized.
We hope to have the priviledge to welcome you back one day, until then we send our kindest regards.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Breakfast on the terrace is nice, with a wide, sweeping view of the sea. The room was bigger than average, the whole place was very clean, quiet and laid back. It's a half hour walk into Funchal but there is a half hour courtesy bus most days until 7pm and other bus stops close by. There's also a supermarket on the ground floor of the nearby Forum shopping centre.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your recent stay with us.
We were glad to know that the facilities and service provided from us, were up to your expectations and hope to see you again in a near future.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Just had two weeks at this hotel and it was one of the best experiences we have had.spacious clean and very helpful staff,rooms kept clean even a free bus into town. Well we have booked to go again,can we say more.

Room Tip: Try and get rooms above the first floor for a good sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We are happy to know that you had a great holiday experience and look forward for that coming day that you are revisiting us.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Couldn't recommend this hotel highly enough.
Fantastic position,with great sea views
Towards the western end of the town, but that makes it all the quieter - very peaceful and relaxing
Staff so helpful - nothing too much trouble - we were never afraid to ask
Excellent food in the restaurant - breakfast buffet was amazing. I don't eat meat but there was always plenty of choice for me at the evening buffet
Rooms very spacious, plenty of storage space and decent sized balcony

Overall a five star experience - you will not be disappointed !

Room Tip: Rooms at front are all sea view, but rooms at the side with partial sea views are still more than ad...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 16, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback.
Your comments about hotel structure, views and service provided are most well appreciated.
We shall share your comments between our staff and look forward to see you again one day.
Until there we send our kindest regards to you and your family.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to lti Pestana Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about lti Pestana Grand Hotel

Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#10 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#14 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — lti Pestana Grand Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your lti Pestana Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Lti Pestana Grand Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage lti Pestana Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.