We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location,friendly staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lti Pestana Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lti Pestana Grand to your Saves list
Lti Pestana Grand
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great hotel and location,friendly staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Just returned from a great week staying at Pestana Grand Hotel November 5th 2013. Beautiful views and sunsets. Staff all speak English extremely well, they even get our sense of humour. All seem pleased to see you each day. Very peaceful, large pool area all extremely clean. Large bedrooms and bathroom. Food very good with great selection. Also very nice Restaurants nearby, My Way was especially good. Booked Land Rover Safari with Mountain Expedition our driver/guide was called Osvaldo, he was brilliant, a mine of information about everything to do with Madeira and good fun.

Room Tip: We had a 2nd floor classic side sea view room which was very quiet even with air conditioning on. Fu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for joining us.
We are happy to know that we were up to your expectations and you had an excelent time with us. The Grand is located in a priviledge location with nice views indeed. Your comments are much appreciated and will be share with the team.
Madeira is a piece of heaven and Mr. Osvaldo shared he's knowledge abou it.
We hope you had a safe flight back and look forward to welcome you again.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    677
    275
    64
    16
    4
See reviews for
209
629
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (361)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
East Midlands
Level Contributor
58 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is our third trip to Funchal but our first staying here (although our Parents have used it many times). The hotel really is great, exceptionally clean, friendly and helpful staff for which nothing was too much trouble. We asked for the coffee cups to be changed in our room (as they were very small), within minutes we had a set of mugs! Towels, bedding and pool towels changed when requested, great facilities - outdoor pool is salt water and not heated so be prepared for shock on entering, but the indoor pool is heated. Great games room for kids and adults. Buffet breakfast was exceptional with everything you could wish for, inlcuding a chef cooking eggs to order (his pancakes are brilliant).

One gripe, which keeps coming up in reviews for this hotel is the cost of meals in the restaurant. We dined out in many of the local restaurants every night and didn't use the hotel once, who is going to pay on avregae double what you can pay across the road. This is a shame as it means the hotel lacks some atmosphere at night.

The hotel is a little way out of Funchal which makes for a very quiet location (and great sleep), it's a nice 45 minute stroll to either Funchal or Camre de Lobos, but the hotel also runs regular courtesy buses so no issues.

Well done, we'll be back soon.

Room Tip: Go for the fourth floor, get a view above the palm trees, we had 1403 looking towards funchal and 14...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel to spend your holidays.
We are happy to know that the service and attitude from our staff was up to your expectations. We do try our very best to stand in customer service. Our outdoor pool is filled with salt water but not heated, the indoor is instead.
We would like to thank you for the feedback regarding our evening meals, we are working on these for a few time. We had reduced our meal prices but it is very hard to compete with outside restaurants being a 5* hotel. We have plans to improve our evening entertainment in order to provide a better atmosphere to our guests.
Last but not least, we were happy to read that we will be welcoming you again.

Kind regards to you and your family

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

A fantastic hotel that looks better than any photo here does justice. The place was immaculate, service excellent and staff amenable and motivated to help. Nothing was any trouble, staff were friendly with some great advice and prompts to make the stay more interesting and easier ways to navigate the island. The location was perfect for watching the sun rise and the sun set from one location. Pools inside and out did not have even one bug in them. The gardens are stunning (especially the hotel's tropical garden near the tea-house on site). A coach was laid on to take customers into town and back again in comfort at regular intervals each day, tourist info from staff helps with with ideas and logistics. I have been lucky enough to stay at the very best hotels in the UK and this reaches the standard set by any of them. Haven't even begun to say that there is a spa and games room, library and a choice of restaurants within the hotel too. Wonderful!

Room Tip: We had a family room with a great vantage point to look out over the main pools and to sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us! After reading your review we were more than happy about the way you saw our hotel and enjoyed a relaxed holiday. The compliments about our staff are motive of proud and this is what drive us. After saying this we only hope that you find well and look forward for a future visit to our beautiful Madeira, if possible, to the lti Pestana Grand.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

This has to be one of the best places to stay here in Funchal. Located on the edges of the Atlantic Ocean this hotel offers breathtaking Ocean views. The staff are helpful and very respectful. If you want a peaceful location with great views this is the place to be.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting us. In a short sentence you have described our aim as hotel and service.
This is the kind of impact we wanna make between our guests. We sincerely hope that you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you back.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at Pestana Grand last month.Room was fantastic, wonderful view.Appreciated free coach shuttle into Funchal.Staff friendly. Couple of good local restaurants nearby - hotel prices high.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for trusting your luck on us.
We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your time with us and look forward for a future visit.
The meals and prices provided in Pestana Grand are updated whenever is possible, our aim is to provide the best value for money in a 5* hotel.

With kind regards from us

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

It was our 30th wedding anniversary so we were upgraded to a sea view,nice large room.breakfast was enough to set you up for the day with plenty of choice hot & cold,Francesca kept everyone in good mood singing & making jokes as passed each table ,the travel rep came to the hotel to book day trips,but after we came across a Pestana rep who gave a better deal ,Miquel on customer service was very helpful with internet conection,a very relaxing area next to the sea view prominard

Room Tip: make sure you book a room with sea view or side sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to upgrade your room in order to provide an unforgetable wedding anniversary. We shall pass the message to Francisco in the restaurant. Reagrding your last comment, nothing gave me more pleasure to thank you here for your compliment and sincerely wait to welcome you back.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

A great place for a relaxing holiday. Bedrooms are spacious and well laid out with excellent bathrooms. The public areas are plentiful and well furnished. Pools are lovely with plenty of sunbeds available. The restaurant did get crowded at times, but the food (particularly breakfast) was very good. Would recommend the Moroccan restaurant for a treat one evening. We also used the spa for a couple of treatments - all excellent. The service delivered was first class in all areas. We would hope to return one day and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Once again, we would like to express our satisfaction in welcoming you and specially, to read that our facilities and services did meet your expectations. In my opinion, Au Tagine, our morrocan restaurant, is one of the most romantic restaurant in Funchal with excellent food provide from our morrocan Chef Mohammed Al Aagad. We hope to see you again one day, until there we remain with our kindest regards.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lti Pestana Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lti Pestana Grand

Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#8 Family Hotel in Funchal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Lti Pestana Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Lti Pestana Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Lti Pestana Grand Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lti Pestana Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.