We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No quibbles here, we'll be back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lti Pestana Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Lti Pestana Grand to your Saves list
Lti Pestana Grand
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
East Midlands
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“No quibbles here, we'll be back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This is our third trip to Funchal but our first staying here (although our Parents have used it many times). The hotel really is great, exceptionally clean, friendly and helpful staff for which nothing was too much trouble. We asked for the coffee cups to be changed in our room (as they were very small), within minutes we had a set of mugs! Towels, bedding and pool towels changed when requested, great facilities - outdoor pool is salt water and not heated so be prepared for shock on entering, but the indoor pool is heated. Great games room for kids and adults. Buffet breakfast was exceptional with everything you could wish for, inlcuding a chef cooking eggs to order (his pancakes are brilliant).

One gripe, which keeps coming up in reviews for this hotel is the cost of meals in the restaurant. We dined out in many of the local restaurants every night and didn't use the hotel once, who is going to pay on avregae double what you can pay across the road. This is a shame as it means the hotel lacks some atmosphere at night.

The hotel is a little way out of Funchal which makes for a very quiet location (and great sleep), it's a nice 45 minute stroll to either Funchal or Camre de Lobos, but the hotel also runs regular courtesy buses so no issues.

Well done, we'll be back soon.

Room Tip: Go for the fourth floor, get a view above the palm trees, we had 1403 looking towards funchal and 14...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel to spend your holidays.
We are happy to know that the service and attitude from our staff was up to your expectations. We do try our very best to stand in customer service. Our outdoor pool is filled with salt water but not heated, the indoor is instead.
We would like to thank you for the feedback regarding our evening meals, we are working on these for a few time. We had reduced our meal prices but it is very hard to compete with outside restaurants being a 5* hotel. We have plans to improve our evening entertainment in order to provide a better atmosphere to our guests.
Last but not least, we were happy to read that we will be welcoming you again.

Kind regards to you and your family

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    245
    57
    16
    4
See reviews for
176
502
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lowestoft, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

A fantastic hotel that looks better than any photo here does justice. The place was immaculate, service excellent and staff amenable and motivated to help. Nothing was any trouble, staff were friendly with some great advice and prompts to make the stay more interesting and easier ways to navigate the island. The location was perfect for watching the sun rise and the sun set from one location. Pools inside and out did not have even one bug in them. The gardens are stunning (especially the hotel's tropical garden near the tea-house on site). A coach was laid on to take customers into town and back again in comfort at regular intervals each day, tourist info from staff helps with with ideas and logistics. I have been lucky enough to stay at the very best hotels in the UK and this reaches the standard set by any of them. Haven't even begun to say that there is a spa and games room, library and a choice of restaurants within the hotel too. Wonderful!

Room Tip: We had a family room with a great vantage point to look out over the main pools and to sea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us! After reading your review we were more than happy about the way you saw our hotel and enjoyed a relaxed holiday. The compliments about our staff are motive of proud and this is what drive us. After saying this we only hope that you find well and look forward for a future visit to our beautiful Madeira, if possible, to the lti Pestana Grand.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

This has to be one of the best places to stay here in Funchal. Located on the edges of the Atlantic Ocean this hotel offers breathtaking Ocean views. The staff are helpful and very respectful. If you want a peaceful location with great views this is the place to be.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for visiting us. In a short sentence you have described our aim as hotel and service.
This is the kind of impact we wanna make between our guests. We sincerely hope that you have enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcome you back.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at Pestana Grand last month.Room was fantastic, wonderful view.Appreciated free coach shuttle into Funchal.Staff friendly. Couple of good local restaurants nearby - hotel prices high.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for trusting your luck on us.
We are glad to know that you have enjoyed your time with us and look forward for a future visit.
The meals and prices provided in Pestana Grand are updated whenever is possible, our aim is to provide the best value for money in a 5* hotel.

With kind regards from us

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

It was our 30th wedding anniversary so we were upgraded to a sea view,nice large room.breakfast was enough to set you up for the day with plenty of choice hot & cold,Francesca kept everyone in good mood singing & making jokes as passed each table ,the travel rep came to the hotel to book day trips,but after we came across a Pestana rep who gave a better deal ,Miquel on customer service was very helpful with internet conection,a very relaxing area next to the sea view prominard

Room Tip: make sure you book a room with sea view or side sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was a pleasure to upgrade your room in order to provide an unforgetable wedding anniversary. We shall pass the message to Francisco in the restaurant. Reagrding your last comment, nothing gave me more pleasure to thank you here for your compliment and sincerely wait to welcome you back.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

A great place for a relaxing holiday. Bedrooms are spacious and well laid out with excellent bathrooms. The public areas are plentiful and well furnished. Pools are lovely with plenty of sunbeds available. The restaurant did get crowded at times, but the food (particularly breakfast) was very good. Would recommend the Moroccan restaurant for a treat one evening. We also used the spa for a couple of treatments - all excellent. The service delivered was first class in all areas. We would hope to return one day and would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Once again, we would like to express our satisfaction in welcoming you and specially, to read that our facilities and services did meet your expectations. In my opinion, Au Tagine, our morrocan restaurant, is one of the most romantic restaurant in Funchal with excellent food provide from our morrocan Chef Mohammed Al Aagad. We hope to see you again one day, until there we remain with our kindest regards.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Braintree, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Bedrooms very spacious and well furnished. Good choice at breakfast and restaurant area was never crowded. Very nice pool area. Usually visited pool area in the afternoon and although busy, we were always able to get sunbeds; pool attendant was especially helpful. Staff very nice, although staff on pool bar/restaurant did not appear as friendly as the other staff. The only restaurant we ate in in the hotel was the Italian restaurant, which we felt was only average and over priced. The hotel is very quietly situated out of the main Funchal area, but it was walkable into the centre. Overall a nice stay.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for visiting us.
We were happy to know that overall, you did have a relaxed holiday with us.
We regret to hear your comment about our pool bar attitude and send you our sincere apologies, please be sure that these comments are shared with our departments.
We also regret that the experience at Trattoria de la Fontana, our italian restaurant was not to your expectations and will take good note of your comment.
Saying this, we hope you had a safe flight back home and hope that you revisit this beautiful Madeira Island.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lti Pestana Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lti Pestana Grand

Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#9 Family Hotel in Funchal
#12 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#16 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Lti Pestana Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lti Pestana Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Lti Pestana Grand Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lti Pestana Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.