We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but definitely not a 5*” 4 of 5 stars
Review of lti Pestana Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added lti Pestana Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
lti Pestana Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good hotel but definitely not a 5*”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed in the Pestana Grand Hotel for one week with my parents and my younger brother. The hotel is only a few kilometres away from Funchal, which takes you 10 minutes with the bus ( which is free and offered from the hotel)! The pool area is very big, clean and nice.
Our rooms very also clean and not too small. One exception was the shower curtain, that was dirty and moldy.
The service however was not good but the servants were friendly...
The breakfast was very nice (fruits, cereals, cheese, big choice of bread, ham, bacon and eggs, sausages, champagne, croissants, different juices (but they were bad) ) BUT one big problem was the dinner which was really not a 5* dinner, not even a 4* one.

Room Tip: you absolutely have to take a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

705 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    432
    210
    44
    15
    4
See reviews for
139
420
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed there last year and I'm going back this year. The two weeks were so relaxing, that I read six books, swam and slept my way to total relaxation.
The apartments are lovely and so quiet. There is no late night noise, so if that is what you are in to, don't bother. This is a place to seriously chill. There is a supermarket near by, where you can stock up on the usual items and lots of unusual ones. There are also a number of restaurants in walking distance, ranging from fairly cheap to fairly pricey, but mostly excellent quality. I only ate once at the hotel and that was my only disappointment as the chef is very heavy handed with the salt and the waiter just smiled and agreed, when I made comment. But to be honest, there is so much more to the place than this!!
The pool bar is great, well stocked and does really good meals in the day. Lots of space, poolside and a lovely big salt water pool where you can have a really good swim and not just a splash about. I cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Center Valley, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great hotel, balconies with gorgeous sea view, gorgeous clean pool, beautiful flower filled grounds. Coastal walking path alongside the hotel to local shopping, eating and sea views. Delicious morning breakfast buffet, eating in or outdoors. Local entertainment of folklore dancing, singing and Coimbra University Fados, excellent! Walking distance to local mall, free nearby bus to center city Funchal
Service excellent, rooms clean and roomy. No complaints, had a wonderful four days touring Madeira...BEAUTIFUL!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

1st time in Madeira and this hotel is situated just a walk away from all the amenities free bus to local town,pool very clean and staff very polite and will be coming again to this hotel.The area is very clean and was quiet were it is located.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Spent a week here in July. it's a nice hotel and one of the things I like the best is how nice everyone is. We met lots of nice people. Marion in Guest Relations is a wonderful resource for booking tours. it is quite a bit outside of downtown Funchal, but it is right across the street from the Forum, a multi-story mall with a very good supermarket. The only downside for us is that the outdoor pool is quite cool - virtually no one swims in it. It is offset by a warmer indoor pool with nearby sauna and Turkish steam room, all very nice. Oh, and very few of the rooms overlook the ocean, which seems odd to me.

We took the 45-minute coast walk twice to the fishing village of Camara de Lobos, We were in Madeira for two weeks and spent the first week at Pestana Grand and the second in an apartment in downtown Funchal and that worked well for us.

Room Tip: Clearly, an ocean view room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Situated on the outskirts of West Funchal, but still within walking distance of various amenities including restuarants. Its on the coast but as Madeira is a rocky island its a bit of the a walk to the nearest beach. The view out to the sea wonderful. The hotel is well maintained and the rooms are more spacious than I expected, there is a safe and a fridge which is useful for stocking up drinks or fruit.The pool is ok but not for serious swimmers, it was extremely salty! The staff were very friendly and helpful especially in the restaurant area. Breakfast was very good, lots of variety. We stayed as half board so evening meals were included which meant buffets every day! I was happy with this arrangement at booking as i thought there were a couple of A La Carte restaurants on site. However, they were not open every day and even then the menu options were not great and they were pretty expensive. The buffet meals became rather repetitive! There is a strict dress code for evening meals so no shorts for men of any sort! Evening entertainment by local talent was provided but don't hold your breath. Free wifi in reception area which is always welcome. A courtesy bus is available at set time to take you down to the harbor area. Overall I would recommend this hotel, I certainly have good memories.

Room Tip: ask for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Invited by my friend I was fortunate to stay in one of the owners appartments. We were met at the airport by the taxi organised by the hotel. Received a warm friendly greeting by all the staff on arrival. Greeted in the appartment by a beautiful flower arrangement, basket of fruit and bottle of wine. With its private access in the hotel grounds the appartment is modern, large, spacious, light and airy, has its own private pool in a beautifully kept garden, daily maid service and stunning views to wake up to it was absolutely stunning in every way.
The hotel facilities are excellent too, the Spa facilities are wonderfully relaxing.
I had the loveliest holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to lti Pestana Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about lti Pestana Grand Hotel

Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#10 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#14 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — lti Pestana Grand Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your lti Pestana Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Lti Pestana Grand Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage lti Pestana Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.