We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill out time!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lti Pestana Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Lti Pestana Grand to your Saves list
Lti Pestana Grand
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Chill out time!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

I stayed there last year and I'm going back this year. The two weeks were so relaxing, that I read six books, swam and slept my way to total relaxation.
The apartments are lovely and so quiet. There is no late night noise, so if that is what you are in to, don't bother. This is a place to seriously chill. There is a supermarket near by, where you can stock up on the usual items and lots of unusual ones. There are also a number of restaurants in walking distance, ranging from fairly cheap to fairly pricey, but mostly excellent quality. I only ate once at the hotel and that was my only disappointment as the chef is very heavy handed with the salt and the waiter just smiled and agreed, when I made comment. But to be honest, there is so much more to the place than this!!
The pool bar is great, well stocked and does really good meals in the day. Lots of space, poolside and a lovely big salt water pool where you can have a really good swim and not just a splash about. I cant wait to go back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, February 11, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We're glad to know that, you had a nice experience with us and hope you take home memorable moments to last for life.
With kind regards to you and your family and wishes of welcoming you back.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    671
    273
    64
    16
    4
See reviews for
208
622
18
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Center Valley, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Great hotel, balconies with gorgeous sea view, gorgeous clean pool, beautiful flower filled grounds. Coastal walking path alongside the hotel to local shopping, eating and sea views. Delicious morning breakfast buffet, eating in or outdoors. Local entertainment of folklore dancing, singing and Coimbra University Fados, excellent! Walking distance to local mall, free nearby bus to center city Funchal
Service excellent, rooms clean and roomy. No complaints, had a wonderful four days touring Madeira...BEAUTIFUL!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, February 18, 2015
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for choosing us.
With was a personal pleasure of ours to be part and provide a memorable holiday for you.
We hope you have taken good memories back home and hope to see you again in the future.

With kind regards

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

1st time in Madeira and this hotel is situated just a walk away from all the amenities free bus to local town,pool very clean and staff very polite and will be coming again to this hotel.The area is very clean and was quiet were it is located.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, February 24, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Pestana Grand Hotel for your holidays in Madeira.
Were glad that the facilities and services provided from us, were up to your expectations and you have had a relaxing time with us.
With kind regards from sunny Madeira.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Spent a week here in July. it's a nice hotel and one of the things I like the best is how nice everyone is. We met lots of nice people. Marion in Guest Relations is a wonderful resource for booking tours. it is quite a bit outside of downtown Funchal, but it is right across the street from the Forum, a multi-story mall with a very good supermarket. The only downside for us is that the outdoor pool is quite cool - virtually no one swims in it. It is offset by a warmer indoor pool with nearby sauna and Turkish steam room, all very nice. Oh, and very few of the rooms overlook the ocean, which seems odd to me.

We took the 45-minute coast walk twice to the fishing village of Camara de Lobos, We were in Madeira for two weeks and spent the first week at Pestana Grand and the second in an apartment in downtown Funchal and that worked well for us.

Room Tip: Clearly, an ocean view room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Situated on the outskirts of West Funchal, but still within walking distance of various amenities including restuarants. Its on the coast but as Madeira is a rocky island its a bit of the a walk to the nearest beach. The view out to the sea wonderful. The hotel is well maintained and the rooms are more spacious than I expected, there is a safe and a fridge which is useful for stocking up drinks or fruit.The pool is ok but not for serious swimmers, it was extremely salty! The staff were very friendly and helpful especially in the restaurant area. Breakfast was very good, lots of variety. We stayed as half board so evening meals were included which meant buffets every day! I was happy with this arrangement at booking as i thought there were a couple of A La Carte restaurants on site. However, they were not open every day and even then the menu options were not great and they were pretty expensive. The buffet meals became rather repetitive! There is a strict dress code for evening meals so no shorts for men of any sort! Evening entertainment by local talent was provided but don't hold your breath. Free wifi in reception area which is always welcome. A courtesy bus is available at set time to take you down to the harbor area. Overall I would recommend this hotel, I certainly have good memories.

Room Tip: ask for seaview
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, March 3, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing us.
We really hope you have had a great time with us and hope to see you again in the future.
With kind regards from all of us.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wadebridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Invited by my friend I was fortunate to stay in one of the owners appartments. We were met at the airport by the taxi organised by the hotel. Received a warm friendly greeting by all the staff on arrival. Greeted in the appartment by a beautiful flower arrangement, basket of fruit and bottle of wine. With its private access in the hotel grounds the appartment is modern, large, spacious, light and airy, has its own private pool in a beautifully kept garden, daily maid service and stunning views to wake up to it was absolutely stunning in every way.
The hotel facilities are excellent too, the Spa facilities are wonderfully relaxing.
I had the loveliest holiday.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, February 11, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us.
We're glad to know that, you had a nice experience with us and hope you take home memorable moments to last for life.
With kind regards to you and your family and wishes of welcoming you back.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

Very pleased with our stay at the hotel. They could do with more staff by the pool bar as service was sometimes slow, but all staff are very helpful. The hotel is a fair distance outside Funchal. It is very walkable, but a free courtesy bus is offered and this runs quite regularly. Lots of good places to eat locally. Hotel pool was also good

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PestanaGrand, Guest Relations Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, February 24, 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing the Pestana Grand Hotel for your holidays in Madeira.
Were glad that the facilities and services provided from us, were up to your expectations and you have had a relaxing time with us.
With kind regards.

Miguel Grosse
lti Concierge/Guest Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lti Pestana Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lti Pestana Grand

Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Lti Pestana Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Lti Pestana Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Lti Pestana Grand Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lti Pestana Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.