We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect, for us!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lti Pestana Grand

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lti Pestana Grand to your Saves list
Lti Pestana Grand
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
London, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Perfect, for us!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

The Pestana Grand could be your perfect destination depending on what you want out of your holiday. It was certainly perfect for us.

We wanted a quiet holiday to empty our head from work with nice surroundings and good weather and that's what we got. We stayed half board as it was the same price as B&B with Thompson and upgraded to a sea view room, a must.

I always hate the food in hotels with the exception of the Pestana Grand it was really very good. I think their evening buffet was good because they were catering for smaller numbers of people so the quality didn't suffer. The breakfast is very good and the prices in the bar are very reasonable, especially in happy hour.

The location is very quiet, about a 50 minute walk to Funchal which was a good way of walking off breakfast. We didn't use the free shuttle bus. It's also about an hour to Camara Da Lobos which is a lovely walk along the sea front. Tip: if you turn right at the yacht bar and walk along the road behind it and then take the first left, it saves you walking along the rocky beach.

We weren't impressed with the local restaurants near the hotel, the food is ok but nothing to write home about. The best restaurant we visited was the Taberna Da Esquina, the beef skewers were to die for, I also had the goat stew which was lovely.

All in all, if you want a lively hotel with lots of atmosphere, this is not the place for you. If, like us, you want a relaxing time in lovely surroundings with great views and wonderful staff the this is the place to go.

Room Tip: Choose a sea view, it really doesn't cost much extra and is worth it. Also we asked for a double...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, General Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much indeed for your glowing review for the Pestana Grand Hotel on the TripAdvisor!
We are absolutely delighted that you chose our hotel for your trip to Madeira and even more so to hear that we met your expectations and that your holiday was such a success.
Thank you very much for your very positive comments. The fact you have enjoyed your stay with us and took the time to give us your feedback is the best award we can get and that’s what makes work even harder to meet all our guests’ expectations! Thank you!
I look forward to your next visit, where you may rest assured no efforts will be spared to make your next stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.

With every good wish
Maria da Paz Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    245
    57
    16
    4
See reviews for
176
502
13
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Fantastic hotel. Really good location. There are some fab restaurants very close by and the free shuttle bus is very regular into Funchal so you can dine further afield.

Breakfast buffet is varied and really good.... The omelette station especially!

We paid for an upgrade to a double room with a sea view which was well worth the extra money! The double bed was 2 large singles pushed together and made up singly... Which was ok but not perfect.

The pools were fantastic (the salt water pool was a particular favourite of ours) and the pool side bar was spot on for a bite for lunch.

Hotel staff were pleasant and friendly and the Thompson reps were very helpful (i definitely recommend the resort ramble!)

We loved this hotel so much we have booked to go back next June for our honeymoon!

A beautiful quiet, well placed hotel... Counting the days until we head back!

Room Tip: Spend a bit more and go for a sea view double room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, General Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for writing such a glowing and fantastic review.
I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.
There is no greater compliment than to hear you would like to return and experience another great time with us for a couple of days.
We are all very great full for the good compliments you left and I look very much forward to welcome you on your honeymoon next June 2014,

Best Wishes
Maria da Paz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Sussex
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Recently returned from The Pestana Grand. Two weeks of relaxation, in a lovely clean, friendly and efficiently run hotel. It was our Ruby Wedding anniversary and we had a lovely room with a side view of the sea and gardens. A bottle of bubbly came to the room too which was a pleasant surprise!
Room was spotlessly clean and serviced daily - beds turned down each night and a complimentary chocolate on the pilow! Outdoors the pool areas and gardens are spectacular. Plenty of loungers and you can choose to sit in the gardens or around the pool. Admittedly we stayed out of school holidays, so possibly the availability of loungers may be shorter in peak holiday time.
This is an ideal hotel for couples or families with younger children.Teenagers may find it too quiet as there is not a lot for them and its quite a way from Funchal itself. There is a courtesy bus which regularly goes to and from Funchal (about 15 mins away) which was very useful.
Taxis are always available and reasonably priced, the drivers we encountered all very polite and helpful. At the moment there is a lot of work going on in Funchal along the seafront, so its not so pretty as it could be!
We were on a bed and breakfast basis so only ate at the hotel a few times. On each occasion the food was buffet style and on the whole good with plenty of choice. They do a different theme each night. We ate at Real Canoa and My Way - very near the hotel. Our favourite was My Way, genial host and excellent food although quite a limited menu. The fillet steak is wonderful!
All staff were friendly and helpful and I wouldn't hesitate to return one day

Room Tip: Pay that bit extra for a side view of the sea and garden, south side is quiet too. A lot of the stan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your review. The Team are always delighted to read such kind feedback and I am very lucky to work with them. As a Pestana hotel we strive to make sure people feel at home here and so there is no greater compliment. In particular our housekeeping team will be so pleased to hear your feedback

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future,

With every good wish
Maria da Paz Garcia
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Pestana Grand Hotel

Two big pools. Plenty of room for swimmers. Most people here just bake!

Plenty of lounge chairs—Expensive plastic type. Problem is they don’t go down flat for lying on your belly and they don’t go up far enough for comfortable reading. I prefer the cheaper more adjustable sun beds. No need to save a bed at 7 AM. Plenty of chairs and a higher class of people!

Buffet 28 Euros. Worth it

10 Euros to town by taxi. But free shuttle bus from the hotel to town about every hour.

All of our vacations are working vacations where we cut our normal 12 hour days in half and spend some time reading in the sun.

Fine room, small TV—16 inches I would guess. Housekeeping was efficient—as were all hotel personnel. Front desk people knowledgeable and helpful. Carmenina (?) the major front desk person was very helpful—more than I would ever expect. No wonder she is the employee of the year! (Guests vote on this.) I liked Francisco, the waiter. He was singing most of the time. And the breakfast egg chef was great and efficient. Can’t say the same for his replacements on his day off.

Entertainment is a nightly singer with a guitar or piano. Pleasant.

The travel agent told us they had WIFI—which is absolutely essential for our business. It was not available in the rooms but was available in the common areas. However it was incredibly slow—taking 3 to 10 minutes to lead, often not loading at all. I have used internet for 30 years. The internet here is the worst I have ever seen. In addition you must get a new password and user name at the front desk every day.

I won’t be back until there is free high speed WIFI in the room. I can’t understand why so many hotels charge extra for it. Add a few Euros to the room price. Everyone today has computers, tablets or smart phones. For me free high speed WIFI is more important than a lavish breakfast. We will never again book a hotel without free high speed WIFI in the room.

It is a five star hotel with a 4 star breakfast (no skim milk, no 0% fat yogurt, canned juices, and few—but tasteless—pastries. WIFI, as mentioned, is 1 star at best.

Room Tip: Ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review after your most recent stay.
Your compliments about the service we provided to you, specially the fact you mentioned Carmina, Francisco and Silvino, were highly appreciated! Your comment was the best award they could get!!!
Thank you too for the giving us your opinion about improvements to be made. You can be sure that we took good note of it and that our IT Department is also informed.

We are keeping our fingers crossed for a second visit and we look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future

With every good wish,
Maria da Paz Garcia
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

THIS IS THE FIRST REVIEW I HAVE EVER WRITTEN, however over the years I have been a huge user of Trip Advisor for reading reviews. So, I wanted to give something back and help the right type of holiday makers choose this hotel at the right time of year. I will discuss the pool and grounds, location, facilities, entertainment, weather, what to do on the island and fab restaurants locally to try:

WE WERE THERE FOR THE 1ST TWO WEEKS OF JULY: You may not realise that the continental kids break up from school mid June and don't go back until mid Sept, so this makes a huge difference to your stay at this hotel - with or without kids - quiet or busy and noisy...

OUR FAMILY OWNS A TIMESHARE AT PESTANA GRAND (2 weeks in a Studio Apartment and we have been going every year for 9 years and a lot has changed. Sadly, quite a lot for the worse but also some important things for the better. That is why I have still rated the hotel as 'very good' but I would love in future to be able to say it is 'excellent'.

THE MAIN REASON THE HOTEL IS NOW FALLING DOWN is by trying to please all the people all the time - in turn this is actually disappointing, annoying or frustrating probably nearly everyone in some way most of the time. It used to be a quality, calm and relaxing place to be, now it is attracting huge numbers of package holiday makers who are possibly not realising the type of hotel it is. I will explain, as this hotel is not for everyone all year round...

I think in order for the hotel to get a 5 star status it has packed in every facility in some way even if in a token manner. Years ago this was ok as the hotel marketed itself to middle aged couples upwards who wanted a prestigious and relaxing holiday experience. Now the hotel is marketing itself to every kind of holiday maker and when everyone comes together at the same time it is not working (in my opinion and from my observation)...

By attracting the more mature holiday maker to middled aged couples, families and now even young couples and young friends travelling together harmony is not being achieved.

The hotel does not have either the space outside or sufficient facilities or entertainment/inside to keep all these holiday types happy together and actually achieving the type of holiday each were expecting all at the same time.

Personally, I would say the hotel is perfect for couples in their 30s up to the more mature traveller who wants a relaxing time during the day by the pool or who want to mix sightseeing with walking and exporling with time by the pool. Or, young couples who want to relax and explore the beautiful island but who realise the entertainment in the evening is rather low key and more relevant to the more mature holiday maker. However, not just this type of holiday maker is at the Pestana Grand now. Everyone is thrown together...

There is no lively pool bar serving cocktails and playing current pop music in the evenings. The hotel will say they cannot do this as it will annoy the more mature guest. It is all so difficult trying to appeal to all.

WE SPOKE WITH TWO LADS (20's) IN THE LIFT WHO COULD NOT WAIT TO GO HOME! They were not in the correct hotel with the correct ambience or facilitis or even on the correct island.

Before I go further, I love children however, in my opinion, this hotel is NOT suitable for families with young children to teenagers as they quickly get bored out of thier minds and start behaving very badly. There is no organised entertainment for them and parents need to understand that they have 100% responsibility for their supervision 100% of the time.

The children behaving badly is not the children's fault but it is the fault of the parents who have booked the wrong hotel and seem to believe they do not have any responsibility to supervies their children at all during their time around the outside and indoor pool.

The area around the pool is very cramped (sunbeds extremely close together for comfort in most places). Plus the room between pool and sunlounger is less than 1m in most places. There really is not enough space for kids to run around. There is a grass area up one end that has a small set of swings and climbing frame but just moments away is the gazeebo where people go to get an alfresco massage. The two do not really go together!

Sorry to French families and all other nationalities that have well behaved children but not only this year but last year too, the behaviour of the French children (then copied by the British and Portuguese) has been appalying.

This year we had 2 French boys and on British (about 9 to 11 years old) throwing pebbles (taken from flower pots) at the glass screen between the pool area and promenade, plus they were attracting lizards into finished Calipso ice pot tubes in order to catch them and rip their tails off! According to the children (who I asked what on earth they were doing) this was ok because lizard's grown their tails back!!!! (A true fact but hardly the point). These same children and others also took over the spa pool which is supposed to be a relaxing place and turned it into a nightmare.

There is a games room with table tennis table and table football (accessed from the pool terrace). There is also a pool table near the Spa but you have to pay.

NOW ONTO MORE POSITIVE THINGS: The hotel due to now having a large number of package holiday guests have improved the nightly entertainment (thank goodness - yipee - at last!!!). This is still rather cringy on occasions, rather dated and not really suitable for the teenagers to mid 40's ish (we are 46 years old and love our music).

However, a big well done to Miguel Pirez who really tries hard to play/sing some current, popular music alongside old classics. He is very tallented and a breath of fresh air. Don't miss him as he is only on once or twice per week. The only night we ever saw or were encouraged ourselves to get up and dance.

Another big improvement is there is now two 'happy hours' (longer than 1hr each) before and after dinner time which has enouraged people into the bar and has created a bit of holiday atmosphere - at last!! However, be warned, you have to ideally like the same drink as whoever you are travelling with as you get two drinks for the price of one and not discounted prices (ideally a couple both need to like G&Ts or rum and coke etc.). There is only one cocktail per evening that is reduced in price also (and you only get 1). You have to actually like that cocktail which never happend for me sadly (just happened to not be my favourites which was a shame but not the end of the world).

THE PROMENADE AND LOCATION of the hotel is what makes it special for us. You are immediately onto the promenade and approx. 4km walk into Funchal or less to walk to all the restaurants along the way or turn the other way and approximately the same distance again to walk to a small fishing village. We loved our power walks every morning before breakfast.

There is a supermarket just along the promenade which is helpful but I don't think the hotel guests get a kitchen as the owners do.

SUPERB RESTAURANTS TO TRY & ONE THAT MAYBE NEEDS ANOTHER CHANCE (all are on Trip Advisor):

Barqueiro fish restaurant: Just moment away (turning right out of the hotel onto the promenade) next the the Italian, supermarket and Mexican. It looks expensive but the portions are massive so share and you will still be completely full of the most superbly cooked fish and vast array of local vegetable, potato and rice dishes that accompany the meal. You get two dishes turn up (complimentary) - garlic bread and fish croquet potatoes before you even eat a starter!

The small chinese restaurant over the road: from the main, front entrance of the hotel (turn right out of the hotel). It is on the corner. A young Chinese family own this little restaurant and it is authentic, all freshly prepared and cooked (one chef and one wok) so you have to be patient and accept that food comes out of the kitchen as it is cooked. Wonderful duck in all forms and if you are adventurous, try the seaweed as it is not fried cabbage but proper seaweed with onions. Any of his duck or prawn dishes are divine. Well everything he cooks is delicious!

A Bica - in Funchal (tiny entrance - just a door that leads down to a basement restaurant) opposite the loading bays for the flower and fish market in downtown Funchal. Look it up on Trip Advisor, it is amazing. Our tip is to go lunchtime as they have menu of the day and fresh fish and meat dishes (all local and prepared with love). Get there early as people have to wait for a table, it is so that popular. A lot of locals eat here and the waiters speak nearly every language going fluently for the tourists. A real find!

Indian House - in Funchal - probably the most authentic and best Indian meal we have ever eaten anywhere in the world. The service and quality of food is incredible. It deserves to be No1 on Trip Advisor. It takes a little finding but get the address and get a map and go - you won't be disappointed.

Sushi restaurant - on the top road between the Pestana Grand and Funchal centre. It is in the parade of restaurants on the first floor in the complex of the old Lido 1930 hotel. You pay a set rate and they keep bringing lovely fresh food until you are full. Just pay for your drinks on top. Really good value and good quality. The bumplings are to dies for as is the glazed chicken to go alongside your sushi. The tempura is good too.

The steak house and sea basket - at the end of the promenade, above the supermarket Pingo Doce (turn left out of the hotel and walk until you have to go up hill to join the road when the prom runs out). You will see the restaurant above the supermarket. We felt the decor beautiful and immaculate and the food presented with a bit of style over substance but the home-made chocolate mouse was wonderful. We had the mixed fish and were convinced it as frozen and we asked for it lightly cooked and it was still a little dry (in our opinion). Maybe, the meat on the stone/steak is better.

DINING AND DRINKING AT THE HOTEL: It is not cheap! Cannot comment on the food as we have never eaten in (always go out to eat and prepare our own breakfast and lunch) but unless you hit the 'happy hours' the prices of drinks are a little crazy.

WIFI is free in the communal areas. Use of the internet is not cheap to hotel guests but free to owners in the owners lounge.

WHAT TO DO ON THE ISLAND: Do everything! Hire a car for 2 or 3 days (expensive but worth it) and go to every corner of the island and the interior too. The North is incredible, the very centre of the island amazing and there is so much to see. Everywhere you go is different on the island.

GUIDED WALKS: They are very worth doing and we paid €30 per person this time (less than previously). We did Rabacal (25 springs to include Risco Falls) and it was crazy. No exageration there were twenty people waiting in places to pass each other. Go out of season if you want quiet and tranquil walks or ask to go on one that is less popular.

You do need excellent walking shoes and you do need to be physically fit for any of the moderate and advanced walks. We had one poor lady really struggle and she felt quite ill on our walk.

WEATHER: A lot of pople will not know about 'La Carpeta' which is cloud that covers the island at certain times of year. Normally May through to early July. We have been lucky for the past 9 years but we caught an entire week of it - 1st July for one week. It is literally cloudy all the time and it was not warm. I had to go and buy some clothes as it caught me out. I knew about it but was hopeful we would miss it for another year. Sadly not!

If you book during this time, please be aware you could get solid cloud for lenghtly periods. Our 2nd week was clear blue sky most of the time but the pool was still polar as it had not had enough sun - brrrrrr!

We will be changing our weeks to late Sept after all the kids are back to school from now on and less risk of cloud.

FUNCHAL MARINA AREA HAVING A FACE LIFT AT THE MOMENT: The marina/front of Funchal city is in chaos at the moment with diversions, no footpaths and a lot of noise and heavy works. This is due to the marina being extended and improved. It will be great when done but it is a bit ugly and messy at the moment.

OLD TOWN REGENERTING ITSELF: Every year the old town comes back to life. It was so run down and sad but the artist and arty types are moving in and slowly it is coming back to life. We enjoyed it this year.

Look out for the Walking Frame t-shirt shop. A local guy who designs off the wall t-shirts himself and only prints 15 of each design. A fabulous shop and a great lad (he may have a slightly warped mind but we loved it!). We bought a t-shirt each. He has a website and you can order on-line too.

SUMMARY: The hotel is beautiful and the gargens of the hotel spectacular. It is not 5 star in the business class kind of way, more 5 star in a holiday capacity but it is still quality.

If you go at the right time of year depending of wanting peace and quiet or don't mind every sun lounger taken and people also laying on the grass at peak times with kids screaming during school hols then you won't be disappointed.

I still don't feel this hotel is quite right for young couples or young friends travelling together as we are young 46 year olds and we still find it a little 'stuffy.' My parents however who are in thier mid to late 70s love it (when there are no noisy kids around!)

Hope this has helped you decide if and when this hotel is right for you.

Room Tip: Go to this hotel at the right time of year for the type of holiday you want and you will have a wond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, General Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having taken the time to share your feedback about your recent stay at lti Pestana Grand Hotel with the tripadvisor.com community.

We are glad to know that you had a good time at “our house” and we are very much looking forward to welcome you back again.
Thank you also for having taken the time to share some photos.

The photos are lovely memories and we hope to welcome you back soon again to “our house”.

Thank you too for giving us your opinion about improvements to be made. You can be sure that we took good note of it and will revise all the suggestions presented.

Please do drop us a line on lticoncierge.grand@pestana.com to let me know if we may assist with any pre-arrival assistance.


Safe travels!

Sincerely,

Maria da Paz Garcia
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

As always this hotel is clean, efficient and helpful. getting a touch mre money grabbing when it came to the Vacation club though. The 50 Euro surcharge for a weeks fuel is a bit steep. I only pay £110 a month at home in all the ice and snow.......
Also a bit concerned about all the smoking by the pool. I feel to be an excellent resort they need to embrace a no smoking rule. I would not like to bring children here when there is a lot of smoking around the pool.
However whining over. The hotel was clean and had magnificent views. Breakfast was very good. We didn't eat any other meals in the hotel as there are so many fab restaurants in Madeira to explore.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, General Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your time in writing such a positive and good review from your recent stay at the lti Pestana Grand Hotel.
It is always a pleasure to see good reviews like yours.
I am pleased that all went so well for you and I hope I can welcome you back in the near future.
Take care and all the best

Maria da Paz Garcia
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We have just returned from 2 weeks at this Hotel. The whole hotel looks wonderful and standards have been maintained through the Hotel since we bought our timeshare. The staff on the front desk are always welcoming and professional. The housekeeping staff work so hard to keep the property and rooms to a top standard.
Our only gripe was the indoor pool area. There is a notice advising users that the area is a QUIET RELAXING area. The message is in English and Portuguese but now there are so many other nationalities staying here the guests evidently cannot read either language or choose not to adhere to the instruction. Children were screaming and dive bombing in to the pool throughout the day and early evening. We could hear their screaming as we walked along the promenade outside the hotel!! The spa area needs more management.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms are worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is such a pleasure to read such a lovely review from a returning guest, there is no greater compliment to the hotel.
Your compliments about the service we provided to you, specially the fact you mentioned the Front Desk and Housekeeping Staff, were highly appreciated.
Your comment was the best award they could get.
We are currently working our way through the Spa area augmenting the surveillance which I hope will be an improvement on your next stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future with
Kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lti Pestana Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lti Pestana Grand

Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#9 Family Hotel in Funchal
#12 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#15 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Lti Pestana Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Lti Pestana Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Lti Pestana Grand Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lti Pestana Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.