We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pestana Grande” 5 of 5 stars
Review of lti Pestana Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added lti Pestana Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
lti Pestana Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Toronto
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Pestana Grande”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed for one week, in June. at the Pestana Grand. This is a great hotel with even better staff who are multi-lingual. German, French, English, Spanish and of course Portuguese. Guests are welcomed with a glass of Madeira, and as I had had a horrible reservation mix-up (no blame attributed to anyone). I arrived upset and was treated wonderfully by the front desk staff (thanks Sr. Duarte Santos)
The breakfasts are amazing and meet British, EU and N. American palates - fresh fruit and newly baked pastries, custom made pancakes and eggs every which way, juices, and even sparkling wine (mimosas?).And for the fried breakfast crew lots of delicious bacon, sausages, yummy potato cakes etc.Sr. Eduardo Abreu will greet you courteously and seat you in almost any language.He notices little things such as I walk with a cane, so he seated me close to the buffet.
Rooms are spotless, quiet, and whether you are the east or west side sea views you have sun on the balcony for a chunk of the day. Nice touch is a turn down service with chocolate!
The hotel offers a free shuttle into town (walk along the seafront and you can pick up the cable car to Monte (great views of Funchal), Also the #2 bus into town stops just up the road. I walk with a cane so Madeira can be challenging but the bus service is great. #1 and #2 stop close to the hotel.
Tours are happily booked by staff and most are great value.
First half of my trip was 50:50 pretty much Germans and Brits the following week it was 50:50 or so Brits and French.
Lovely pools inside and out.
There are several Happy Hours a day 2 for 1 drinks and there can be nice little freebie surprises - I got an evening Madeira wine tasting courtesy of Blandys (one of the well-known Madeira wine producers) Superb although some Germans were unhappy that the presentation was in English.
Although not kid unfriendly most people tend to be mid 40+s or so, quiet (never even heard a cell go off thank goodness). The dining can be pricey in the evening, but there are a lot of local options for people wanting lighter and less fancy grub.The midday Quick Cook food on the patio is very good, but the rest of the food is so-so (my toasted ham and cheese was more sweaty than toasted, and almost no more than dried bread even after a 2nd toasting it was no better albeit browner)
Wi-Fi in the common areas can be spotty and often times out, however it is free. Did not try the dedicated and payable room version.

Room Tip: High up rooms and sea view or side seaview (east or west)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, General Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for having taken the time to write a tripadvisor review and for your recent patronage of lti Pestana Grand Hotel..

It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Grand.

We are indeed very privileged to work with a team of such dedicated hotel professionals. Rest assured that I have shared all you praises with the team in general and in particular with our FO Manager - Duarte Santos - and ao Maitre d'Hôte Eduardo Abreu.

We all look very much forward to welcome you back in a not too distant future,

With every good wish
Maria da Paz Garcia
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    471
    228
    54
    15
    4
See reviews for
165
452
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
shropshire
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

My wife, Daughter and Grandaughter, had a wonderful holiday at this hotel, the hotel was immaculately clean and all the staff were very pleasant and were always helpful, the food we found was very good and a good selection maybe not to everyones liking which is always the case with some people, we were booked into the Promanade in the first place and were told two days before that we were being moved to the Grand which at the time we were not very pleased about but on reflection they did us a favour, as this was a much better hotel, at least this hotel had a courtesy bus which ran every half hour, we would recommend this hotel to everyone if Madeira is the destination that you want to go to.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea view, it is worth the extra, I know that the next comment has nothing to do with t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, General Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind words and for taking the time to share your experience about your recent stay at the lti Pestana Grand Hotel.

We are delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and your comments have been shared amongst the team because this kind of comments bring us forward to come to work everyday and deliver our outermost.

Looking forward to welcome you back in a not too distant future, I remain

Yours Sincerely
Maria da Paz Garcia
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burnley, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This was our sixth holiday spent at the Pestana Grand in Madeira and what an improvement on last year when some things had begun to slip but presumably with a new management team cracking the whip everything was brilliant. My favourite meal is still the breakfast which I rate so highly and which is a delight to start the day although my wife and some other guests apparently missed porridge which had been taken off the menu. One evening meal was taken in the Italian restaurant, superb but such a shame that this can only be done on one night each week. The pool bar is pretty good for lunches but perhaps a little more imagination with the menu would make it even better. The rooms are terrific and the cleaning staff should be applauded for their hard work. One item that could be improved upon and this is mentioned each year is the antiquated televisions, surely in a 5 star hotel a modern flat screen TV could be provided. A list of programmes and numbers was on a typed sheet but didn't correspond with the channels given for the UK. After some time spent on searching the full list of stations we eventually found the ones we required! The weather was fantastic as well, barely a cloud seen all week which made this holiday at the Pestana Grand a terrific experience. I cannot praise it enough and hopefully a 7th visit next year will be on the cards so thanks to all the staff and keep this improvement up.

Room Tip: A sea facing room is by far the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, General Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Dear guest,

Thank you so much for your review. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your most recent visit better than the last.
The Team are always delighted to read such kind feedback and I am very lucky to work with them. As a Pestana hotel we strive to make sure people feel at home here and so there is no greater compliment. In particular our housekeeping team will be so pleased to hear your feedback
Rest assured that your constructive remarks have been immediately cascaded to the Unit Manager to take the appropriate actions.

Myself and the team look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards
Maria da Paz Gracia
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have not even arrived at this hotel yet and I am already raving about it to anyone who will listen. Having two teenage kids and very demanding jobs, this will be our first holiday without the kids ever!! To say we are looking forward to it would be a huge understatement. Because of this we really want our stay to be perfect and have emailed the hotel several times with requests. Each time we have they have been prompt with their replies and have really put themselves out to offer us what we wanted. Double bed instead of twins, no problem. Early check-in due to ridiculous flight time, no problem. Obviously the proof of the pudding is in the eating but so far we have been very impressed with the staff of this hotel. Long may it continue.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, General Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are simply delighted that even before your arrival you’re already raving about us and we are grateful to you for sharing this.
It is such a pleasure to read reviews like yours especially so when we testify that your holiday was memorable.
Thank you for sharing all these and we look forward to seeing you back on many future visits.
With every good wish
Maria da Paz Garcia
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Having stayed at the Pestana Promenade previously, and found it to be a little too far out of the city centre, booked the Pestana Casino. Like other reviewers was informed two days before departure that were being moved to the Grand because of overbooking.
Our plane couldn't land because of bad weather and we were diverted to Tenerife, then to cap it all our luggage was delivered to the wrong room and we had to wait while it was found.
In all honesty, despite the bad start and the poor choice of food at the evening meal there's no way I could leave a bad review for this hotel.
The hotel was a bit further out than we wanted but there is a local bus service and the courtesy coach ran on time whenever we took advantage of it.
The room, 1307, had lovely views of the garden, the cliffs and the sea. It was large, clean and well maintained but let down by an ancient TV, obviously the original set from when the hotel opened in the 90's.
Breakfast was everything other reviewers have said, plentiful, fresh and lots of choice but again the evening meal could have been better. Happy hour in the bar is from 6-7pm and from 10-midnight. prices are very reasonable and even better value during these periods. Entertainment is above average, but the parrot show was something we weren't keen on.
There's an excellent indoor pool area, sauna, Turkish bath and a decent gym area.
The large garden area is just beautiful, overlooking the sea and well kept, and a pleasure to sit in day or night
The staff were some of the best we've come across, genuinely friendly, helpful and found nothing too much trouble.
Overall, while some things could be improved, they no way distract from our overall stay at the hotel. We definitely got the better of the sideways/upgrade and would highly reccommend the Grand, if you want a quiet, peaceful and relaxing holiday but yet not too far from the city centre.

Room Tip: Odd numbered rooms higher than 15 or so should be avoided if possible as they overlook a block of ap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, General Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at the lti Pestana Grand Hotel and appreciate your time and effort in sharing your opinion on TripAdvisor.
We are so pleased that you found our facilities, ambiance and staff to your liking.
It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay at The Grand; thank you for rating our team “some of the best we've come across”.

We are indeed very privileged to work with a team of such dedicated hotel professionals. Rest assured that I have shared all you praises with the team in general.
Finally we would like to thank you for giving us your opinion about improvements to be made.

We all look very much forward to welcoming you back in a not too distant future,

With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chislehurst England
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We should have been staying at the Promenade and found we had been relocated here 48 hours before.
This is a lovely hotel, the breakfast is amazing, the pools are clean, the re is no sunbed reservation allowed giving everyone a fair chance of getting one. The staff are all friendly helpful and English speaking and nothing is too much trouble.
The hotel is kept spotless and the gardens and views are stunning. Ideal for relaxing break but with easy access to the island via various bus services.
Disadvantages: bit further outside Funchal but there is a courtesy bus.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, General Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your time in writing such a positive and lovely review from your recent stay at the lti Pestana Grand Hotel.
It is always a pleasure to share with my team reviews like yours.
I am pleased that all went so well for you and I hope we can welcome you back in the near future.

With warm regards
Maria da Paz Gracia
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for a week on b and b booked with Thomson. Slight problem on check in as room wasnt ready. to be fair lots of people were in similar position-but thomson didnt bother to mention it when they dropped us off. were told by reception it would be ready shortly and to wait. We sat and waited half an hour and returned to reception and told to come back at 1pm. It wasnt a great start to the holiday and not the warm welcome we experience when visiting Austrian hotels where they greet you with a welcome drink and look after you properly. I returned after 1pm and met by another massive queue at reception for more people booking in. Eventually got room key and found it wasn't what we had booked- ie sea view so had to trog back down again to reception, this time were given the right room. I suspect this mix up may have been thomsons fault as I upgraded the room type several weeks before we arrived. I'm glad I did! The sea view was worth the slight extra money as fab view compared to looking at the apartments opposite. The room was perfect, large and clean. The hotel was great- large smart public areas and the outside and indoor pool clean and great for swimming. Trust me the outdoor pool is not too cold like some other reviews say! Loads of sunbeds too. Spa good too. The breakfast was very good plenty of choice. The negatives were the evening meal if you decided to try it on B and B basis. It was buffet only bar a couple of nights where they opened one of their other restaurants. The buffet was 28 euro each excluding drinks. Great if you like to stuff your face but we can't eat that much to get moneys worth! There was no choice just to have light snacks in an evening, which meant a hike up the road to find a restaurant. These really are limited bar the real canoa restaurant across the road. You are looking at 30 min walk plus to get to where the restaurants are. This was the downside as it was an hour and half walk to Funchal or take the courtesy bus. I would look at a hotel a bit nearer next time.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, General Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your feedback and for posting your review on TripAdvisor and for choosing the lti Pestana Grand Hotel for your visit to Madeira.

We are sorry that you had to wait for your room. Although we do our best to ensure that you gain access to your rooms as soon as possible after your arrival, unfortunately this is not always possible due to check-out regulations, as with most of the hotels.
Guests departing later in the day are only required to vacate their rooms at midday so this is the earliest time we may begin to prepare the rooms for our arriving guests. The official time your room becomes available is 2 pm, but obviously we endeavor to make this earlier if at all possible.

I look forward to your next visit, where you may rest assured no efforts will be spared to make your next stay a most enjoyable and memorable one.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to lti Pestana Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about lti Pestana Grand Hotel

Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
#12 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#14 Business Hotel in Funchal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#16 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — lti Pestana Grand Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your lti Pestana Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Lti Pestana Grand Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage lti Pestana Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.