We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A week in this hotel.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of lti Pestana Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added lti Pestana Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
lti Pestana Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Watford, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A week in this hotel.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Hotel excellent, massive room on first floor, unfortunately not facing the sea but very comfortable.. Pool and grounds of hotel very nice excellent staff. Quite a way out of Funchal town, free bus available but sometimes did not turn up. Very hilly and lots of building works going on in the harbour, corrugated iron sheets around the workings and cranes etc. Spoilt the view.
Cloudy for most of week but still warm and sunny on and off. We enjoyed it but would not go back. Entertainment in hotel variable, parrot show was awful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, General Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Dear Guest,
We thank you very much for your kind contribution and comments as well for your confidence in our services and staff at the lti Pestana Grand Hotel.
It was a pleasure looking after you whilst you stayed with us.
I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and all went well.
Please note that we have cancelled the Parrot Show since last June. We though it would be a plus for the children, but unfortunately it didn't work as we expected.
Looking much forward to welcoming you again on any future visits to Madeira

Maria da Paz Garcia
GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    436
    212
    45
    15
    5
See reviews for
135
415
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Paul, Minnesota, Usa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

I recently stayed at the Pestana Grand Hotel on Madeira Island. It's in a beautiful location on the blue Atlantic. The buffet breakfast is overwhelming and delicious. There was live entertainment in the lounge each night. All staff members I encountered were very friendly, helpful, and professional. There is a promenade between the property and the ocean that you may use to walk to a grocery store or other small restaurants, and the Forum shopping center is just a short walk up the hill. Note that the courtesy bus/shuttle only goes to the casino, not into the heart of Funchal. I would definitely stay at this property again if I return to the Island.

Room Tip: Go for the full ocean view! Why go to Madeira island and not look at the blue Atlantic every day?!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Moved here from another hotel. Friendly & helpful staff & First class service.
Good size rooms with some excellent views of the Atlantic ocean.
Food was very good & plenty of choice. Recommend restaurant on site where you cook your own "steak on a stone".
Lovely clean large pools and gardens.
Only criticism ( and we will never stop this ) towels on sunbeds before breakfast. To be fair to the hotel the pool attendant has a very good supply of sunbeds so you should not miss out.
Free hotel bus takes you in & out of Funchal daily.
If you hire a car plenty of free parking available.

Room Tip: High Floor sea view. You may pay extra but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Have just returned from a week @the Pestana Grande and feel relaxed and totally stuffed.
Breakfast was a delight and the evening buffet has to be seen [and tasted ] to be believed .
Pool is a bit of an odd shape and quite cold to get in but otherwise adequate.
Free courtesy bus very useful.
Overall , a very pleasant stay and would consider returning but prefer the smaller more intimate Casa Branca.

Room Tip: Do not pick side sea view ,pay the extra for sea view as side rooms are overlooked by apartments
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunbar
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just back from a week at Pestana Grand. Stunning sea views - courtesy bus - very friendly staff- spacious studio apartment and well furnished- pools a bit cold!!!! but o k after you take the plunge. Unfortunately Funchal itself is still undergoing major alterations at sea front which does spoil the place a bit. All in all still a very relaxing and beautiful place to go to.

Room Tip: Front and side sea views are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Front Office Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many Thanks for having selected the lti Pestana Grand for you holidays in Madeira.
Your positive feedback is most kind, on behalf of all our staff, I thank you for your contribution.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back very soon.

With kind regards
Maria Da Paz Garcia
Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kristiansand, Norge
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

I booked at payed for this hotel, but when we arrived we were told it was full and we had to move. We got a free taxi to the other hotel and that's it. So now I have the feelig og buying a business ticket and getting "upgraded" to economy. Watch out when ordering this hotel! I think it is best to contact them before arriving so you are sure to stay at that beautiful hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Front Office Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 14, 2013
Dear Guest,
First of all we would like to apologize for all the incovenience that this situation has caused you.
Due to an unexpected situation at our hotel, we have requested and justified the reason why we were asking your cooperation to change your reservation to another five star Hotel. Unfortunatly we have tried to inform your tour Operator before your arrival, but without sucess.

We regret to have disapointed you. You have chosen our hotel but you haven´t had the opportunity of staying with us. Once again please accept our most sincere apologies.
We hope to have the pleasure of welcome you in a near the future at our Hotel and i would be very pleased to assist you personally with your booking.

Your sincerely
Maria da Paz Garcia
Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

Just had a week at the Pestana Grand, and it was so relaxing. Staff were lovely, breakfast buffet was excellent .Views from pool area beautiful,overlooking the sea.Free shuttle bus into Funchal from Hotel every half hour. Choose this one if you just need to chill out.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of hotel are facing block of flats with washing over balconies etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Front Office Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, June 8, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying it us!
We are more than happy to know that you have had a relaxing stay and that our staff and services provided were up to your expectations.
We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back in a not distant future.
With best wishes and kind regards.

Maria da Paz Garcia
Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to lti Pestana Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about lti Pestana Grand Hotel

Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#9 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#11 Business Hotel in Funchal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#15 Family Hotel in Funchal
#16 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — lti Pestana Grand Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Booking.com, Priceline, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your lti Pestana Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Lti Pestana Grand Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage lti Pestana Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.