We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Grand Pestana Grand” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Lti Pestana Grand

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Lti Pestana Grand to your Saves list
Lti Pestana Grand
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“The Grand Pestana Grand”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

My wife and I have recently returned from a very relaxing fortnight at the Pestana Grand. We stayed in a comfortable, well appointed studio apartment on the second floor with a beautiful outlook over the very attractive grounds and the sea facing east. We were staying on an RCI timeshare exchange and should have transferred after the first week to a less well positioned apartment for the second week. We requested that we stay on the sea view side, and very fortunately, this was accommodated, which we were extremely grateful for. One of our highlights was having breakfast on our little veranda, in the sunshine, overlooking the beautiful view.

Pros.
Despite it being a busy hotel, we always found it peaceful and relaxing.
All staff were courteous and helpful.
Very attractive, well maintained grounds ... really lovely for lazing away the day on a lounger
Lovely food ... we had 3 breakfasts and 3 buffet dinners, with plenty of choice, as a half board package for 88.50 euros per person. (7 breakfasts and buffets cost 206.50 euro per person)
The daily bed making and mini-clean, and midweek sheet change and full clean.
The free shuttle bus to and from Funchal was efficient and timely.
Free car parking (in underground car park)

Cons.
Free WiFi connection is only available in the reception/lounge area
Food a little pricey (but probably on a par with other similar establishments)
The indoor pool is on the small side and the large outdoor one was very cold!

Overall we would highly recommend the Grand, and if we visit beautiful Madeira again, we'd probably try to stay there again.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, definitely go for a room facing East or South, and probably the higher the flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your visit to our hotel.
We were happy to know that you found peace and relaxing moments in our balcony with spectacular views to the Atlantic sea.
It's always a pleasure to ear that you enjoyed the surroundings as well as the gardens, which our ladies do our best to maintain them as much as prety and that, you found a good value the promotions we have on breakfast and dinner.
The wifi in the Pestana Grand is constatly beeing upgraded and we ask some patience from our guests, we really hope to get a signal that goes troughout the hotel without any troubles.
We really enjoyed reading that you consider to visit us again and, will be waiting for a future visit to this beautiful island.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

984 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    635
    265
    63
    16
    5
See reviews for
194
598
17
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
707 helpful votes 707 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Before the criticism, the plus points: good position with supermarkets and large shopping mall [with C&A and Zara] nearby; [large bottles of mineral water over 4 euros in hotel were 77 cents fizzy and 33 cents still in supermarkets]; shuttle to town every 45 min morning and afternoon; standard hotel bedroom and bathroom large and well appointed.

The negatives - travel agent's request regarding room position not granted; unconvincing reason at reception that hotel was full; no cushions on basic pool sun loungers; pool towels strictly limited to one; exchange system inconvenient.

Buffet meals - breakfast orange juice not freshly squeezed; about half the fruit canned rather than fresh; several sliced cheeses, but all similar in appearance and taste; fish usually overcooked; poor variety of desserts, repetitive each day.

Room Tip: Value rated very good because Thomas Cook package with flight, priority check in, and taxi transfers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your stay with us.
Were glad to know that the location of the hotel was up to your satisfaction as well as the room and our shuttle bus to the city of Funchal. Waters and supplements will allways be a lot cheaper than in a 5* hotel, the guest decide in were should him buy these supplements.
We would like to inform you that the lti Pestana Grand was full as still is quite busy and during this May, we regret that this made not possible a room change, if that was the case.
We have taken good notice regarding the constructive feedback regarding the fruit in our breakfast room as well as the presentation and taste of the buffets and will work on these points in order to improve them.
With wishes to welcome you again.
Yours sincerely
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riga, Latvia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

I think it's not a 5* hotel, but a good 4*. The location is some km from centre of Funchal but there are free shuttle bus to centre every 30 min. It's 5 min by walk from shopping centre which is quite good if you compare to other shopping centres in Funchal. The hotel is on a cliff, that's way it could be more windy as in the centre of city. I liked the breakfast and dinner, the menu changes every day (portugese, Madeira, All world etc.) and you can enjoy some piano players, singers or parrot show at night in a lobby bar. The staff is very friendly, they will help you to all your questions. The outdoor swimming pool is very large but if the weather is windy or cold then you can't use it because the water is cold. The spa is small, only sauna and turkish steam house, jacuzzi and indoor swimmping pool but the water temperature for me was too cold. Our room's doors of balcony made bad noise, we told reception maybe someone can repair it but it wasn't done. You can hear your neighbours very well, especialy if you take a shower. The internet for free is available only on public areas. I really liked the interior of a hotel, there are much place in a lobby bar or on 1st floor. The garden is great!

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for showing your opinion about your recent stay.
Were glad that you found our evening meals atractive, we do our best to provide a wide variety to meet all tastes. It is with proud that once again, i hear our staff being recomended by our guests. The Grand has the biggest sat water pool in Madeira but is not heated.
I regret that the problem you found with the balcony door has not been repaired and i sincerely present our most sincere apologies.
We all look forward to see you again.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashtead
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Great hotel in a really nice location right on the sea as long as you have booked a sea view room.
Breakfast was a great buffet with plenty of choice.
Very clean amd comfortable hotel with very freindly staff.
The walk to funchal is not easy at all so suggest take the courtesy shuttle that works really well.

Room Tip: suggest take room fairly high up level 4 and up as could be a little noisy from the bar and lower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for visiting the beautiful Madeira Island and us.
We were glad to know that you found our facilities and services, as is the shuttle bus to Funchal most valuable. We hope to see you soon.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a very nice modern hotel. The large open atrium provides a delightful space with fine views of the hotel garden and the sea. The hotel is located towards the end of the promenade which means that the hotel is not affected by traffic noise, has fine views of the sea and is very convenient for anyone wanting to take a seafront stroll. There is a reasonably good selection of shops and restaurants close by though transport into the centre of Funchal - either by bus or, more likely, by taxi - is very convenient.
We have stayed at this hotel in February in each of the last three years. The weather this year was not particularly good and it was very windy. But this was exceptional.
The standard rooms are not particularly large but they are comfortable, are kept very clean and represent good value.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, April 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for visiting us.
Nice views from sunrise until sunset and a real quiet place is definitely what you can expect from the lti Pestana Grand. We were happy to know that you still choose us after so many visits to Madeira. Hope to have the priviledge to welcome you soon.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This five star hotel is in a nice, quiet location, although the area is quite windy. We stayed for our easter vacation, with our 2 year old son, in an ocean view room. The hotel is located about 10 euro and 10 minutes with taxi outside the main center of Funchal, where the old city and the cable car.

5 minutes walk uphill from the hotel, there is a nice shopping center where my wife spent quite some time. The shopping center also had a big grocery store and small play ground. West of the hotel, five minutes walk away, there is a nice italian restaurant with take-away, which is open all day.

The room was clean, fresh looking, and had a nice view of the ocean. The balcony was ideal for letting our little one sleep outside in a stroller.

The hotel was not particularly children friendly, and the children´s games room was not so nice, but they did arrange a easter egg collection competition for the children on easter day.

The breakfast was great, with a good selection. Being scandinavian, we are used to putting our child to bed at around 19:00, and the restaurant opened at 18:30, so the dinner situation was a bit stressful. The buffet dinner was not the most exciting one, and if we return, we will probably not have dinner at the hotel included.

The outside pool was rather cold at this time of the year, but the indoor pool was well tempered, and extended outside the hotel. At the spa, we had a sports massage, which was very nice.

The reception and staff was nice and helpful, but we think that it would have been nice with a bit more information of the hotel´s facilities upon arrival. On the last day, we realized that they had a baby sitter service.

There is no wifi in the rooms, only in the lobby, and it was occasionally falling out.

All in all, this is a hotel that we would return to at a later occasion.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for joining us.
We were happy to read that, in overall you had a good holidays with us during the easter time.
It was indeed a bit wendy during easter time, specially at this corner were the hotel is located.
We are glad you enjoyed our initiative for children, as we do this every year, the rabitt's treasure hunt on the easter sunday, it is a special day for our children in the hotel.
We will take note of the several less positive aspects you mentioned, in order to improve them and provide a better service. We hope that you and your family revisit the beautiful island of Madeira and stay again with us.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel boasts 5 stars but is 4 in reality. Very friendly staff, large beautiful pool area oriented sea and southward, which is good, but exposed to strong cool winds and thus loosing all its charm. Quite far from city center. Need a 4 km long walk or taxi ride.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at Lti Pestana Grand, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for leaving your feedback about our hotel.
We were sad that, during your time with us you experienced the winds which were unconfortable but, also something we cannot control. We hope that in overall you have enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is located 3km away from town but offer a courtsey bus quite often free of charge. We all hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon and send our best regards to you and your family.
Yours sincerely
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Lti Pestana Grand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lti Pestana Grand

Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#10 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#10 Family Hotel in Funchal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#14 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Lti Pestana Grand 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Lti Pestana Grand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Lti Pestana Grand Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lti Pestana Grand, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.