We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 star hotel - windy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of lti Pestana Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added lti Pestana Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
lti Pestana Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“4 star hotel - windy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel boasts 5 stars but is 4 in reality. Very friendly staff, large beautiful pool area oriented sea and southward, which is good, but exposed to strong cool winds and thus loosing all its charm. Quite far from city center. Need a 4 km long walk or taxi ride.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for leaving your feedback about our hotel.
We were sad that, during your time with us you experienced the winds which were unconfortable but, also something we cannot control. We hope that in overall you have enjoyed your stay with us. The hotel is located 3km away from town but offer a courtsey bus quite often free of charge. We all hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again soon and send our best regards to you and your family.
Yours sincerely
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    437
    210
    44
    15
    4
See reviews for
140
422
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bolton
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just finishing our holiday to the Pestana Grand and I have to say its a beautiful Hotel, the room is big and has modern comfortable Decor and possibly the comfiest beds we have had to date in a hotel, we are half board and the food here is really good, in fact not one meal we couldn't enjoy.
The staff cannot do enough to please from reception to waiters and to the chambermaids everyone we spoke to seemed happy and friendly. Having never visited Madeira before we were obviously apprehensive about getting around, however this. Isn't a problem as the hotel put on a free bus into Funchal and we used this several times .

We came away for a birthday treat for me and the hotel were lovely and even left a bottle of champagne on ice with two flutes in our room for when we returned from breakfast.

The hotel is set in lovely gardens overlooking the sea, however this week it's raining and so we have had to spend a lot of time in the room, this is the BIG and main problem we have as if We had request a sea view the hotel charge 30 euros a night, so we were stuck in a side room facing some private flats with the washing out all the time, these are so close to the hotel. We felt like we were in a goldfish bowl and so we haven't been on the balcony or indeed opened the curtains all week, The room doesn't have even an inch of a sea view and for that reason alone, would we return ? I have to answer a definite no, such a shame as the hotel ticks all the boxes , but when it comes down to it the money is more important than customer satisfaction, we did mention this to the Thomas Cook rep Simon, who although fabulously helpful in every way told us its hotel policy and there wasn't anything he could do about our awful view.
On a plus side the safe is free there is a kettle and a hair dryer in the room and complimentary tea and coffee although this is not replenished when it runs out. Internet is also free in the main areas and fast once you manage to get on, however as soon as you leave the main area you are constantly having to sign back on.so make sure you keep the log in code and password they give you.
The spa, jacuzzi , steam room , sauna and indoor pool are all free too. All in all a lovely hotel , wonderful staff but a room view we would not risk coming to again. If you can afford to pay £210 euros per week for a sea view, you won't find a better hotel, but if like us you are on a budget you have to expect a room view not dissimilar to a cheap city centre hotel.

Room Tip: If you can afford a sea view then this hotel is great, but if not you will be very overlooked by oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for joining us and visit Madeira Island.
We were happy to know that the facilities and surroundingd meet your expectation as destination holiday. We are always happy to welcome and celebrate our guest birthday with a champagne bottle, glad you enjoyed it.
We understand your position about the request you made for a sea view but, as you know the booking was made through a mountain view room. It's quite difficult to us to offer as would not been fair to other guests that paid more and stayed in a same room as you. After saying this, and in this cases we try to offer a side sea view room but the occupation of the hotel itsef, did not made this possible.
All in all we value and appreciate your comments and hope you return, if not to our hotel, to any in Madeira, this amazing place deserves a second visit.
We hope you had a safe flight back home and send our kindest regards to you and your family.
Yours sincerely
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlow, England
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We can only underline the many positive comments of recent reviews. These being the friendly and helpful staff at reception, the stunning lobby and public areas, and the beautiful gardens and pool area. Our room was also fantastic. The décor was modern with good quality furniture and a solid wood floor. There was a modern bathroom with bathrobes and everything was really clean. It also had a great balcony overlooking the sea and promenade.

So what was the but? We stayed in early March during a week of strong wind and heavy rain, therefore we spent a lot more time in the hotel than on a typical holiday. This exposed a couple of disappointments for a hotel claiming 5 stars. First the indoor pool & spa: although spacious it has gloomy terracotta painted walls with poor lighting – none at all during the day. The sauna & steam room are only open first thing in the morning and then after 4.30pm. Also there are broken windows adjacent to the Jacuzzi which all added to the feeling that it was not up to the standard you would expect. Our other disappointment was the small, antiquated TV in our room. This was totally out of character with the high standard fit and finish of everything else, and should be replaced with good size flat screen as a priority.

We didn’t eat at the hotel (never do) as we do not like buffets preferring to use local restaurants. As mentioned in a previous review there are several options within 200 metres of the hotel all serving good food at reasonable prices. The most popular being the Real Canoa (the nearest) which was always very busy, had a good menu, served freshly cooked food and at typically 50€ for two with drinks was much better value than the hotel’s 28€ pp buffet with no drinks.

In summary, we really liked the overall ambience of the hotel and the staff we met were all helpful and clearly proud to work for the Pestana group. We will probably return, but definitely not in March. We now know Madeira is green for a reason.

Room Tip: Higher floors on south side have better sea views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2013
Dear guest,
Many thank for your visit and feedback regarding your recent stay with us.
We were happy in reading that our facilities were up to your satisfaction and you found our staff friendly and helpfull.
In our indoor pool, and together with maintenance supervisor, we are working out a way to make it brighter, as we think that beautiful place deserves more shinning. We regret that you had to see the broken windows but, as it was reported to our insurance, we are depending on them and at this moment cannot do anything about it.
It is our aim and had in perspective to provide to Pestana Grand up to date Tv's, just don't have a precise date so far.
It was a bit unlucky i must say, to visit Madeira at this time and have rain, this is not common.
Madeira it's green due to it's forrest that provides water itself. I hope you had the chance to visit Madeira again and see the real Madeira weatherand how lovely can be staying here.
With best wishes to you and your family we send you our kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

There is a lot to like about this hotel generally. The setting plus the sea view and the breakfasts are highlights.

Hovering around the normal expectations mark are the hotel staff, the rooms (airy, quiet, comfortable), the public areas, including the spa, free car parking and the evening entertainments. The Portuguese and Spanish tv stations sub-title, rather than overdub their '80s and '90s American imports, so enjoy; you get BBC1, but no radio.

Disappointments - the in-house lunches (indifferent, slow), the evening buffets - good to eat, but at 28€ each, I'd feel better if it included a drink and coffee. The outdoor pool is unheated. (The Pestana is in a pretty exposed position and really catches those Atlantic breezes.) The in-house shop sells international newspapers, but is mostly touristy stuff otherwise, which seems like a missed opportunity.

Could try harder - There is free broadband, but it isn't especially easy to use and really only works in the public areas. The spa could be open longer hours than 8-8. (Wouldn't a major upgrade to the spa make this hotel a better all-year proposition?) The Moroccan and Italian in-house restaurants were only open once a week at this time of year and menus looked pricey.

Around the hotel - there are 3 restaurants within sight of the hotel entrance -the first, lively and Portuguese was tasty, busy and slow, but a good atmosphere generated by the owner and the musicians; quieter and more formal, the Chinese place is really good value.

Around the corner is the Madeira Forum, open late with interesting shops, including a big sports shop and a supermarket (with a surprisingly good range of guide books and maps.)

The coastal promenade, as far as it went, didn't disappoint. Madeira Story in Funchal wasn't bad.

Don't bother - Ribera Brava and Camara des Lobos - maybe they come more to life later in the season or maybe we got the wrong bit but except for Ribera's church interior, we found these to be rather unattractive and unrewarding little places. No wonder Churchill hurried home!

A couple of Useful websites

Madeira airport - http://www.anam.pt/madeira_EN

Funchal yellow public buses - http://www.horariosdofunchal.pt/mobile/index.php?lang=en
(route 2 for Pestana Grande) seriously, use these if you want to go to Monte or the valley of the nuns. The bus drivers sell you a Giro card for €1.30 each for a single trip, but we never figured out how to add credit out here in the suburbs.

Room Tip: As always, first floor rooms and those near the lifts are going to be noisy. Rooms with Sea views a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for staying with us.
We were happy to read that you enjoyed the location of the hotel as well as the breakfast provided in our hotel. Our outdoor is salt water but not heated, this is informed at any brochure or information regarding our hotel. Thank you for the suggestion made towards our lunch and evening buffets, we will take that in consideration.
We recently changed our internet in our hotel to free, wifi and business centre. Sometimes it can be a bit slow, our aim is to have in the whole property with good speed.
Our á-lá-carte restaurants are opened according to hotel occupancy, saying this in busy months they are open 3 times per week.
All in all, we hope you had a relaxing time with us and hope to see you again in Madeira and in Pestana Grand Hotel.
With our kindest regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riihimäki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I spent only three days in this captivating isle with my family. The hotel exceeded our expectations: big and clean rooms with excellent beds and balcony with side-sea view. We loved the swimming pools. Especially in summertime you can spend the whole day swimming and basking in the sun. This time the weather was quite cool but the indoor pool was very good.The hotel is surrounded by a romantic garden with lovely flowers. There is a big shopping center in the neighbourhood. The staff is exceptionally kind and the customers really feel cosy. The hotel is not located in the centre but there are courtesy buses and it is also possible to walk to downtown. The free parking was comfortable. We rented a car for two days in order to take in all the enchanting sights of Madeira. When we ´ll come back to this isle, it would be better to stay one month instead of three days. In fact, we can recommend this hotel to everybody due to the cheerful and refreshing atmosphere. Even after a short break we are ready work hard in high spirits.

Room Tip: The rooms with seaside view are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for ratting us.
I was amazed by the way you describe your holidays, property and surroundings, when you only stayed 3 days with us. You definitely need to be back to Madeira. We were glad that you had a good and relaxed experience and have take good memories home.
Looking forward to your next visit
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haugesund, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

Due to the fact that we always have a good seaview, a good feeling of satisfaction of just
beeing there and a very good service given by the all the employees. The smiles and that we
feel well taken care of. An other thing is the silence in the rooms, you wont hear much from the
outside. The Pestana Grand is situated a few minutes walk from the mainstreet.

Room Tip: Have a seaview, thats the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about our hotel.
I'm glad you refere the aspects we are known for: quiet hotel with friendly and helpful staff.
I hope that you enjoyed your stay and have taken good memories of it.
We all look forward to see you soon.
With kind regards
Your sincerely
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Spent two weeks here in February. this was our 3rd visit and our opinion of the hotel has improved every time. It truly is in a great spot and the gardens and views are fantastic. The hotel is very clean and nothing is too much trouble for the staff. Extra shuttle bus buses were put on when the Carnival took place so no one missed it.

Room Tip: The hotel has three lifts, so ask for a room as high as possible to get the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your loyalty to the Pestana Group in particular, to the Pestana Grand.
We were glad that the changes we made so far, have been appreciated in a very positive way and look forward for your next visit.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to lti Pestana Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about lti Pestana Grand Hotel

Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#10 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#14 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#14 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — lti Pestana Grand Hotel 5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Priceline, HotelsClick, Otel, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your lti Pestana Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Lti Pestana Grand Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage lti Pestana Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.