We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of lti Pestana Grand Hotel

Save Saved
You added lti Pestana Grand Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
lti Pestana Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Llanelli, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013 via mobile

This was our first visit to Madeira and we loved it and were so pleased we chose the Pestana Grand, a wonderful hotel in such a peaceful location, when on the balcony or in the grounds all we could hear was the sound of the sea and birds. Although out of the centre of Funchal it is still near enough to walk or take the courtesy bus provided by the Pestana, and the benefit is you are away from the noise and traffic. The hotel was spotlessly clean and all staff we came into contact with were extremely polite and helpful and all seemed to enjoy their work. We had booked a suite which exceeded expectations with a huge lounge with sofa, easy chairs, TV, fridge, dining table & chairs and even tea & coffee making facilities, which was definitely a bonus and something we have only ever found in the UK and USA. Two double patio doors led from the room onto the balcony with table and chairs and overlooking the two beautiful large pools and the ocean beyond. A useful separate toilet and wash basin was located just off the main suite door. The bedroom was a really good size with an enormous double bed, dressing table, TV, plenty of wardrobe space and a safe, which there was no charge for. This room also had patio doors onto a further balcony with table and reclining chairs. The large bathroom had twin wash basins, bath, separate shower, toilet and bidet. We really enjoyed the chocolates left each evening when the bed was turned down and on Valentine's Night also received a scrumptious and beautifully decorated cupcake, a really nice touch. We stayed on a B&B basis although did dine in the buffet restaurant on the first night which was extremely good. The choice at breakfast was vast with everything you could imagine and more. As well as the 3 restaurants at the hotel there are several good ones within a few minutes walk and all offering excellent food (and drink!) at very reasonable prices. The grounds of the hotel are lovely and extremely well kept with plenty of places to sit and as well as the 2 outdoor pools there is also an indoor pool and spa. Free WIFI is available in the public areas. Would definitely recommend the Pestana Grand which justly deserves its 5 stars and just sorry we only stayed there for a week, it will definitely be longer next time.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for joining us.
We were glad that, all the surroundings, service from staff, room and views made this holiday memorable for you. We do our best to exceed and provide specific service and detail to attention in order to have satisfied guests. We hope that next time you had the time and experience to got to know this beautiful island surrounded of amazing views and friendly people. In the name of our team we thank you for your visit and look forward to see you soon between us.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    474
    229
    55
    15
    4
See reviews for
165
456
12
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I and my partner came to this resort on an owner referral and were not really ever convinced that it would be for us. Madeira has a reputation for being for the elderly and a tad boring. However, we wanted a stress free relaxing break, in the winter sun. Well you could have blown me away. The staff were gracious, attentive, authentic and simply couldn’t do enough for us. They were prepared for pretty much any eventuality and tried to anticipate all our needs including a few unforeseen ones…i.e. the spontaneous gift of a bottle of Madeira after a challenging day out sightseeing. I would like to pick out Louisa the guest relations manager and Petra for being so tolerant of our requests and banter. We did have a slight problem with ants in our apartment, but the hotels housekeepers dealt with the problem efficiently and effectively. I would recommend this resort and Island to all ages (although it is true most guests were older than us) the recommendation is based on the fact that there is plenty to keep you gainfully occupied whatever age or interest you have. I would say be prepared to walk as town is not the 20 min walk they say it is, more like an hour to the town of Funchal. Also don’t worry if the restaurant empty’s at 9 pm as wave one goes to bed, before the fun seekers and locals come to eat. Well done Pestana!

Room Tip: If you like a lay in don't have a room near the elevator, as others get up early and it can be h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for submitting a review on trip advisor.
We were happy to know that you gave a chance to our resort and island, even after knowing from previous comments that, could not be the perfect for you.
We will forward your compliments to Luisa and Petra and look forward for a future stay.
We promise that, will do our best in order to correspond to your expectations.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Unit Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
barnsley
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Although this is suppose to be the flag ship of the Pestana hotels, after visiting the grand last year I was a bit disappointed. I have stayed there before however, the last time will be my last. The hotel bar area was in total darkness on a night and I had to try to feel my way through to the outside bar area, yes they closed the indoor bar area! For a 5* that's a bit terrible. also you had to be down by the pool early if you want a sun bed or a umberella, as there aren't many and if there is any they are all broken. The Shop is very overpriced, however it is close to some amazing resteraunts, for example real conoe! Overall just OK.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Many thanks for sharing your opinion about your stay at our hotel dated from August 2012.
We regret to not correspond to your expectations and unfortunately to be taking notice of your negative feedback with 6 months delay.
We are convict that, when you mentiond that our Coast Bar was in total darkness, wasn´t a lack
of attention from us, we are very sorry that this was not mentioned at the hotel by yourselves and we could explain: as you might imagine, in summer time we felt and also receive positive feedback from our guests that, an outside bar, Pool Bar to be specific, would give the chance to our guests, not only to experience the weather, and sunset display with a cold drink at the bar, as many snacks and sandwiches for all tastes.
We decided to take a chance from the many suggestions from the other guests and provide a new and fresh environment, in which we called “Outside Summer Operation”, this has well received some of the best compliments and positive comments from our guests. We regret that, this type of service did not meet your taste and expectations.
Regarding the sunbeds and umbrellas at our pool, we are changing/upgrading the ones that need to be replaced. I must say that, even with all the information and supervising from our pool attendants, it is hard to stop guests from booking sunbeds, this result in lack of sunbeds to other guests.
We hope that, you revisit Madeira Island again, either if you're staying with or without us.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Just returned from three weeks here. Excellent hotel, situated right on the coast with access to the coastal promenade, Beautiful gardens, indoor and outdoor pools, spotlessly maintained. Hotel runs a bus 12 times a day into Funchal. The rooms are very spacious and well kept; breakfast in the restaurant - buffet style - everything you could imagine, and well organised. We were there last year also, and standards are still excellent.

Room Tip: Side sea view are good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your loyalty to the lti Pestana Grand Hotel.
We were glad to learn that, the facilities and service provided meet once again your expectations. We really hope to see you again in the future, until there we remain with our kindest regards.
Yours sincerely
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Great location! Lovely and quiet though not too far from the centre of Funchal, but off the main drag. They offer a courtesy bus into the town, which is a godsend. The hotel is luxuriously appointed and the staff are pleasant and helpful. Large hotel, international and discerning clientele - lots of Germans, Scandinavians, Austrians, Swiss and French. Most people 50+ so perfect for early retirees (like us!).

We stayed for bed and breakfast. The room was large, with a nice balcony looking over the sea. The bed was huge and every bit as comfortable as our own bed at home. The TV had BBC News and BBC 1. Breakfasts were large, buffet-style with lovely hot breakfasts. Only one criticism - Lipton tea, so take your own British tea bags as I did. Difficult to fault the place apart from this. We went with Co-op travel - v. good service and good value.

Room Tip: We had a side sea-view which was fine, and much cheaper than a full sea-view. We had sun in the aft...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you so much for joining us on your holidays.
We were glad to read from you that the whole experience was up to your expectations and the only let down was in fact the tea we have in our breakfast room. I must say it is a pleasure when guests leave our hotel satisfied, the only and true responsables for your holiday experience were in fact our excelent staff.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Best wishes to you and your family.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

A Peaceful location, helpful staff. The rooms were clean and well appointed although we had a number of plumbing problems which required a change of room. Excellent local walks and local restuarants. Breakfast was excellent with a wide range. We did not have dinner in the hotel as the menus were uninspiring to us and over priced and having been told by another couple that the food at the dinner buffet was not particularly good or very warm. We would certainly recommend this hotel but would suggest only book bed and breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your opinion about your recent stay with us.
We were happy to know that you found at the Grand a relaxed place, with friendly staff.
We regret to hear that you did not give a shot to our buffet dinners based on someone else opinion, as well as not shared with us your dissatisfaction. However we value your comments and shall share with the department involved in order to improve our standards.
We hope you have had a safe flight back home and look forward to see you soon.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hatfield Heath, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

If you want a peaceful location, with sea-views, luxurious apartments and excellent Indoor Health Club and Swimming Pool, then this is the ideal choice, especially in the Winter.
We go self-catering so appreciate both the Continental Supermarket and the Pinco Doci Supermarket being within walking distance.
Add to this the Hotel Courtesy Bus to and from Funchal sea-front together with the frequent no.2 bus-service and you have a perfect holiday.
We have our own mini-kitchen when we go so breakfast and lunch are no problem, with lots of excellent restaurants for evening meals
We never eat in at Hotels as we find the dedicated restaurants give better service and value.
Peter & Sheila

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you for sharing your holiday experience with us.
The Grand has a particular location wich is appreciated by most of our guests as, biggest shopping centre is at walking distance, together with it's shops and supermarket. We are happy to hear that you enjoy staying here and you consider us, the best hotel in Funchal, which honestly make us very proud.
With wishes of a good year we present our kind regards.
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to lti Pestana Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about lti Pestana Grand Hotel

Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#12 Family Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#14 Business Hotel in Funchal
#16 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#16 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — lti Pestana Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Agoda, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your lti Pestana Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Lti Pestana Grand Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage lti Pestana Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.