We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truely 5 star experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of lti Pestana Grand Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save Saved
You added lti Pestana Grand Hotel to your Saves list
lti Pestana Grand Hotel
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #16 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
leeds
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“A truely 5 star experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The pools are terrific. No charging to go in the indoor pool either. They run aqua classes on alternate days.
The in house restaurants are a good variation. The staff are all friendly, efficient and keen to please.
We have been back several times, its great

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your loyalty to our hotel and group.
We are proud to know that we are still your choice for holidays and your comments towards our staff will be shared and appreciated.
We hope to see you soon.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

786 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    481
    231
    55
    15
    4
See reviews for
168
462
12
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (233)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Very nice hotel,we did B&B and the breakfasts were very good,a big variety of cooked and continental style.
Ocean views from our balcony were fantastic and the room was spotless.
The hotel has a spa but we didn't use it.
The hotel provides a shuttle bus into Funchal,last one back is around 18:00,the journey is about 10 mins and its free.
Highly recommend this hotel,it's not a place for rowdy parties just a nice pleasant restful break.
On the doorstep you have promenade which runs for miles do take some walking shoes and expect some small hilly bits.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing our hotel for your holidays.
We were very happy to read that the views displayed and the room were up to your expectations. Our aim is mainly to provide, a quiet atmosphere away from day by day stress.
We hope you have had a nice and safe flight back home and we look forward to see you in our beautiful island.
Yours sincerely
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretona de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This hotel was rated as five stars, but I suspect that's only in comparison to other Madeira hotels, as I would give it a maximum of three stars. There's nothing special about it and the service wasn't that helpful or friendly (shuttle drivers could be rude, restaurant staff were imperious, the cleaners did a half-hearted job in the room, the cleaning people on our last day repeatedly rang the bell as though to hurry us to leave, and no one thanked us for coming or asked if we had enjoyed the stay). There were no vegetarian options (bean dishes at dinner had meat in them, for example) and the restaurant expected you to use the same utensils at the buffet for meat and vegetable dishes (and they also used the same pan and utensils at breakfast to make meat and veg omelettes). I also didn't like that the shuttle stopped so early in the day and that the shuttle could be crowded with guests from other hotels. Sure, the room was fairly large and it had a kettle, and the hotel had indoor and outdoor pools, but I didn't think it was distinguished in any way, and I wouldn't go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear guest,
It was with deep concearn that we read the comments and faults pointed out and we deeply regret that, we did not manage to correspond to your expectations as building and service.
Great surprise to us was also your comment about our staff behaviour, which is not the feedback we usual receive from our customers.
We shall share your opinion with them and reflect in how can we improve.
We will improve and prepare with our chef, a wieder variety of diets to be available to our guests, specially in busy Seasons as was the Christmas and New Year.
Regarding the cleanliness of your room, once again we apologise and regret not to be informed and, in this way could have also changed for a different time.
I regret we did not have the chance to be informed by you when while staying with us, to deal and improve all these points you mention.
Saying this, we send our sincere apologies for not corresponding to your expectations in such a special season as it is Christmas and hope to have the pleasure of welcome you back in the future.
With kind regards and wishes of a Happy New Year
Yours sincerely
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013 via mobile

Room with a view facing west over the Arlantic providing a relaxing sunset each evening enjoying wine and snacks on our balcony. The staff, especially Owner's Relations was great in helping us create an itinerary for the week on island tours and meal options. Our first evening was the only night we had dinner on sight; there are plenty of other options nearby and in town either direction. You can begin or end your evening in the lounge downstairs with entertainment every night.
The promenade allowed a convenient walk in either direction to downtown Funchal or Camara de lobos. Convenient transportation to downtown Funchal as well (walk one way, ride the other?).
All common areas were clean and had nice decor. Our unit had everything we needed during the week, however for such a nice place, some of the finishes were lacking (older non flat screen TVs, no wi-fi access in unit). There was a minor insect problem that staff responded to quickly - I'm guessing this is a common occurrence since insects/ants is listed on a drop down box in the online survey from the resort.
It was off-peak season and our first visit to Madeira...most of our time during the day was off site. We didn't use nearly all the amenity the resort has to offer (pool, fitness center, spa, etc.). Hopefully the opportunity will allow itself in the future.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing lti Pestana Grand Hotel.
We were glad to learn that you enjoyed the room and views to the Atlantic Sea.
Our hotel was built in a year that the flat Tv's were being built, however the future is for a change for flat's. Regarding the internet in the whole hotel, we've been experienced some tecnical problems and it is our aim to have wifi fully operating at the Pestana Grand soon.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This is a good quality hotel, with efficient, discreet, attentive staff and good facilities. Both our room and the public areas were smart and very clean. We enjoyed the indoor swimming pool and the gym, but did not try any spa treatments. We were slightly disappointed with the gardens, which were very neat, and pleasant enough, but not as 'tropical and lush' as those at the Miramar where we also stay. We had 2 young teenagers with us, and made good use of the Madeira Forum shopping centre which is close by. The kids were able to visit on their own to 'hang out' (visit McDonalds, buy coffees, do clothes shopping), and we were able to see the newly released Skyfall movie at the Cinema there. Also recommend the walks along the seafront, into Funchal or to Camara dos Lobos. We have been visiting Madeira for 12 years and always feel safe, and the climate is good. Don't understand why more families don't go.

Room Tip: We had a 2-bedroom apartment that wrapped around the end of the building with lovely views on all si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, January 1, 2013
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing the lti Pestana Grand Hotel for visiting Madeira.
The compliments you made towards both our facilities and staff make us feel proud, our aim is certainly to provide all our guests a good holiday in a friendly atmosphere.
The gardens in the Grand and all the layout of the hotel is different, having also a different target on the type of hotel that guests choose to stay. Besides, due to proximity of the Ocean, the salt would not let the type of threes and flowers existing in Miramar to survive at our hotel.
We hope you have an excelent New Years together with your family and we certainly look forward to welcome you back soon.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north staffordshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We spent 2 weeks at this hotel from 19th November to 3rd December. It has well kept gardens and very smart guest areas. There is direct access onto the promenade which leads almost to Funchal in one direction and Camara de Lobos in the other so is ideally placed for walking. As the hotel was very quiet we often had the indoor pool to ourselves. This is our 2nd visit and we will return as it is so peaceful and in a lovely situation. All the staff from the reception to the cleaners are pleasant and helpful.. The view from our 3rd floor balcony was stunning so choose a sea view room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 22, 2012
Dear guest,
Thank you very much for visiting us again!
Were glad that we still have what it takes to provide you a nice and relaxed holidays.
We wish to you and your family a Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year.
We look forward to see you again between us.
With kind regards
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

I have been visiting this hotel since new and the quality of furnishings is still as good as when built. The cleaners change towels and bedding more frequently than any other hotel I have ever stayed in. There is always a quiet corner where you can find peace to read a book. Very few children stay in this hotel which means the peace is never interrupted. The views are spectacular both towards the mountains and to the sea. The frequency of both the hotel bus and the public bus is reliable. The only drawback is the price of the restaurants in the hotel but there are plenty of other restaurants nearby which offer cheaper meals.

Room Tip: Rooms on the South West side offer good views of the sea and also the mountains. They get the evenin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FrontOfficeGrand, Manager at lti Pestana Grand Hotel, responded to this review, December 9, 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for visiting us.
We were glad to hear from you that, the Grand still have the facilities and environment to provide you a relaxed holiday. Even with all the efforts we made, regarding the F&B services we found it really hard to compete with the services provided outside of the Hotel, which are many.
We hope to see you many more times at the Grand, until there we send our sincere regards and wishes of a saint Christmas and a Happy New Year to you and all your family.
Maria da Paz Garcia
Diretora de Zona/Complex Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to lti Pestana Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about lti Pestana Grand Hotel

Address: Rua Ponta da Cruz, 23, Funchal, Madeira 9000-103, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#12 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#12 Family Hotel in Funchal
#14 Business Hotel in Funchal
#15 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#16 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — lti Pestana Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 177
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your lti Pestana Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Grand Funchal
Hotel Pestana Grand
Pestana Grand Hotel
Pestana Grand Madeira
Lti Pestana Grand Hotel Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage lti Pestana Grand Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.