We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Funchal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Carlton Madeira

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Carlton Madeira to your Saves list
Pestana Carlton Madeira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Antonio Nobre, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous Funchal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

This was our first visit to Madeira and we were very impressed with this beautiful island. We were delighted with our hotel, which was extremely comfortable, despite the appearance when you approach it! Our room had a sea view, which I would recommend. The staff were friendly and helpful. The provision of robes, slippers and pool towels was welcomed as were the tea making facilities. We ate in the hotel on a couple of occasions and the food in the Taverna was delicious. If you like gin & tonics, I'd recommend the Gin & tonic Carlton cocktail! The pool area is spacious and well equipped ( we saw extra sunbeds being brought out on a particularly busy day). Wi Fi is only available on 2 of the public floors. We would definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: I would recommend a room with a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your fabulous review.
We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed a lovely stay.
We also take this opportunity to thank you for all your recommendations. We are sure that our new visitors will benefit of these very useful advices.
We look forward to welcome you in a not distant future as promised.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    579
    396
    89
    34
    6
See reviews for
232
667
30
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (342)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bodicote, Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We have time shares here in the beach club,we only had 2 more years to go but we have extended for another 10 years in a newly refurbished apartment, I love the layout and the new pool on sea level is lovely, staff are friendly and will go out of their for you. Looking forward to next year when we can go and relax.

Room Tip: Facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guests/Dear Owners,
Thank you very much for your holiday feedback.
Achieving quality and our guest’s satisfaction is our daily goal and when it happens we feel that our mission has been accomplished.
We are very happy to read that you have extended your contract giving us the happiness of your visit for the next 10 years more.
We look forward to welcome you again next year.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lochwinnoch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

This hotel was very nicely equipped. There were ample pools although the top pool was salt water which I did not really like. There are always lots of sunbeds available so there was not that rush to get to the pool in the morning. If you required a parasol it cost 2 Euros. We did not use the bars in the hotel as they were quite expensive, there was a good pub across the road that was very cheap €2.30 for the local beer which was Coral and it is quite nice.

We had a one bedroom apartment for 3 of us. We had two bathrooms- one with a shower and the other with a bath and a shower.One bedroom with two single beds and one double pull down bed in the living area and a small kitchen and a huge double balcony, we were in room 2416.

These were ok but the pillows left a lot to be desired, they were sort of stuffed with what seemed like cotton wool balls. Apart from that I could not fault the place, it was cleaned every day and the sheets were changed every day. The staff seemed very pleasant, especially the concierge on the door - I forget his name but he would remember mine, he could speak a few different languages and was always very friendly.

I would say that this hotel is good but if you want to walk into Funchal centre then it is quite hilly and the pavements are very hard to walk on, small mosaic tiles that were quite slidey and the pavements were not flat, all full of bumbs but a taxi into town was about €4

Room Tip: Room 2416 or 2409 was good (2409 was on the corner and was huge
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guests/Owners,
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel and the Vacation Club take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback.
We are very happy to confirm that we have 4 pools for our dear guests to use: two outdoor (with seawater, from which one is heated and the other one is not heated), and two heated indoor.
We have read your opinion about the pricing in the bars and we are sorry for your disappointment.
Your kind words regarding the staff, especially the concierge will serve as an incentive to carry on the good work.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Pestana Carlton for a week on holiday in June 2014.

Overall the hotel is fantastic... Clean, on the whole good service, great facilities etc.

We had a mountain view room and if you're staying here I would definitely recommend opting for a sea view room. The hotel is right on the coast and the views are gorgeous.

The rooms themselves had everything you would need although could do with a bit of modernisation. That said the bathroom was nice (although the shower was poor).

We didn't try the buffet dinners, but breakfast was a great selection ranging from hot food, cereals, fruit, pastries and sliced meats/cheeses. There is a great restaurant called Beef and Wine close to the hotel which I would definitely recommend trying.

One thing worth noting is that the hotel is right at the top of a hill so if you struggle walking then it might be worth finding somewhere not on such a slope (although there are buses and taxis).


Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for your kind contribution in Tripadvisor.
We are very glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us in June. We hope you have enjoyed the Firework’s festival which takes place in this month and we take this opportunity to advise you to come one year for the New Year’s festivities to admire the fireworks all around the bay of Funchal.
We thank you very much for your recommendation regarding the modernization of the rooms.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

My other half has been to Madeira quite a few times and normally stays at the Royal Savoy next door but we thought we would give the Pestana ago. We booked the holiday via Thompson who said it was a 5* hotel.

First impression of the hotel is good, the main lobby was clean and the area surrounding the hotel was nice. The staff that checked us in were really friendly. There was a problem with our room, we booked a room with a "sea view" but the room we was given was a view of the mountains. We went back down to reception and all was sorted.

We was given a room with overlooked the marina on the 18th floor! It was an amazing view and worth the extra cost for the room! The room was clean and a good size. Our room has a small TV that does have some English channels (BBC News, CNN and BBC Entertainment) and a fridge. Just a warning, the fridge is pretty small so don't rely on it too much. The air conditioning was okay but not amazing, it resulted in us using the spare key to leave it on 24/7 to keep the room cool. Our room also had a small balcony that had a table and two wicker chairs. There was also dressing gowns, towels and beach towels which was a nice touch.

The pool area was kept really clean with plenty of room. The only issue we had was finding the pool attendant. It was quite a busy week for the hotel but there only seemed to be one guy around the pool areas. There are two pool areas which are both pretty nice. There is also a indoor pool with a massive jacuzzi.

Our room was Bed and Breakfast, at first the breakfast was really nice however its the same everyday. We got sooo bored and fed up of the same food that we started to skip it. We didn't eat anything else at the hotel as there is plenty of restaurants in the area. I would recommend Beef and Wine which is about a 5 minute walk away.

It can be quite loud in the evening, we did go for a couple of drinks in one of the terrances which was nice in the evening however when you got to your room you could hear the same guy singing! The bar staff were amazing, I got any cocktail/drink I wanted, just had to ask. They seem to know what is what.

Overall the hotel was really good, the only issue was the 5 stars. It isn't a 5 star hotel! We went expecting a 5 star hotel and didn't get it.

Overall the hotel was nice

Room Tip: Get a sea view room... really worth the extra money!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guests,
Thank you very much for the opportunity by choosing the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel for your holiday in Madeira.
The views from the 18th floor are indeed very impressive, we are very happy to hear that after sorted about the room you have enjoyed it.
Regarding the English channels, we are obliged to inform that this is a situation out of our power as the problems with the satellite do not let us receive the signal in Portugal as we used to. We are hoping to find a solution in the near future.
We understood that we did not meet your expectations totally and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Am actually a little late in writing this review as we actually stayed here in early June. Better late than never though. This hotel sits at the top of a steep road (no real surprise here as a lot of roads are steep!) leading out of Funchal heading towards the lido area. We were very lucky to have been given a pool view room on checking in which gave us a beautiful sun soaked balcony overlooking the sea as well as the pool. The hotel is well maintained and the staff were all very friendly - particularly Lisbeth (apologies for spelling!) on reception who was always smiling and greeted us by name whenever we passed the front desk. The overall standard was very appealing and I would love to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Dear Guests,
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel would like to thank you for your review.
We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and wish to come back soon.
We can assure you that your comments addressed to the team have been very much appreciated as the recognition of our dear guests.
We look forward to hear of your return.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

this was our 3 holiday in maderia and our second visit to the pestana carlton[first 2013] with our friends sue&steve.our room was 1722 which was on a corner so we got a 180% view which was great.we booked in as b&b which were more than ample,fried,continental,fresh fruit,loads of coffee or tea.the weather was a mix of strong breezes,sunshine and a day of rain but we still enjoyed sunbathing by the pools.the staff were very helpfull and friendly like the last visit.if you go like we did b&b then heres a few places that you might like to eat in,Casa des Espetadas,Casa Madeirense,Kon-Tiki restaurant[5 minutes away from the hotel,beef on the stone was wonderfull].,Beef &Wines[this one is a must go to] and to finish the holiday off book a meal at the Forte, really good food but book the vintage car to pick you up and take you back, spoil yourself.the city centre is only 15-20 minutes walk away, on the way there are some wonderfull gardens to look at, if your feeling peckish then call in at Alfazeme a little coffe/tea shop right on the front near the cable cars, really nice cakes and snacks. the only blot on what was a lovely week was the thomson trip to the east of the island which we paid £100 for,it rained all day,thick cloud so you could not see anything,we saw lots of toilets and coffee shops as the tour rep had not got a plan be, never again.overall a very good holiday and we all look forward to going back in the near future.

Room Tip: we asked for a room high up and we got a room with a fantastic view of the capital and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Guests,
The Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel thanks you very much for the review that you have submitted in this website.
We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed another good holiday with your friends in Madeira and Pestana Carlton.
We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Carlton Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Carlton Madeira

Address: Largo Antonio Nobre, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#15 Business Hotel in Funchal
#16 Family Hotel in Funchal
#16 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#20 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#21 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Carlton Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Carlton Madeira, one of the most lively hotels in Madeira, enjoys a privileged setting in Funchal, at the top of a slope on the island of Madeira, providing fantastic views over the bay of Funchal and the sea. This luxurious and charismatic hotel in Madeira is a reference point for any visitor to Madeira, due to the excellent conjugation of a family atmosphere with the sophistication of its excellent installations. Once you are in the hotel, you will find at your disposal a wide range of services you can enjoy, including 3 leisure areas. In the Garden Pool, you will find a heated saltwater outdoor pool and a swimming pool for children. In the Atlantic Pool, there is a salt water outdoor pool with access to the sea and an indoor pool with Jacuzzi, relaxation rooms and bar. The Magic Spa offers an indoor heated swimming pool with sauna, Turkish bath, Jacuzzi, gym and treatment rooms. To promote the cultural gastronomic diversity of Funchal, this 5 star hotel in Madeira has 3 restaurants and 3 bars, with excellent views of the Atlantic Ocean, with a variety of flavours that will satisfy the most demanding tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Pestana Carlton Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Carlton Madeira Funchal
Carlton Hotel Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Carlton Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.