We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd Time Around” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Carlton Madeira

Save Saved
You added Pestana Carlton Madeira to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Carlton Madeira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Antonio Nobre, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Cambrdige, ON
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“2nd Time Around”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Once again we enjoyed our stay at the Pestana Carlton fo 10 days (June-July 2013). the Room was as expected, clean and comfy and spacious, just enough for the two of us. We booked a room facing the pool area and the ocean. Fantastic view. Pool areas are very nice and enjoyable. The weather was great, which made it even more enjoyable. Would just like to make a couple of observations, tha we feel may be worth mentioning.1) if you are a non-smoker, even thought the rooms are non-smoking, the balconies are not, and we always had a smell of smoke everytime we opened the door to our balcony. Was a bit annoyed, because we would have liked to keep the door open v/s the AC during the night, however, the smoke smell kept us from doing that. 2) the restaurant meals, at the hotel, we found a little on the expensive side (when spending dollars). $32euros per person for the buffet dinner was a little too much compared to other restuarants in the area. We like the fact that the hotel is a 15 minute walk from Funchal, as it gave us a chance to walk. Several restaurants within walking distance, and right outside the hotel. For a drink after dinner, or a light sandwich you can't beat PUB No. 2 right across the street from this hotel with free and fast Wifi. All in all a good experience.

Room Tip: We faced the pool/ocean on the 11 floor. If smoke smell bothers you and you like to sit out on the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    360
    80
    31
    6
See reviews for
207
605
25
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

stayed at the madeira 24/06- 01/07/2013(room 1702town view) and could not fault it,the only little niggle was bad wi fi and the hotel would not change travellers cheques.the room was great,air con worked and the fridge was great, pool area was also great.never eat inside the hotel as prices steep.we can recommend the beef and wine restaurant and also a trip to the fort via the rep for a meal find where the locals eat.this was our second trip to the island(with our friends from manchester) we all agreed we would go again and possibly to the same hotel.

Room Tip: try and get a sea veiw room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here in June for 1 week and had a really lovely chilled out week. Our room was mountain facing as we thought it was really too much extra to pay for a sea view, on floor 10 above the hotel entrance. The balcony was very small with a couple of chairs and a table and looked across to the restaurants and bar which we frequented several times. The room was made up with 2 large single beds however we called reception to ask if they could be made up into a double and within 5 minutes this had been done, excellent. The bed was extremely comfortable and we were never disturbed by any noise from the street at all. Tea and coffee making facilities were provided which was good, we did take a few tea bags as others on here had advised and bought milk from the supermarket across the road.
We were on B and B so can only comment on the breakfast, we always found plenty of choice perhaps not as much as some hotels we have stayed in, however the omelettes were made to order and were excellent. Also do try the little warm custard tarts, they are delicious.
We ate at several restaurants, some in the old town, loads to choose from, The Chalet over the road was very good and reasonable prices, very popular though and you may have to wait for a table. We tried the chateaubriand there and it was really good. The drink prices in the No 2 pub were good and their wine acceptable, we had lunch there a few times, the tuna sandwich on a bread cake was probably the best I have ever had, the bread bun was warm and crispy, I could just eat one now!
The hotel was very quiet at night, not much going on and not a lot of atmosphere, obviously most people are out and about. However this was really the only downside, during the day the pool scene was fab, plenty of loungers and the man comes to put the umbrella up for you if you want one. The pool was lovely, not too cold and very clean as was the whole hotel.
We ate in the pool bar one lunchtime, it was nice but quite expensive which is obviously why we ate over the road.
The staff were all lovely, very helpful and always with a smile.
We loved Funchal and will certainly return to the Pestana Carlton.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodicote, Oxfordshire
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We have time shares in the beach club, what a lovely place to stay, we spend two weeks here and enjoy every minute, lovely pool areas, great new pool and jacuzzi as well, all staff very helpful and polite.

Room Tip: A great place to rest and relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

We found the Pestana Carlton to be in an excellent location, be well maintained, have very good staff and produce very good food. If you do eat in the hotel at night, go to the buffet early as they do some very nice salads and desserts. Breakfast is extensive, plenty of choice and from what I can tell the bread is made on site.

I have two little gripes. One being unlucky enough to be in a room next to smokers on each side, so when they smoked on the balcony you would get full waft of it onto your balcony and room. Being non smokers this got rather irritating. Reception told us that we should have mentioned it to them because in Portuguese law you are not allowed to smoke in public places, and balconies are. They would have told off the inconsiderate people of not British nationality that's all I will say.

On arrival they wanted to upgrade us to a suite before letting us see our room which we had paid extra for. I would recommend to the hotel management that this hard sell after a long flight isn't appreciated, especially for an extra 30 Euros per night. Yes, very nice suites, but drop your prices if you expect people to go for that.

Apart from that we have no complaints and wish to return next year, and woe betide any smokers in my immediate locality, I will not be keeping quiet next time.

Little tip, if you have a late transfer and they can't accomodate a late check out they do let you shower and change in the spa which is nice and clean. It sets you up for the long flight back.

Room Tip: Sea facing, mountain view is by a road. If you don't like heights watch where they put you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The star ratings of hotels varies greatly in different countries. We enjoyed our stay here but for us its quality match's nothing better than a good 4 star. I will explain, first night we came back from our evening meal (before 10pm) walked into reception and you could hear a pin drop, great if you want to be in bed by 10 but no entertainment from what we could see. Two senior citizens were nodding off in the same area, but as we had been travelling all day didn’t mind too much as an early night suited us. We are both in our late 40’s but we felt a little out of place here, when we did hear some entertainment a few nights later it was clearly aimed at the over 65’s. I felt quite sorry for some of the younger people I saw here during our week. The hotel caters for the majority, and because of this left out anyone not falling into that category.
Our room was nice, we were on the 1st floor so had direct access to the pool but no view, but we were happy with that. Prices from the bar by the pool were 5 star, over 5 euros for 2 small ice creams. During our time by the pool no one came around asking if we wanted drinks etc., this is a basic service I would have expected if you are going to pay a premium for drinks.
The gym was poor due to a lot of the equipment not being maintained, weights machines incorrectly set up with no way of adjusting them without a socket set! Steam room was good, as was the indoor pool, but the sauna was out of order. The staff in there could have made a better effort to help people get the most from the area, but you were just handed a towel and allowed to get on with it.
We stayed on a bed and breakfast deal, so can only comment on the breakfast which we both enjoyed. The major let down was the Eastern Europeans who have just found out about international travel (at least it seems that way) they had to make sure they were the first to get served, and were extremely rude and thoughtless towards other guests in all parts of the hotel.
The cleanliness of the place couldn’t be faulted and we left a tip for the maids who worked really hard.
In conclusion if you are after a relaxing break in a 4 star hotel, then this is the place – no way does it deserve five stars.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, UK
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

To be clear, there are a variety of different types of accommodation in the main building. We booked a 'studio' for 2 people, via RCI. We saw other rooms that were far more spacious and fitted out very differently, but suspect these are for Pestana owners. Our 'studio' was smaller than I expected - just a hotel room with a pleasant new kitchenette added to the entrance area. We only bother with the occasional breakfast, but it was well equipped and very clean. With only two of us, the room was quite large enough, with a good amount of storage and 2 comfortable armchairs. The bed was OK. We had a large window with glass across the entire wall leading on to a narrow balcony. We were on the 8th floor and had a pool/sea view, which was the best thing by far about the room. Half the rooms look back over the front of the hotel over the entrance, roads and to the hills beyond, so we were very pleased to be on the 'right' side (I gather RCI guests sometimes get the poorer situated rooms).

At first glance, this hotel is steeped in it's 1970's former glory - it must have been quite something in it's day. As a consequence, there are plenty of areas that look very old fashioned and places where there's obvious signs of the hotel's age. My first impression wasn't great. However, there's no denying it is in a fabulous location and stuck between Reid's and the Savoy, couldn't better.

The lower pool area by the sea was having running repairs done to the tiled areas, which had seen better days. But then there are surprising new features. The lift down to the lower pool is clearly new, although the lift tower itself is in need of a serious coat of paint. There's a stunning new indoor pool, not to be missed, that is really 5*. Next to it is the diving school which is decidedly tatty. But all in all, you see past these shortcomings after a while and enjoy the facilities and general pleasant ambiance within the hotel. The main pool area is very pretty in amongst the pots and plants and kept in good order. Both outdoor pools are very clean. I really loved the access to the sea - not for the faint hearted at high tide, but very refreshing and good fun. There are plenty of sun beds. We paid 2 euros per day for the umbrella (I gather not everyone pays) but only ended up actually getting charged 8 euros for the week, so not an issue. I was particularly impressed with reception staff and concierge. This isn't something I usually comment on, but any time I approached them, either to check in, buy the breakfast package, get help with wifi or check out, I was offered extra help, small discounts etc. Maybe this is a Madeira thing, as people do seem to be very friendly and keen to help, but certainly the hotel staff are very pleasant. Getting a taxi outside the hotel is very easy.

One general note - we'd been to Madeira previously a couple of times about 10 years ago and it wasn't cheap then, but we were rather taken aback by the restaurant prices. We opt for the higher end restaurants, only being there for a week, so our budget isn't tight, but we spent around 100+ euros on several occasions for fairly average fayre. But of note, I would highlight Tokos (walk 5 mins beyond Reid's hotel) - our 3rd visit (last one was 10 years ago, and the main man there is still as barmy) - very good food and a very individual place but quite expensive. We also discovered The Fort at the end of the Old Town (the mustard coloured old building in the other direction) - try the 39 euro package for very good value and lots of pose. Somewhere to get dressed up for and surprisingly good food.

All in all, the Carlton really grew on me, and we would certainly return.

Room Tip: If you have a choice, the sea view is obviously the one to go for. The higher, the better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Carlton Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Carlton Madeira

Address: Largo Antonio Nobre, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#11 Business Hotel in Funchal
#16 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#17 Family Hotel in Funchal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#22 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Carlton Madeira 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Carlton Madeira, one of the most lively hotels in Madeira, enjoys a privileged setting in Funchal, at the top of a slope on the island of Madeira, providing fantastic views over the bay of Funchal and the sea. This luxurious and charismatic hotel in Madeira is a reference point for any visitor to Madeira, due to the excellent conjugation of a family atmosphere with the sophistication of its excellent installations. Once you are in the hotel, you will find at your disposal a wide range of services you can enjoy, including 3 leisure areas. In the Garden Pool, you will find a heated saltwater outdoor pool and a swimming pool for children. In the Atlantic Pool, there is a salt water outdoor pool with access to the sea and an indoor pool with Jacuzzi, relaxation rooms and bar. The Magic Spa offers an indoor heated swimming pool with sauna, Turkish bath, Jacuzzi, gym and treatment rooms. To promote the cultural gastronomic diversity of Funchal, this 5 star hotel in Madeira has 3 restaurants and 3 bars, with excellent views of the Atlantic Ocean, with a variety of flavours that will satisfy the most demanding tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Otel, Agoda, Hotel.de and Venere so you can book your Pestana Carlton Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Carlton Madeira Funchal
Carlton Hotel Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Carlton Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.