We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The first but not the last holiday in Madeira.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Carlton Madeira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Carlton Madeira to your Saves list
Pestana Carlton Madeira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Antonio Nobre, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 88 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“The first but not the last holiday in Madeira.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

This was our first time to Madeira and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Pestana Carlton hotel in Funchal. It was beautiful. The hotel was very clean and made you very welcome. Our sea-view room couldn't be better. It was spacious, very clean and had good views. The restaurants in the area were very well situated for us. The island was well worth a tour to appreciate it's beauty even in April. We'll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea-view room, the sun is on the balcony all day.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your excellent review about our hotel and your stay in Madeira.
We all look forward to welcome you again in the near future, please let us know the good news of your return in advance.

With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    735
    499
    140
    50
    10
See reviews for
313
856
35
30
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Gibraltar
Level Contributor
41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

This hotel was fabulous, restaurant just great, our room clean and spacious.
The staff very friendly and helpful.
Could not ask for better.
Very close to city centre, public transport was just across the road.
I'll be back.

Stayed May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review in Tripadvisor expressing your opinion about the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel helping other guests who are considering a holiday in Madeira.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parede, Lisboa, Portugal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

I cannot fault anything. We had an amazing holiday. Fabulous sea view suite, amazing service and friendliness. All in all it was brilliant. Our sea view room was excellent with lovely views around the bay of Funchal. I would have appreciated more variety of fruit selection at breakfast, but this is a personal taste.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

We have stayed at the Beach CLub (part of the Carlton) many times, we go twice a year- its a very friendly place to be with great facilities - pool, gym, indoor swimming pool - becoming a little dated now, but always an enjoyable stay, and Madeira is a wonderful Island.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest/Owner,
Thank you very much for your review giving us your feedback about another enjoyable holiday at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel.
Your kind contribution will serve as the best recommendation for other travelers looking for a hotel in Madeira to stay in.
We look forward to welcome you again soon.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a 1 week holiday and were delighted with the hotel. Our sea view room was excellent with lovely views around the bay of Funchal. We could see from Reid's Palace Hotel round to the cruise terminal. The hotel pool and gardens are beautiful.
The hotel excelled themselves by helping my wife and I celebrate her birthday with a bottle of sparkling wine whic we enjoyed on the balcony.
The location of the hotel is really very good as it is an easy 10 minute stroll into town. There is an uphill climb coming back but if you go through the public gardens it is a very easy walk back.

Room Tip: It is worth paying the extra for a sea view. Mountain view rooms overlook a busy road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to post your opinion and comments regarding your holiday at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel. We feel honored that you have chosen our hotel for celebrating your dear wife’s birthday and as you refer in your review, with our privileged location the seaview rooms offer indeed breathtaking views over the sea, pool and garden areas.

We look forward to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

After much research stayed here for a week over Feb half term with my 2 young children. I cannot fault anything. We had an amazing holiday. Fabulous sea view suite, amazing service and friendliness. All in all it was brilliant.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review and for sharing in this website your opinion about your brilliant recent stay. Achieving quality and our guests’ satisfaction is our daily goal and it is a great happiness to read your rewarding words.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future,
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Having stayed here before I booked a Standard Sea View Room, however was delighted to be upgraded to a Junior Sea View Suite on arrival. Service is excellent particularly the concierge Vasco, who is fabulous. Breakfast on the outside terrace is lovely, and our waiter Viv? was very attenitve, polite and efficient, more so than the other waiters.
I would have appreciated more variety of fruit selection at breakfast, but this is a personal taste.

Happy to reurn as always.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding another lovely holiday at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel.
Your loyalty gives us the great sensation of mission accomplish and your kind words rewarding our team, particularly Vasco and Viveiros will serve as an incentive to keep offering our best service to all those who choose to visit us.
With best regards and on behalf of all the team we wish you a lovely summertime and look forward to see you again.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Funchal hotels
0.3 mi away
Pestana Casino Park Hotel
0.2 mi away
Pestana Village Garden Resort Aparthotel
1.4 mi away
Lti Pestana Grand
Lti Pestana Grand
#11 of 88 in Funchal
4.5 of 5 stars 1,144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Pestana Miramar Garden Resort Aparthotel
0.4 mi away
The Cliff Bay (Porto Bay)
0.7 mi away
Pestana Palms Ocean Aparthotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pestana Carlton Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Carlton Madeira

Address: Largo Antonio Nobre, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531, Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Funchal
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#17 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#18 Family Hotel in Funchal
#24 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#26 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Carlton Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Carlton Madeira, one of the most lively hotels in Madeira, enjoys a privileged setting in Funchal, at the top of a slope on the island of Madeira, providing fantastic views over the bay of Funchal and the sea. This luxurious and charismatic hotel in Madeira is a reference point for any visitor to Madeira, due to the excellent conjugation of a family atmosphere with the sophistication of its excellent installations. Once you are in the hotel, you will find at your disposal a wide range of services you can enjoy, including 3 leisure areas. In the Garden Pool, you will find a heated saltwater outdoor pool and a swimming pool for children. In the Atlantic Pool, there is a salt water outdoor pool with access to the sea and an indoor pool with Jacuzzi, relaxation rooms and bar. The Magic Spa offers an indoor heated swimming pool with sauna, Turkish bath, Jacuzzi, gym and treatment rooms. To promote the cultural gastronomic diversity of Funchal, this 5 star hotel in Madeira has 3 restaurants and 3 bars, with excellent views of the Atlantic Ocean, with a variety of flavours that will satisfy the most demanding tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Pestana Carlton Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Carlton Madeira Funchal
Carlton Hotel Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Carlton Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.