We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Horel on top of cliff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Carlton Madeira

Save Saved
You added Pestana Carlton Madeira to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Pestana Carlton Madeira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Antonio Nobre, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Stafford England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Horel on top of cliff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Stayed (8th - 15th Apil 2013) in this well established hotel but modernised in recent times. Good sized rooms with robes.slippers,ample bath towels and toiletries. Digital safe in wardrobe free of charge. Hotel provides 2 bottles of still water in bedroom ( 1 is 1 ltr other .75) There is a printed notice on each bottle that there is a charge of 3.75euros for each if you use the water. There is a mini market opposite the hotel selling well known brands of still water for .70 cents litre.As always (well almost always) there were insufficent coat hangers for one person, let alone for two people which my room was provided for.
This is a large hotel situated on a cliff top overlooking the sea as well as the distant mountains , which has a quirky lift system. If you wish to travel from your room to sea level you need to use three lifts. To give you some idea, reception at street level is on level 6. There is an abundance of stairs and even steps between various public rooms on the same floor, so if you have difficulty in getting up two or three steps, this is not the place for you.
All meals were buffet during my stay and although extensive the choice remained fairly static throughtout. I am a fan of cereals for breakfast so I noticed they were poor quality with about four choices. At no time did they offer weetabix or shredded wheat. - I make this comment because it is a 5star hotel.#
All the staff were helpful when asked for information but I do wish they would smile more often when dealing with guests.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your review in Tripadvisor regarding your recent stay at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel.
We feel very sorry for having falling shortly on your expectations regarding the meals, especially breakfast for which we present our most sincere apologies. Please rest assured that good notice of your remarks has been taken in order to improve our offer.
Regarding the stairs and just not to mislead other potential visitors we would like to refer that all areas in the hotel are accessed by lifts and/or ramps as well.
It was also with great concern that we have read your comments about the staff and we will do our best to improve in order to prevent having that kind of comments again.
We hope to have the pleasure of your future visit.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

841 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    444
    295
    67
    29
    6
See reviews for
167
497
19
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (232)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Great Missenden, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Another fabulous week at the resort. The staff are attentive but not intrusive. The service is excellent. The grill room last night was really good. he food was exquisite. Why people choose to go into the buffet when there is such excellent fare in the Grill room offers such fantastic food I will never know.

Room Tip: Speak to Mr Spinola who is an absolute star at organising anything
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest/Owner,
The Pestana Carlton would like to thank you for your review. Achieving quality and our guests’/owners’ satisfaction as well as their happiness is our daily goal.
We are delighted to hear that you have had another fabulous week and we take this chance to thank you for your compliments regarding the Taverna Grill Restaurant. The Chef together with his team do their best to make your evening meals the most memorable experience.
We look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
.With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I stayed here in the Easter hols for one week with my parents. The hotel was lovely. The location is great too, the views out from the hotel from all angles were spectacular. There are a handful of restaurants and bars just out the front of the hotel and a supermarket about 50 meters away so all very handy. If you want to go to the center of funchal take a taxi (front of the hotel) will cost about 5 euros or if your very fit you can tackle the hill on foot.

The hotel itself is very clean and spacious. We had mountain view rooms on a high floor (beware if you're scared of heights!) the rooms have a fridge to use and also tea and coffee facilities though you are better off either bringing your own tea/coffee or buying it from the shop outside the hotel as you have to pay to have them replenished. There is free internet connection for a laptop on the desk (they give you the wires and the passwords at reception) but if you want the wifi you have to be in the lounge/bar/terrace area.

The buffet dinner was very nice, lots of choice of food, but one of my only complaints would be how stuffed in you were. Most nights was only about a third full but they still put you right next to each other and the tables aren't very far away from each other.
We spent the evenings after dinner in the 'library' playing cards on their card tables, very nice room with views out over the ocean. not many books in there though. you could hear the live music from the bar drifting in as well so was very nice way to end the day.

The pool bar at lunch was perfect, service was great, food choice was everything you could want from a pool bar and the views over the pools/sea were lovely.We spent an evening in the pub to watch a football match and they were very accommodating, making sure it was on the right channel at the right time, the food in the pub was lovely too, and very nice desserts that you can have hot or cold and with ice cream if you like.

The main pool is heated to 26 degrees, which is still a bit chilly if the sun isn't out but a lot warmer than the unheated pool down by the sea. There are also indoor pools that we didn't use that are also heated.

There was some small building renovations happening in the lower floor apartments near the pool but they didn't really effect our stay or our sleep at all.

The only downside really is their games room. Which has a cheap pool table, a rather expensive looking table tennis table and a worn looking football table. All were dirty and dusty, The pool table was covered in concrete dust? and the room itself, though looking out over the ocean, felt as if you were breathing in concrete dust as well. which is a shame as i love to play a game of pool against dad on holidays but we couldn't stay in there for any length of time.

Other than that the hotel was brilliant, will probably be coming back although it is rather expensive. Hopefully will be a bit more sunny next time!

Room Tip: We had mountain view rooms on a high floor which were lovely but if you want sun on your balcony go...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback, telling us all about your great stay at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel.
We are sure that your descriptive review will help many other travelers to choose where to stay in on their next trip to Madeira Island.
We are very happy to hear that you have had a nice holiday enjoying all the facilities within the hotel and we thank you also for your good suggestions. The hotel has been subject of several renovations through the years, for example the new pool by the ocean level, and the Reception area in December but there is always new opportunities to improve. All your suggestions are most welcome.
We cannot promise the sunshine, but we look forward to welcome you and your family in the near future.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

This was our first package holiday for our family of four (two kids age 6 and 10) We booked through Thomsons and were a little wary about te whole thing, but didn't need to be. The whole experience was excellent from start to finish. We have travelled extensively and are ver fussy about hotels, but the Carlton was fantastic. We had two adjoining rooms with an island view, which is breath taking, and in our view far more interesting than a sea view. The rooms were spacious clean and very nicely furnished. The beds were very comortable. We were on a Bed and Breakfast package and breakfast was great. We decided not to take he dinning package a we wanted to eat out at different restaurants which we really enjoyed. Based on the quality of the hotel and the breakfast, we assume the food elsewhere in the hotel would be equally good.

An excellent hotel that deserves its 5 stars.

Room Tip: If you don't mind heights take a room on the top floors. Island view is great, paying extra for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review and for choosing the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel for your holiday in Madeira, showing that this hotel is also suitable for family holidays.
Your kind words and recommendation are the best award we could obtain and we will do our best to carry on with the good work.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you all again,
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Amazing location, OK staff, great view! The hotel needs a renovation (I believe it is one of the oldest ones in the island) but other than that I had a great time there. Very spacious, the pool bar's view is breathtaking and the bar is quite nice as well. If interested in doing a taxi tour around the island, I recommend asking at the reception for Otavio, an amazing guide we had. The guys speak all principal languages and is like an encyclopaedia, not to mention really sympathetic.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for the review you have submitted in this website.
We are very glad to read that you enjoyed a nice holiday at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel.
This hotel was indeed first built in 1972, but we would like to take this opportunity to refer the several renovations which have been endured through the years improving our facilities and service. However, we are well aware that there are always new opportunities in terms of improvement and development to follow.
Once again thank you for your contribution and we look forward to welcome you again in the near future.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed at the Pestana the week before Easter leaving on the bank holiday Monday. We were made to feel welcome from the moment we arrived until we left. We had paid extra for a seaview room and were offered an extra upgrade at a price which was a shame as we had already paid one upgrade! We opted for the room we had paid for overlooking the sea, mountains and port. Stunning view with lots of interesting things to observe. Breakfast was plentiful and very good although the cooked(hot) food was only barely warm rendering it uneatable for my taste. Lukewarm scrambled eggs etc are not nice. However the fruits, cereals, pastries and breads more than made up for it. On the downside the bottled water in the room was overpriced so we did not use it and the tea/coffee making tray was only free unless you wanted a refill and then you would have to pay for a refil. For a hotel of this standard to charge for teabags/coffee and milk is a bit penny pinching given the room rates. We managed to avoid the time share representatives and did not succumb to offers of free drinks etc. Overall we would definately visit again.

Room Tip: we were in room 1530 overlooking the port and sea, highly recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GSMPCM, Guest Relations Manager at Pestana Carlton Madeira, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel.
We are very happy to hear that despite some less favorable details you enjoyed a lovely holiday and intend to come back to visit us.
Good notice of your remarks regarding the food has been taken in consideration and rest assured that we will do our best to improve.
Thank you very much for your recommendation. If you please let us know of your return in advance, we will do our best to allocate you in your favorite room or a similar one nearby.
We look forward to welcome you again.
With kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Good hotel with very friendly and helpful staff. Nothing was a problem for them. The pools (4) are excellent although some work to drill the earth from the balcony planters went on all morning and afternoon and was annoying...Breakfast is plentiful and we found the Pub did decent snacks or a drink before popping out. We did not try the restaurant - although the buffet at E29 in the Breakfast room one evening was well attended and the food was good with plenty to choose from for everyone.

Room Tip: Sea view rooms facing east overlook Funchal and the harbour. Sun on balconies in the morning only (k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana Carlton Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Carlton Madeira

Also Known As:
Pestana Carlton Madeira Funchal
Pestana Carlton Madeira Hotel
Carlton Hotel Madeira
Address: Largo Antonio Nobre, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
#14 Family Hotel in Funchal
#21 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#29 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Carlton Madeira 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel was totally refurbished in 2008. Enjoying a prime sea-front location, Pestana Carlton Madeira is one of Funchal's best established hotels offering direct access to the sea and 5 minutes walking distance from the center. The hotel offers 4 swimming pools,2 out-door, 1 for children and 1 indoor, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium, scuba diving, minigolf, tennis court, games room, playground, 3 bars, 3 restaurants. All rooms feature air-conditioning, safe, coffee & tea facilities, minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, HotelsClick, Otel, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Pestana Carlton Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Carlton Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.