We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The right choice” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Carlton Madeira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Carlton Madeira to your Saves list
Pestana Carlton Madeira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Antonio Nobre, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #25 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The right choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

Attentive, intelligent staff. Fabulous clean hotel, definitely 5 star. Perfect location in Funchal, stunning sea views! With the hotel staff nothing was a problem or a challenge, always ready to help. Their customer service was excellent. Due to its location, pubs, restaurants were within walking distance and the city centre was less than 5 mins taxi ride for less than 5 euros. We were there for the carnival and for a rest. Plenty of activities. The island was extremely friendly, safe and relaxing. We use to visit Egypt every year as a winter short break holiday, Madeira will be our new choice to revisit. Fabulous time!

Room Tip: Choosing a sea view room is definitely worth it for the amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    644
    440
    108
    42
    10
See reviews for
262
752
34
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed here during the first week in March and were very pleased with the Hotel we chose for our first visit to Madeira. The location was exceptionally good, situated in a very nice area, within a sensible walking distance from the Marina etc. The taxis were always available at a price of only 5 eurs into town. In fact, unlike many tourist destinations, the prices of taxis, restaurants, excursions, museums etc definitely did not "rip-off" their visitors. We took B and B in the hotel, as there were so many good eating places nearby. When viewing the menus of the Taverner Restaurant within the Hotel it seemed expensive, but can't comment as we didn't go there. We would have liked more to do in the evening within the hotel, there was very little if you don't want ballroom dancing with no atmosphere and play-by-itself music. A piano bar with a good singer/pianist would have been nice, also an area with card tables and perhaps scrabble boards etc. which would have made a nice sociable place to sit in the evening, with some background music and a bar. There was one large room with low tables but at night it was in darkness so we were reluctant to go in there with our pack of cards. So when we came in after our evening meal we just went up to our room. One small observation for the Hotel, the dreadful "artwork" in our room was so depressing, a large brown canvas with a sort of drawn wonky rectangle is how I describe it. Considering the beauty of the Island I would rather have seen a colourful print of flowers or the mountains than this trying-to be -clever canvas of rubbish. However, on the plus side after my gripes about the picture, everything else was first class- no complaints at all, it was a lovely hotel, good staff, clean, attractive public rooms, wonderful gardens and pool area, which are the most important things when chosing a hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Solihull, England
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a week here in early March. The hotel is in a lovely position on the coast next to Reids Palace.It is a 15 minute stroll into Funchal, a bit of a climb back! It is worth having a pool/sea view, these balconies get the sun all day, the garden and pool views are very attractive and you can watch the ships arriving at the port.
The hotel amenities are very good, but I would place them at 4* not 5* as they weren't quite luxurious enough for me. I agree with other reviews that the cocktail bar is not terribly inviting. The pool bar is the nicest place to sit, although not open in the evening. Maybe it is in the summer. There are plenty of places in the hotel to sit and read or talk.
The garden pool is lovely, heated and large with a decent depth for swimming, with an adjacent children's pool. I liked the showers and changing rooms as well, very useful, and there were plenty of sun beds available with extra towels if you needed them.
The room was of a reasonably high standard, nice bathroom, and robes were provided. I would have expected refills of tea and coffee for free in a 5* hotel, and at least one included bottle of water, but I guess thats just a sign of the times.
Maid service was good, if we were in the room when she first came, she would come back later which doesn't happen in a lot of hotels.
We only had breakfast in the hotel. The choice was good for cold items(lots of bread, rolls,cereals,cakes,pastries and ham and cheese,fruit-even sparkling wine) but we felt the cooked breakfast was poor. Horrible little sausages and undercooked bacon, left to keep warm for too long. Boiled eggs were completely uncooked.
We only had a piece of cake in the pub, which was fine, and we didn't eat in the Taverna as we felt the menu was overpriced. There are several restaurants near the hotel; we especially liked the Garden Grill.
All in all, we felt it was a good base for a spring break, and we would return. We felt Madeira generally was expensive, but this of course is made a lot worse by the exchange rate.

Room Tip: Choose a pool/sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limbach, Slovakia
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

We spent more than one week in this hotel as a family with two children. Generally I can express a great satisfaction with stay in Pestana Carlton Madeira hotel. Despite, "old fashioned - classic cuboidal" shape of the building, hotel gives satisfaction to any type of customer. We have been very satisfied with room that have consisted of two separate bedrooms (first one with view to ocean, second with view over the Funchal) as well as two separate bathrooms. Cleanliness of the room was also perfect. Even staff of the hotel was absolutely professional, although in some occassions have seemed a bit distant (especially the waiters, waitresses and bartender). All facilities of the hotel are absolutely sufficient. Perhaps there would be more facilities for children (especially in case the weather is not good). But on the other hand, hotel is being mostly visited by retirees so it is quite understandable.
Unfortunately we had not opportunity to try hotel restaurant as we got usually lunch and dinner out of hotel. But as a small lack I can mention the variety of the food at the breakfast. Customers of 5 star hotel would really deserve bigger variety of food, with touch of modern cuisine and use of local stuff (i.e. more salads, bigger variety of fruits and vegetables, not just cucumber, tomato, paprika and salad leafs, even more spreads etc.)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
worthing
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Hotel is excellent in every way. The rooms were extremely comfortable & clean, the food excellent & the staff very friendly & efficient. The Hotel is in an ideal position for walking into Funchal & enjoys wonderful views over the Bay. There are plenty of local restaurants serving very good food.If you have any problems during your stay the hotel could not be more helpful(T hank you Lisbeth !)

Room Tip: If you like sitting on a balcony in sunshine choose a seaview room. However the mountain view is won...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed here as an RCI exchange. Our room was excellent with separate lounge and bedroom and small kitchenette facility. WE were given a discount card by guest.s services which got us 10% off drinks and food in the hotel and surrounding restaurants which we used every day. Free internet access to RCI guests was also great. Our only issue was on our departure day our check out time was 12 noon. We had the maids at our door at 9.30 and then 10.30 to see if we would be leaving in order that they could clean the room. We then at Mr Spinota one of the managers call us at 11.15am asking when we would be vacating the room . We had a taxi booked to take us to the airport at 11.45am and would have checked out before our allocated time. Based on the last day issue I doubt if we will return

Room Tip: ask for a seaview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Congleton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Having visited Funchal on two other occasions, we always liked the look of this hotel so decided to try it and weren't disappointed. Had a pool view room (which means you get a sea view as well) and it was well worth it. Balcony had sun ALL DAY so it was nice to sit out there if you didn't want to go down to the pool area. We had a standard room which was more than adequate in size. Previous reviews say TV is limited but we found quite a few English channels including BBC and ITV. Never found those in Spanish hotels!! Hotel is very clean and I'm sure the towels were changed every day. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was superb - they had EVERYTHING! It was so nice to sit outside overlooking the pool having breakfast and sipping champagne on Mother's Day! The main outdoor pool is huge and we were quite often the only people using it. The indoor pool/gym/spa area is wonderful - the staff there are very friendly. The only complaint I would have is that they don't replenish the tea and coffee in the rooms - quite poor for a 5* hotel. For first-timers to Madeira - it's a beautiful island with lots of interest. Book at least one island tour to get the real flavour of the place. Would definitely go back to Madeira and definitely to the Pestana Carlton.

Room Tip: Pool view rooms means you also get a sea view - well worth it. We asked for a high-up room and had o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Pestana Carlton Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Carlton Madeira

Address: Largo Antonio Nobre, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#7 Business Hotel in Funchal
#15 Family Hotel in Funchal
#19 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#25 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#25 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Carlton Madeira 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pestana Carlton Madeira, one of the most lively hotels in Madeira, enjoys a privileged setting in Funchal, at the top of a slope on the island of Madeira, providing fantastic views over the bay of Funchal and the sea. This luxurious and charismatic hotel in Madeira is a reference point for any visitor to Madeira, due to the excellent conjugation of a family atmosphere with the sophistication of its excellent installations. Once you are in the hotel, you will find at your disposal a wide range of services you can enjoy, including 3 leisure areas. In the Garden Pool, you will find a heated saltwater outdoor pool and a swimming pool for children. In the Atlantic Pool, there is a salt water outdoor pool with access to the sea and an indoor pool with Jacuzzi, relaxation rooms and bar. The Magic Spa offers an indoor heated swimming pool with sauna, Turkish bath, Jacuzzi, gym and treatment rooms. To promote the cultural gastronomic diversity of Funchal, this 5 star hotel in Madeira has 3 restaurants and 3 bars, with excellent views of the Atlantic Ocean, with a variety of flavours that will satisfy the most demanding tastes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Pestana Carlton Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Carlton Madeira Funchal
Carlton Hotel Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Carlton Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.