We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New year 2012/13” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Carlton Madeira

Save Saved
You added Pestana Carlton Madeira to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pestana Carlton Madeira
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Largo Antonio Nobre, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531 , Portugal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 91 hotels in Funchal
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“New year 2012/13”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

We stayed at the hotel over the New Year. The room with a mountainside view, was comfortable and clean. The breakfast was good with a reasonable variety of choice. A good location within easy walking distance of Funchal centre.
What let the hotel down was the customer service, the exception being the doorman. A lovely man who was really friendly and could not do enough for us. It was a shame the same could not be said for the restaurant staff. No "Good Morning" at breakfast despite there always being someone at the entrance to ask your room number. Some of the waiters gave the impression that it was all too much of an effort. Even when leaving the restaurant we have always received a "thank you" from other hotels, not this one. We have previously stayed at the Pestana Casino and the staff were very friendly and customer service focused.
Yes it was a good hotel and a shame because it could have been a very good / excellent hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

932 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    493
    332
    72
    29
    6
See reviews for
184
556
22
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (269)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Husband and I stayed the week before Christmas and thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. It is well placed with a pleasant walk into town. To walk in the warm evening to see the Christmas lights and street entertainment was a pleasure. The hotel arranged a cocktail evening and the local music school provided a choir which helped us to remember the Season!
As for the seaview from the 15th floor it was captivating. I could happily give up TV (five English channels) to listen and watch the waves. The pool below was beautiful to see and also to use.
Excellent pedicure service and enjoyed swimming inside in pool on our one overcast day. Was completely gobsmacked that another day a woman was there walking around nude, especially since she looked as if she had come from a hunger camp, an unrelated man was relaxing and pretending to read the newspaper.
We had booked B&B and Breakfast was a feast. Best meal out was Beef on a Stone at Restaurant Bernini 5 mins away down hill on LH fork.
Hotel staff all very helpful. It was a bonus to have a Dive Centre in the hotel and my husband with their help and flexibility got his PADI qualification over four days. Loved guided walk. . Would definitely return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Another great holiday at the Carlton Hotel Madeira.Arrived Saturday 29th December for a two week winter break. On arrival we were welcomed with a glass of madeira and the staff were pleased to see us again. Our room overlooking the harbour and mountains was ready and welcoming.

This hotel is well located with only a short walk into Funchal and the old town with its selection of good restaurants.

Woke early Sunday morning to a magnificent view of the sunrise over the sea. Breakfast is very good with a wide choice of breads, fruits, cheese, ham and cooked breakfast.

Thw weather was great and we lounged in the lovely gardens and swam in the heated pool. The hotel has direct access to the Atlantic ocean but we were not brave enough to venture in.

We ate several nights in the Pub where the food is very good value and the staff friendly.

The Hotel is always very well presented with lovely fresh flowers and obviously at this time of year Christmas decorations.

We would have no problem recommending this hotel to anyone as we have stayed here at different times of the year and we think of it as our second home.

Room Tip: High floor rooms over looking the harbour and mountains give a spectacular view at different times o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

A very good five star in Funchal.
The food is great, people are great and very nice.
Very well located and has sea access for a nice swim at Atlantic Sea.
Please ask for high rooms for a better view. (either mountain view or sea view).

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

My family and I stayed here over the New Year period and generally enjoyed ourselves. It has all the attributes required to make it a really top quality 5 star hotel and yet there are some aspects that let the establishment as a whole down.

I'll start with the good stuff. Our room had an outstanding view of Funchal's mountainside from the hotel's 16th floor. The room itself was ok with excellent mattresses, blackout curtains and pillows. The staff were for the most part all very friendly and hard working, especially the doorman who helped us on a couple of occasions during our stay- top man. The hotel makes the most of its stunning location along a cove with excellently positioned cliff top rooms, poolside bars, jacuzzis only metres from the sea, 2 large pools, a small pier jutting out to sea, scuba classes directly offshore, an indoor spa, a bar that gets going in the early hours (or at least it was at 2am on New Year's day!) and only a 10 min stroll from Funchal centre.

Now the not so good stuff. Parts of the hotel don't look as if they have been changed since the early 1970s. They could really do with a face lift. The breakfast for a five star hotel is very poor with a limited selection of items. Then again, this has been my experience in all hotels in Portugal so it may well be that expections regarding breakfasts in Portugal are different to those elsewhere. There is a charge of 5 euros an hour to use an iron! £180 a night for our room and we had to pay five euros for an iron that didn't even have steam! This came across as mean and ridiculous for what is after all a 5 star establishment and not a roadside motel. There was no wifi in our room with reception being the only place where wifi was available.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

We had a great time at this hotel .Everything that we expected.However the prices of the drinks and food we outragous .I know that prices within a hotel can be high but these were beyond that so be aware.Lots of work being done in the grounds and a great new indoor pool and chill out area just opened.

Room Tip: Sea view is a must !!! amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for Christmas, idealy located, just a short walk into Funchal, which was brilliantly decorated for Christmas with loads going on.
The room was on the fourth floor with views of the pool and the sea (breathtaking). Spacious room and bathroom, TV with English channels , very clean with excellent room service twice a day.
Bed very large and exceptionally comfortable with large deep pillows, excellent nights sleep.
True when the tea making ingredients run out you have to pay for extras.
Very nice pool and pool bar.
The Christmas eve gala evening was not as good as expected , food very good but atmosphere disappointing.
Staff very friendly and doorman could rememer our names after first day.
Avoid any time share special deals or offers in the street for anything which may sound like time share.
Would stay there again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pestana Carlton Madeira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Carlton Madeira

Address: Largo Antonio Nobre, Funchal, Madeira 9004-531 , Portugal
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Funchal
#10 Business Hotel in Funchal
#12 Family Hotel in Funchal
#13 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#20 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#20 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Pestana Carlton Madeira 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel was totally refurbished in 2008. Enjoying a prime sea-front location, Pestana Carlton Madeira is one of Funchal's best established hotels offering direct access to the sea and 5 minutes walking distance from the center. The hotel offers 4 swimming pools,2 out-door, 1 for children and 1 indoor, sauna, jacuzzi, gymnasium, scuba diving, minigolf, tennis court, games room, playground, 3 bars, 3 restaurants. All rooms feature air-conditioning, safe, coffee & tea facilities, minibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Tingo, Otel, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Pestana Carlton Madeira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Carlton Madeira Funchal
Carlton Hotel Madeira

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Carlton Madeira, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.