We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic place...!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% discount
Ranked #9 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“What a fantastic place...!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

We have just returned from a fantastic, relaxing holiday at the Porto Mare hotel. It took about 20 minutes for the coach transfer from the airport - with Thomson's the cases went separately and we had to wait a few minutes for them to arrive at our room... The hotel is quite large, but doesn't feel it - in the one block there are effectively two adjoining hotels plus the Residence, an area of time-share apartments.

Check-in was quick and painless and we were allocated a room on the first floor not too far from the lifts. The room was much bigger than expected - with effectively two double beds - and a large balcony overlooking the gardens and pool area and with a sea view. The only thing missing was milk for the tea and coffee - maybe single-portion cartons of long-life don't exist on Madeira ?! We found the room quiet and relaxing - and the bathroom had a cracking shower... The girl who cleaned was very pleasant...and really appreciated the odd 'good morning' and 'thank-you' in Portugese. Power is the round 2-pin variety, the hotel did lend us an adaptor so I could charge our phones and my camera, but you may wish to take your own. And do take sun cream - even at Easter the sun is powerful at this longitude - I forgot to pack ours and we found it very expensive to buy.

Breakfast had a huge variety of items to choose from - catering for both traditional British tastes and the more 'continental' type of breakfasts - from cereals, fruits and breads to ham and cheeses to sausage, bacon and egg. Although the restaurant - with the option of eating outside as well as inside - was busy in the mornings we didn't feel rushed at all.

After relaxing during happy hour in the outside bar area, in the evenings we ate each day in the main (self-service) restaurant. The food was very good, plenty of variety with a different theme each evening - well-cooked and good quality. We didn't sample the evening entertainment, preferring to walk into Funchal centre or along the footpaths in the other direction. Note that it isn't really possible to get to the sea in this area - except for the harbour in Funchal itself. Elsewhere there are a number of stony beaches - but we only found one with sand (we were told imported from Morrocco...!).

We hired a car through Economy Car Hire as we had elsewhere before - not the newest of models available - but perfectly good enough for touring the island. Fuel was a tad cheaper than in the UK, roads outside Funchal were quiet at this time of year. Be prepared if you do travel for some very windy roads - the area is mountainous and getting from A to B isn't necessarily in a straight line ! The express route (dual carriageway) is a fast road and has a lot of tunnels - I tended to leave the headlights on all the time on that route. Buy a decent map - the free ones just aren't up to it.

With the exception of Funchal most other town/village destinations are very small and quiet. Parking is mainly free - however some villages had meters and a Euro gave you enough time for sightseeing and a stop for coffee and cake. The island is relatively small and can be well explored in a week.

Overall we had a very relaxing week, and we were both pleasantly impressed with the Porto Mare hotel. If we do return to Madeira we wouldn't look to stay anywhere else.

Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    250
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
218
789
27
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeenshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2009

Just back from a wonderful week and definately want to return in the not too distant future.
The Residence was lovely and we had a super apartment overlooking the garden on to which we had access. We had a 1 bed which was supposed to be able to sleep 4 - but I think that might have been a bit cramped unless the other 2 were children. The bedroom was huge though and had access to the balcony as did the living area.
The kitchen had plenty of crockery etc. The only thing was no dish cloth or the like for washing the dishes - although there was a dishwasher and we discovered after a couple of days that the maids would put the dishes in and they had dishwasher tablets. To be honest I'd have been quite happy to have put the dishwasher on myself if they had left some tablets in the room! My only other niggle about the kitchen was that the coffee maker needed paper filters and I only discovered this after we returned from the supermarket and in desperate need of a coffee. Luckily the owner relations office had a few which saved me walking back to the supermarket - but many coffee makers now have reusable filters so it seems an odd thing to not provide!

We didn't try out the outdoor pools it was just a bit too cold - but enjoyed the big indoor one which connected to the outside and it was lovely and not too busy the times we went. We ate in the Italian restaurant a couple of times - very handy after we'd been walking most of the day - it was fine. We had breakfast on the last day - all you could eat for 9.50. It was very busy when we were there so had a bit of queuing to get our food but otherwise fine.

Paradise restraurant nearby was good - although I wouldn't recommend the pork stew a bit too fatty! The fish and the flambes were good!

The hotel had a deal on some of the tours so we took advantage of that and save ourselves a few Euros. If your into walking then the 3 peaks is worth it - you do need to be used to walking.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
preston
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2009

Have just returned from a lovely week at the hotel Porto Mare. The hotel was absolutely beautiful and our room and balcony were enormous. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly not just in our hotel but throughout the whole Porto Mare resort. Had a meal in the Mediterranean restaurant one night and all the ladies received a huge orchid on arrival which was a really nice little touch. The Porto Mare is well situated being near the Lido so it is pleasant to stroll around with plenty of bars, restaurants and shops close by. In fact there is such a selection of restaurants they suit every taste. Couldn't fault a thing about this holiday and we will certainly be returning.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2009

We had 2 weeks in the Porto Mare in Feb 09and it was wonderfull,allthe staff were so pleasant and helpfull.There was something for everyone going on all the time with plenty of quiet places to relax if you did'nt want to exert too much energy.Food was brilliant and if you had a birthday (as I did) they really spoil you. The walk into Funchal was just right for us although the curtesy bus is very efficient if you should choose to use it ,and a walk along the prom in the other direction is very pleasant.
All in all a wonderfull experiance that we will remember fondly.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicestershire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2009

We decided to visit Madeira for New year. We chose the Porto Mare because of the previous reviews and were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived we were pleased with our choice. When we arrived the weather was a bit unsettled but after the first day or so the good weather returned and we were blessed for the rest of our week. Previous reviewers have said it all really about this hotel. We did find the hotel expensive but then everything is expensive at the moment where the currency is euros. We ate in the Med Restaurant in the hotel and had an excellent meal with 1/2 bottle of house red, starter and main which cost us 54 euros. We also ate in the buffet restaurant which we thought was expensive at 25 euros each and decided not to repeat the experience as we have had better buffets. Breakfast however was superb.

We were allocated Room 2454 which was a standard room with a sea view. The room was very large and well appointed and the bathroom was lovely. The only downside of this room was that the sun was only on the room early in the morning and in shade for the rest of the day which, at this time of year, meant that it was too cool to sit out later in the afternoon/evening. Might be worth asking for a room that looks directly out to sea or a room in the right hand side looking from the sea to the hotel. I would imagine that in the summer months our room would be great as it would be better to have the shade on the balcony.

Tried the Spa twice and on both occasions had really lovely treatments. Can thoroughly recommend it if you feel like being pampered. Prices were no dearer than you would expect to pay in the UK.

The indoor pool was great and never seemed very busy even though the hotel was full whilst we were there. The outside pool was absolutely freezing which was a pity as it is really beautiful. Only saw about 3 people in it - I tried it but it took your breath away!

The gardens were immaculate and all the plants had labels on them which I found really interesting.

The New Years Eve Gala meal was excellent. We went for the sit down option (buffet was available) and we were very impressed with everything about the evening. Buses were put on for all the guests and we were taken to the football stadium to see the fireworks over Funchal Bay. They were incredible.

The island is beautiful and we had a really lovely experience at the Porto Mare and we have no hesitation in recommending this hotel. All the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and all the public areas are immaculate. A lovely holiday experience which we hope to repeat very soon.

  • Liked — Landscaped gardens and pool areas
  • Disliked — Distance from Funchal
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clevedon
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2009

We booked the hotel having read the reviews on Trip Advisor and we were not disappointed. In fact, it's hard to think of anything to be critical about. Ok, the bath robes were crispy and far too small and the evening entertainment was bog standard holiday hotel duo but we had a good laugh at both robes and entertainment so what the heck!

The hotel itself is immaculate, the level of comfort, attention to detail, cleanliness, staff and surroundings are outstanding. Our room was enormous as was the bed, in fact it was more like a suite as we had a separate sitting area and huge sun terrace to ourselves. The view from the balcony was fabulous looking over the grounds which were beautiful, full of exotic plants and birds, sunlougers in nice secluded sections and a snack bar on hand. There's a choice of four restaurants, all of a very high standard. We went on B and B basis and the variety and quality of the meal meant we ate a late brunch which lasted us until evening. The rep was extremely pleasant, helpful and knowledgeable - thanks Paula - hope your wisdom tooth came out without a fight! We were gently made aware of the timeshare wing of the hotel and invited to have a look around the Residence with the incentive of a £50 voucher to spend but we declined - were were worried we'd get talked into it because it looked so lovely! The excursions seemed a bit pricey; we only booked one. Take a walk into town and see what's available before you book through rep- it's much cheaper that way. The hotel lay on a courtesy bus into Funchal which is brilliant, we used it quite often.

There are loads of restaurants around, keep an eye open for Steak on a Rock - yummy! Madeira is a wonderful, varied place, dramatic scenery and feels very exotic. The weather when we went was lovely, warm sunshine and light breezes. Came back with a nice sun kissed looked to our faces! Don't go to Madeira if you want buzzing night life or beaches and there's a high proprotion of grey heads around the place too! Go if you want a peaceful, trouble free holiday, you'll find it all in Madeira.

  • Liked — High standards of comfort, facilities and surroundings
  • Disliked — There was nothing to dislike!
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
liverpool
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2009

we stayed at the porto mare for a week in jan 09 we booked last minute on the friday and arrived monday and unfortunatly the hotel wernt aware we were coming. however within five minutes they had sorted us out and upgraded us to a superior huge room.!

id read some reviews on this hotel that commented on the freindliness and hepfullness of the staff and ive got o say its true nothing we asked for was a problem.

the hotel itself is excellent and the facilities are wonderfull i enjoyed swimming in the large heated pool from inside the spa to outside into the gardens which meant you could swim and sit in the jaccuzi under the stars outside in the gardens which were all spectaucular. the gym is great too.

id checked out a few hotels in the area in brouchers and on the net and im so glad we chose the porto mare it really is the best 4 star plus in the hotel area.

the only thing that lets it down is the evening entertainment duo harmonia a saga duet there to enable german couples in their 60'd to waltz badly!! funny once but too much every night

im afraid maderia is a bit of a saga destination wasnt a problem for us as we wanted rest and relaxaion and to see great gardens which we did.

funchal itself is a short 15/20 min walk away a great walk with lots to see and is a great mixture of cafe culture and art deco markets where you could almost have thought you were in cuba at times. i was really suprised to see the amount of art deco acrhitecture as we did.

the cable car ride to the gardens at the top is a great trip and well worth it as is coffee and people watching outside the art deco market.

there is a great coffee and cake shop outside the hotel boutique coffee cheap stylish great coffee and cakes.

food in the buffet restaurant in the hotel was generally good but the best restaurant is their own italian restaurant outside the hotel we went there twice. id have no probs booking b and b eating out theres not much difference price wise and you can pay at slightly reduced rate to buy 3 of five nights of meals in the hotel when your there.

also if you like your steam room and sauna you can get a pass for the whole week for 12 euros rather than pay 5e each time you go well worth it..

so enjoy ...great hotel...great location...great island

  • Liked — spa facilities
  • Disliked — entertainment
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Family Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Business Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira
Porto Mare Madeira
Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.