We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PORTO MARE is absolute paradise.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Upgrade
Ranked #9 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Cardiff
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“PORTO MARE is absolute paradise.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We have been staying at Porto Mare for the past 3 weeks & after many visits over the past 7 years it is as exceptional as ever in every way. The previous reviewer is talking about the WRONG hotel regarding NOISE as Porto Mare is no where near the Fort in the town of Funchal where major building work is taking place to extend the marina. Porto Mare is in the Lido area -a lovely peaceful spot.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your support by staying with us so many times and on top of it for sharing your thoughts about you recent holiday experience at Porto Mare.

We really hope to welcome you for many times in the future,

Warm regards,


Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    226
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
197
729
23
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wootton, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

The hotel is excellent in all aspects, great setting and lovely gardens, plenty of space. We went in early December so fairly low numbers but all faciliies were operating. Tennis court on site, very reasonable and no problems getting bookings, a choice of several pools and a well equipped gym. Music entertainment in the bars was very good, live vocal/guitar/jazz etc groups, not someone mumbling along to a recorded backing track! Huge choice of fresh food at breakfast. On site restaurants on the pricier side but looked good. Well worth a trip or two to the old town, many good restaurants. Can get a public bus in and taxi back as quite cheap. There is a supermarket very close by with good range of food for the odd lunch on the balcony.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your “Recommended”” review shared with so many other holiday makers of TripAdvisor.

So pleased to know that you took advantages of our facilities and different services and enjoyed it.

Sincerely hope to welcome you next year.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stock, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Have just returned from another fantastic week at the Porto Mar, our third visit to this hotel and our sixth to a Porto Bay Group hotel (all wonderful). A superb room on the third floor overlooking pool, gardens and sea. All the staff were very helpful and friendly, especially on reception desk.
Courtesy bus to run you back and forth from Funchal centre.Well equipped gym and splendid indoor and outdoor pools although the latter was a bit chilly! Food in all the the restaurants was of good quality, especially The Med and Il Basilica. We took advantange of one the Dinner deals which together with Prestige Club discounts worked out very reasonable. Can't wait for next December's visit. Phil C

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, December 13, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your “Outstanding hotel.” review shared with so many other holiday makers of TripAdvisor.

So pleased to know that you took advantages of our restaurant options and enjoyed it.


Sincerely hope to welcome you next year.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

This is a really lovely hotel, gorgeous rooms, gardens, restaurant. I would have given 5 stars but for the somewhat reluctant service in the bar on level 1. For the first 2 nights of our stay, the barman was great, told us when happy hour was about to end, attentive,etc, but he has gone- days off, holiday?? and it is now like getting blood out of a stone. Last night we had to wait until the bar staff finished their conversation before we could be served.
What a shame, because in every single other area of the hotel, the staff and service are fantastic!
And it would not put us off returning, but it may others.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

So pleased to learn that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your support by sharing your thoughts about it on TripAdvisor.
Regarding the references about the bar service I will discuss this point internally so we can do better. Our apologies for that.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado.


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed in the sister hotel down in the old town of Funchal which we loved and booked this one by mistake but am so pleased that I did. Was a lovely hotel. Clean, quiet and with a wonderful spa. The buffet breakfast is a treat and the bar had live music in the evenings which made for a wonderful relaxing evening. The outside is beautifully kept and there are plenty of areas to relax in. The hotel is situated within walking distance of many restaurants, and up the road a wonderful shopping centre which was a joy to. Will definitely book again in this hotel.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your “Wonderful!” review shared with so many other holiday makers of TripAdvisor.

What a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed the hotel, services and facilities.

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a future, (by mistake or not), visit to Madeira 

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

An outstanding resort conveniently situated on the seafront of the sun kissed, south facing hotel zone on the west side of Funchal. It is close to a range of retail outlets including supermarkets and within a very pleasant 15 minute walk of the vibrant City Centre (a beautiful pedestrian zone), a superb park and the nearby cruise liner port. The hotel provides a free courtesy coach service to and from the City Centre. There is also a fantastic promenade that goes west to Camara de Lobos, with many fine eateries and facilities en route.

The hotel accommodation, services and facilities are excellent, including 2 indoor and 2 outdoor pools, excellent bars and restaurants, and truly excellent tropical gardens which are clearly professionally planted and maintained; one section of the garden is rich in orchid species.

The General Manager is very hands-on, often seen throughout the complex, and the staff of all departments are genuinely committed to providing guests with a quality and friendly service. This Porto Bay resort is my benchmark of what a top quality holiday resort should be. I have a timeshare apartment in The Residence part of the resort, and over several years this experience has been consistent.

Room Tip: There is a wide range of accommodation. Rooms and apartments facing south/south east have excellent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your review shared with so many other holiday makers of TripAdvisor.

What a pleasure to know that you have enjoyed the hotel facilities, the services and even the GM..:) Thank you for the public praise, with a few more comments like this and I will apply for a salary increase!

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We were a bit tentative booking the 'Porto Mare' after staying the sister hotel the 'Cliff Bay' (5*) last year. However we need not have worried as we had great holiday. The staff were extremely helpful - exemplified by the lengths the receptionist went to satisfy our request to change rooms - we were originally in a quiet room ( as requested at the time of booking) but found the balcony a little overlooked so we were allocated another room almost immediately. The buffet meal ( we tried on the last night) was above average and the Saturday evening dinner and cabaret event was spectacular and although seemed expensive on paper turned out be be great VFM bearing in mind the 'Haute cuisine' and outstanding quality of the cabaret. Best restaurants local to the hotel are 'The White Candle' which is found to the left of the hotel main entrance, just before the Spar supermarket. The Italian restaurant at the back of the hotel at promenade level is also excellent. We dined twice in each of these restaurants and would recommend either.

Room Tip: Quieter rooms are to the east side of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear Guest,

So pleased to learn that overall you had an enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your support by sharing your thoughts about it on TripAdvisor.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Business Hotel in Funchal
#8 Family Hotel in Funchal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira
Porto Mare Madeira
Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.