We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent choice in Madeira” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
5% discount
Ranked #9 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Surrey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
168 helpful votes 168 helpful votes
“An excellent choice in Madeira”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Arrived at the hotel at 12.15pm and were pleasantly surprised that one of our two rooms was ready and the other about 30 minutes later, so we could unpack and start the holiday straight away. Room was an excellent size with two large beds together, LCD TV and DVD player, fridge and nice bathroom with great shower water pressure. My wife also commented that someone had thought about mirror placement !

We had requested adjoining rooms and were very pleased this was noted by the hotel so our teenage boys were not too far away. The rooms faced the side road and Melia hotel with a side sea view and were initially slightly worried about noise, but we don’t really sit on the balcony and with the balcony door shut there was not a problem.

It was evident that the hotel is very well looked after. You could see people discretely touching up paint and plaster here and there and the hall way carpets all looked and smelt as if they’d just been laid.

Breakfast was very good with various eggs, nice fresh fruit and a glass of fizz. The only item absent was smoked salmon, but everything else was present and correct and very nicely presented. Although there were a fair few family groups staying, it was difficult to get a table of four together most mornings, though the staff were good at moving two two’s together when asked and it was very nice to be sat outside overlooking the pool.

As well as their a la carte restaurants, the hotel have a buffet dinner offer with three nights for 24.50 Euros per person per night, but bearing in mind drinks were on top we thought that was quite pricey and preferred to dine outside at the many local restaurants. Of those, our favourites were the Chefe Steak House, Solar da Adjuda and Sabor da India and we didn’t pay more than 85 Euros for two courses and a bottle of wine and soft drinks for the boys at any of them.

The pool area and gardens are lovely and getting sunbeds was not a problem, though some people do seem to think one umbrella per sunbed is not unreasonable and therefore there was occasionally a shortage of those ! There’s a nice grassed area to the front of the hotel overlooking the sea which has rattan sunbeds, but you’ll need a decent base tan as there are no umbrellas. The main pool has a nice island in the middle with seating around the perimeter and it was a lovely place to sit and chat. We also liked the jacuzzis and indoor pools. Not that many families and the children were all well behaved which made it a tranquil place to be despite this being school holidays.

The pool bar and indoor bar has a happy hour most days from 5.00-6.30pm, but it was only on our penultimate day we realised two cocktails are included each day for a very reasonable 3.00 Euros.

We used the free bus into Funchal which you pre-book at reception and has three drop off points, the furthest being best for the market, old town and cable car. Funchal is a lovely town (albeit undergoing some serious construction work at the moment) and well worth a morning or afternoon exploring.

Madeira is a terrific island, everything is very well kept, it’s very pretty and we had a very good feeling about the place just driving to the hotel from the airport, through the many tunnels. Shame it has no beaches to speak of, (and it would be nice if it were duty free) but that’s probably a contributory factor as to why it’s not overrun with families during the holiday and has such a nice uncrowded feel.

We really enjoyed our time at the Porto Mare and I’m sure we will return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Porto Mare hotel and for your review about it shared on TripAdvisor.
Thank you also for such a comprehensive description of our resort and Madeira Island. Please note that we do have beaches, black sand, one being in Funchal (Praia Formosa), Seixal (north coast) and also Caniçal and two artificial yellow beaches in Machico and Calheta…just for you to know so next visit you have a few places to visit.

See you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,090 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    828
    226
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
195
726
23
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (292)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jersey, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

having stayed at the eden mare last year we decided to stay at the porto mare both hotels share the same complex
once again we enjoyed the warm welcome from all the staff, the service is superior to many five star hotel, breakfast is one of the best we have experienced some much to choose from. we will go back some time next year for a longer stay
think Madeira ,think Funchal,think Porto mare

Room Tip: ask for pool view you will get sea,garden and pool views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor your thoughts about your recent stay at Porto Mare hotel.
Thank you also for being a supporter of our hotels…we will be pleased to welcome you again in a future stay , who knows at The Residence!

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

Our first time visit to Madeira. The hotel was recommended to us by friends and we weren't disappointed. I had booked a superior sea view room which had an additional dressing area and seating area and the room we were allocated met all of our requirements. The hotel did at first try and put us in a 2 bed apartment but this wasn't suitable for our anniversary holiday.

The hotel has a number of restaurants and bars you can use on the small complex and has beautiful gardens. All of the bars operate a happy hour system from 5.00pm until 6.30pm which is an ideal time to chill after a day by the pool. There is a variety of entertainment ranging from guitar players during happy hour to full bands from around 9.30pm onwards. The entertainment is low key but very good. The pool areas are very good and there were plenty of sunbeds for everyone no matter what time you wanted them.

The food and service in the hotel is excellent we stayed on a half board basis. There are a number of bars and restaurants within a 5/10 minute walk should you wish to eat outside of the hotel. There is also a supermarket underneath the hotel which can be accessed from the reception of the Eden Mar suite complex.

The hotel also has a spa which looked beautiful, although I didn't use this as the treatments were quite expensive.

We used the yellow open top bus to see the sites of Madeira which cost 12 euros for a 2 day pass and was well worth the money, a trip on the cable cars is a must. If you are into walking there are also guided walking tours which you can book at most of the local travel agents.

All together a great holiday and I would definitely recommend this hotel for a week of relaxation in the sun.

Room Tip: Room 2413 has great sea views and is one of the larger superior rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing on TripAdvisor your first holiday experience in Madeira and our hotel in particular.
Thank you also for such a comprehensive description of your holiday experience, hotel facilities and also some tips about Madeira.

We would be most pleased to welcome you in your second visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed at the hotel for a week on a half board basis. This hotel is as it says in the majority of the reviews. Good location. Staff extremely friendly and helpful. Hotel grounds amazing with lots of beautiful plants and trees plus its own orchid garden. the swimming pool was lovely as was the one in the spa of which you could swim either inside or out. Glorious! The food was excellent with lots of choice and great quality.The room was so one of the nicest rooms that we have stayed in. it was very comfortable and spacious, exceptionally clean. We can understand why people return to this hotel over and over.We would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you your “Fabulous stay” feedback about your recent holiday experience at Porto Mare and for sharing it on TripAdvisor.

So good to know that you have enjoyed the time you spent with us and we would be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chorley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Just returned from another lovely stay at the Hotel Porto Mare in Funchal. This was our fourth stay at the resort in five years (twice at Porto Mare, once at Eden Mar and once at The Residence).

This is a comfortable hotel with a good range of services and lot's to do. The centre-piece is surely the large lagoon swimming pool set within beautiful gardens that are, themselves, worth some time exploring.

This is a great place to relax with a book and a drink. Live music (or other performances) can be found on most nights. This was the first time we had stayed in summer, and we were pleased to find more family entertainment based around the poolside this time around.

Happy hour (5pm- 6.30pm) is a good time to try out new cocktails, because two are offered at half price at this time. (Tip- the Portofino bar serves them in proper glasses as it is further from the pool.)

We travelled with our young son who enjoyed splashing about in the five different swimming pools.

For those considering Funchal for the first time- please be aware that there is considerable development/ construction along the main promenade following significant flooding a few years ago ...looks like this may take a couple of years for the authorities to finish this. The city is otherwise a pleasant enough town with a good choice of shops and lovely restaurants.

Madeira has some okay-ish artificial beaches, but nothing to write home about. This means that a lot of leisure time is spent around the hotel pool/ gardens- so it 'pays' to pick a good one such as this. (NB - I'm not normally drawn to large luxury resorts, but they seem de rigueur in Funchal- probably because of the reason I've given about lack of beaches.)

Madeira's countryside is beautiful. This time we did the (tough-ish) trek between Pico Areeiro and Pico Ruivo- well worth a day spent admiring the views.

Would we return for a fifth visit? Yes.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden and sea- better than the alternative aspect across the carpark...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your support by staying with us year after year. Thank you also for the review shared on TripAdvisor and it is good to know that you had another positive holiday experience.

We will be most pleased to welcome you on your 5th stay.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Allround great complex with beautiful grounds .
Without being trite couldnt the sunbed problem being solved by simply buying more beds and using some of the garden area to site them.
Surely the practical aspects of guests wanting to relax having nowhere to lie in the sun outweigh the asethatic value of the open space gardens.
Sunbed issue apart this place is fab !

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review on TripAdvisor and happy to know that overall you have enjoyed your holidays with us...

Regarding the sunbed, yes we added nearly a hundred more sun lounges in garden areas but one of the issues is that people do prefer to stay on the premium location, means right by the main outdoor pool, and in fact there are not enough space to everyone on that area. Next summer we promise a more effective control on the use of this equipment’s.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West midlands
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This was our first visit to Madeira, the hotel exceeded all expectations. It was spotlessly clean and the staff we helpful and friendly. The gardens are well maintained and treat to wonder round. Our only grumble as stated in previous reviews people were reserving the sunbeds and not using them for hours on end.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “fantastic hotel” review and happy to learn that you have enjoyed your first holiday experience with us...

Hopefully not the last..

We will be most pleased to welcome you soon for your second visit to Madeira,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Family Hotel in Funchal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Escapio, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira
Porto Mare Madeira
Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.