We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)

Save Saved
You added Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% discount
Ranked #10 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

This is a lovely hotel - set in beautiful tropical gardens. We stayed 1week in what is known as "the residence" & is like an apartment with cooker, microwave & even a dishwasher.
There are several good clean swimming pools & a games room.
The staff are all very friendly and effecient. The shuttlebus into funchal towncentre is free and runs regularly and on time!
Hotel restaurants are pricey - but there are so many good restaurants close to the hotel there is no need to ever eat in. We had breakfastincluded & thebuffet is excellent - although their croissants are almost inedible!
Its a great hotel for couples or afamily- am not sure I would recommend it for teenagers though - but that is probably true for Madeira generally.

Room Tip: ours was in the residence - I cannot comment on the other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short note for your feedback and for staying at Porto Mare Residence.

Happy to know that overall you have enjoyed your holidays and do hope to welcome you soon,

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

992 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    759
    200
    23
    9
    1
See reviews for
163
657
20
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

The Porto Mare has a surprisingly high ratio of returning residents and it's not hard to understand why. Madeira itself is a lovely island so the hotel certainly has a head start, but the key is that it supplements this with a complex that offers every facility you could possibly want and provides this with some delightful service. With sister hotel Eden Mar and time share The Residence connected internally and their facilities available to all, opportunities for activity abound and there is a full calendar from Portuguese lessons to kitchen tours, pilates classes to classical concerts, wine tasting to water gym and yoga to evening entertainment. The cuisine is outstanding and spread across four separate restaurants. We chose to dine for the majority of our two week stay in the Atlántida, Porto Mare's main restaurant, which provided a choice hot and cold buffet of the highest order, each night having its own theme, and we also enjoyed a buffet breakfast here that again was outstanding and, as with dinner, featured chef's serving and cooking 'out front'. I had undertaken a sponsored charity diet several months before our holiday and it is unfortunately no exaggeration to confess that, with this unmissable culinary experience, I found myself back where I had started by the end of our stay. There was just too much of it that was too good not to enjoy! For the record, we also particularly enjoyed a fish evening in the Alfama restaurant as well as venturing to the sea front restaurant beneath the hotel complex where the Il Basilico provides Italian cuisine in a modern and attractive setting. (it is to be found, by the way, next door to the ice cream parlour whose best-kept secret is a very special lunchtime soup.) The grounds, with tropical gardens beautifully tended, are extensive and, certainly during our stay, never crowded. Our weather was variable and, while the enormous outside pool was tempting, its temperature was really only fit for the hardy, but, with indoor alternatives and a spa in which to relax, there was never any fear that we would not be engaged throughout our stay. And when we wanted to look further afield there was many an island tour to choose and a courtesy bus into Funchal also at our disposal. A word of warning to check and be sure of return journey times, and a recommendation that, should you choose to try out Funchal's cable car, come down the same way rather than travel by bus - that is a REALLY scary journey! We left far too much undone and this is without doubt a hotel that we would be delighted to visit again.

Room Tip: Garden facing rooms are attractive
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for such a comprehensive review shared on tripadvisor about your holiday experience in Madeira and our hotel in particular.

We would be most pleased to welcome you soon,


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We were welcomed with a bottle of champagne and flowers in our room which was a nice touch and rose petals on the bed. Our room was faultless and the maid service was pretty good, they seemed to renew the toiletries every day. We had a sunny balcony so we spent most of our sunbathing time there rather than round the pool. We used all the pools which seemed to be empty so we had them to ourselves most of the time. The breakfast buffet was really good. Loads to choose from hot or cold and plenty to drink also hot or cold.
The hotel and pools were spotless and the gardens were beautiful with most of the plants and shrubs labeled. A lovely veiw across the Atlantic.
We ate a few times at the evening buffet and weren't disappointed.
We would recommend this hotel to friends and family. We found some of the staff a little grumpy but perhaps this is just the way they are so would let this stop us from returning.
The hotel is in a good area for eating out, plenty of restaurants to choose from the White Candle was particularly nice.
We walked into Funchal a couple of times stopping at the presidents garden for a look around. There are some good shops around.
We didn't do much sight seeing because we wanted to just relax which is exactly what we did.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Happy to know that overall we made a positive contribution for such an important event of your lives. Thank you also for sharing your feedback about it on tripadvisor

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back on a future visit to Madeira.


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We have visited Porto Mare (The Residence) a number of times over the last few years and in our opinion it has just got better and better. The staff are exceptionally helpful and the surrounding gardens are stunning. We visited in June 2013 and the weather was perfect: all 4 pools were warm enough and there were plenty of low key activities should you wish. Nothing is forced! There are a number of eating options on site but the Hotel is surrounded by plenty of restaurants. Booking Eden Mar, Porto Mare or The Residence gives you all three Hotel facilities and a very relaxing environment. One very impressive feature is the management team! There is always a manager walking about checking that everything is in order: and it always is!

Room Tip: A junior suite just gives that bit of extra room. All rooms overlook beautiful gardens and almost al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your feedback about your stay at Porto Mare hotel.
It is rewarding o know that overall you had such a positive holiday experience and we will be most pleased to welcome you soon,


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at the Porto Mare for 10 nights and we had a brilliant time. The room was well situated on the east side; very clean, modern and spacious, it had two very comfortable king size beds with an abundance of pillows, it also had a sea view. The maid service was faultless doing an excellent job everyday.
The restaurant staff were always pleasant and helpfull and the choice of breakfast was excellent ( not sure why some reviews saw faults here... ? ) I could have eaten something different every day If I wanted too. The pools and the outside areas were kept extremely clean and tidy and the gardens recieved constant attention from staff to keep them looking great. We only ate once in the restaurant in the evening and found it to be quite acceptable.
It was my birthday during our stay and on return from a day out found a nice bottle of champaign on ice in our room courtesy of the hotel, a nice touch. The hotel courtesy bus to Funchal was also very usefull.
One small niggle was their reluctance to fix the hair dryer which was overheating and tripping out, which was annoying for my wife. Apart from this, we were made to feel very welcome by all staff and would certainly return to the Porto Mare if we went back to Madeira.
For a large hotel I think it is very well run overall, keep up the good work.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

“Muito obrigado” for posting on tripadvisor your opinion about your recent stay at Porto Mare hotel. We are most pleased to learn that you had a positive holiday experience and will be most pleased to welcome you back soon,

Warm regards,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sunny warwickshire
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Definitely not for us

In writing this I must, before I continue, say that I do want to be fair and not just grumble for grumbling sake.
There is no denying that the Porto Mare Hotel in Funchal is an efficient and beautifully appointed place to stay. I have to add also that the staff are very friendly and hardworking they cannot be faulted in any way. So if that aspect floats your boat then this is a good choice. The food is plentiful but only just ok, breakfast is better than dinner. We only ate 2 dinners from the buffet and found it bland and tasteless. Of course you could choose to eat in their speciality restaurants which are very good indeed.
Our major gripe at this hotel has to be the saving of sunbeds on a daily basis mainly by owners of timeshare who seem to think they have first dibs on sunbeds over other holidaymakers. We witnessed this several times and we thought it was not very good at all. The lack of pool attendants enables this. There is also a lot of greed over the sunshades. Leaving some people with none while others have three shades surrounding two beds this is unacceptable and should be stopped. Another major gripe is the inconsiderate guests smoking at the tables outside the restaurant . They so need a smoking area away from non smokers. Especially at breakfast where it's just totally unacceptable.

For those who want nothing more than a sun bed and some sangria I guess it's paradise . The area surrounding the hotel is very poor in terms of interest part from the odd bar and a shopping mall probably about a mile walk away there is little to do unless you want to go into Funchal.

It's a very clean,very smart hotel in beautiful gardens but to be honest it could be anywhere in the world and that doesn't appeal to us.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for being our guest at Porto Mare hotel and for your feedback about your holiday experience.
We respect and appreciate all the opinions and take in consideration the aspects where we think we can do better.

Within the Porto Bay hotels we have different products that can meet different holidays expectations. Maybe next visit to Madeira you could try one of the other hotels of our group.

Please do not hesitate to contact me in case you need any information about it.

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hereford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Another outstanding week at this Resort only this time with the grandchildren. It could not be faulted. The complex is outstanding, the gardens are beautiful and the staff are just wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble, the staff do everything with a smile and efficiency.
What is even better, is that we are due to return very shortly.
Thank you to everyone connected to the Porto Bay Resort in Funchal, Madeira.
You should be very proud of what you have created and deliver.
A and F

Room Tip: Corner suites appear to offer greater floor space. Make sure your view incorporates the sea and the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for another stay at Porto Mare and for sharing with such a vast audience your opinion about it.

We all be most pleased to see you around soon,

Muito obrigado,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Family Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Escapio, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira
Porto Mare Madeira
Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.