We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Superb"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)

Save Saved
You added Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% discount
Ranked #11 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“"Superb"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was our third stay at Porto Mare, and as before cannot find anything to criticise. The standards are exceptional in all aspects, and the attention to detail very reassuring. We requested an upper floor superior room with garden and pool view, and we were allocated one of the best!! (2383). The gardens are a real feature of Porto Mare and beautifully maintained. Excellent food, huge choice in the Atlantida buffet, very friendly staff, all of which contributed to a really enjoyable stay. Thoroughly recommended.
Only downside is the current rebuilding work on Funchal seafront, but that is nothing to do with the hotel!

Room Tip: If you like views of the garden and pools, and prefer morning sun on the balcony, ask for an upper f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the third holiday experience at our hotel . Thank you also for the time spent giving us feedback about it and by letting us know that you have enjoyed it once again

It will be a pleasure to welcome you again in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

989 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    758
    199
    22
    9
    1
See reviews for
163
654
20
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bath
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Could not fault the hotel or staff, All were excellent.
We stayed in the Residence (time share) and the suite was first class.
Restaurants, The White Candle at top of the road, excellent food and service.
We also tried The Brassier along The Promenade, very good but not many people.
Please do not go to one called SHELTER...Food disgusting...service dreadful, one of the worst restaurants I have ever been to.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “first class” review posted on tripadvisor.

It is rewarding to know that you had a positive holiday experience.

Sincerely hope to welcome you soon in our hotel

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

My friend and I only booked the holiday just 1 week before going. The hotel was classified as a 4 plus star hotel and it was very much up to standard.

The hotel was spotless, the staff were friendly and polite. Breakfast was very high quality and we would eat overlooking the pool. The pool areas were great with ample sun loungers. We had lunch at the pool area and the food was delicious. We ate out in the evening and we were never disappointed.

The rooms were spacious and we even had BBC2, BBC2 and ITV in the rooms which was nice.

We had a couple of spa treatments, this was a great professional spa which I felt could have been promoted more. The inside pool area was lovely and had loungers available to relax by the pool. I used the gym daily and it must be the best gym I've used at a hotel with plenty of equipment. I went early and I had the whole place to myself.

We went to Reid's Palace for afternoon tea which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. You have to make reservations but it's a worthwhile experience.

The casino holds show nights on Thursday and Friday evenings, you have to make reservations. This was enjoyable, we have a 3 course meal with wine and the show all for 45 euros. We took a taxi from the hotel which was less than 45 euros.

The temperature was 22 and we only had one overcast day. The sun was shining from 9am until 7pm and it didn't really get dark until 9pm.

If you looking for a get away to relax and for some sunshine, this is definitely the place to go. I would highly recommend it and I will be coming back for another visit.

I would like to take a trip on the Galleon, cable cars, toboggans and a few sight seeing tours. The trip to a little island sounded nice; with sandy beaches!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your holiday thoughts on tripadvisor. We are pleased to know that overall you had a positive holiday experience.

Sincerely hope to welcome you soon in our hotel

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel deserves all the praise it gets. Myself, my husband and our 18 month old had the luxury of a fortnight here in January and it was incredible. The hotel is beautiful to look at and the finishes and attention to detail were all first rate. We were in a suite so that we could have a separate sleeping space from the little one and our accomodation was just perfect. The suite comes highly recommended as you have a kitchen area, lounge, TV in both bedroom and lounge and access to balcony from both rooms. The finishes, cleanliness etc throughout every aspect of the suite were perfect. We were overjoyed on arrival. For other parents of very young children, one huge surprise and asset was that, unlike anywhere else we've stayed, there was a proper full sized wooden cot provided for our daughter instead of one of those awful travel cots that guarantee you bad nights sleep!
It was chocolate week when we arrived which added to the generally fantastic ambience throughout the whole place (which the excellent staff create). The restaurant and food were lovely... excellent variety, both on each night and over each week... we ate in the buffet restaurant for breakfast and dinner as we were half board. I was in 7th heaven with quality of the salads, cold meats etc etc. The champagne at breakfast was a decadent touch we loved. We also used the pizza restaurant on a few occassions for lunch (you can use all the resort facilities for the 3 hotels), and it was also gorgeous. Didn't eat in the a la carte as felt it might be less suitable for a toddler.
This hotel (as I understand Madeira in general) is more popular with an older crowd. Our daughter was one of only 2 little ones the first week, although there were a few more families the second week and I suspect in season probably a lot more. However, in spite of this, the oustanding staff doted on her and could not do enough to accomodate us... we felt so welcome with her. To be honest most of the other guests seemed happy to see a toddler as well (yes there was the occassional sideways glance from the stuffier sorts of guests if she got noisy but no more than parents get used to handling anywhere else!).
The outside space of the hotel was absolutely incredible... beautiful, spotless and idylic. Unluckily one of the pools was shut when we were there but that would not bring down my rating because maintenance has to be done and this was the most off peak time to do it so it;s just one of those things. There was still the beautiful main outdoor pool and a smaller indoor pool so it's not as if there are not plenty of alternatives. The pool that was closed is a wonderful oasis indoor/outdoor pool so I look forward to using that on our next visit.
The staff.... without a doubt the friendliest team we have ever met anywhere. With the exception of one grumpy woman who worked at the pool bar (you can't win them all!), literally everyone else was amazing. We had hugs from some when we left! Some of the long term guests we chatted to said that this hotel has retained many of these staff for years and the team does not have a high staff turnover which in itself speaks volumes. They worked tirelessly but never looked like they couldn't be bothered or that they weren't enjoying it.
We went into Funchal a few times and it was a nice place to wander about. We also took a trip to Reid's Palace for afternoon tea which for a little piece of history I'm glad we did, but for the money we have certainly eaten plenty better afternoon teas and the staff we nothing compared to those at the Porto Mare.
As you can probably guess we would recommend this very highly and will be returning at the earliest point we can manage it.

Room Tip: Spring for a suite if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your “outstanding” review about your holiday experience at Porto Mare hotel.
Apologize for the staff member who did not reach the level of all the others…I will advise our colleague in order to improve her attitude!

I am sure all my team would be very happy to welcome you back in a future visit to our island,


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hove, UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

There really was nothing to fault about this hotel, from the helpfulness of its staff, to the quality of the restaurants, cleanliness of rooms and immaculate upkeep of its grounds.
My only issue, which to the credit of the hotel was quickly remedied, was the fact that 'Garden View' doesn't necessarily mean that you have a view of the hotel's lovely garden. It apparently means that you don't have a sea view. Our first room, although internally admittedly beautiful, overlooked a side street and utility entrances (with associated noise) of this and other neighbouring hotels. I felt that the description of the room was misleading and we were moved without fuss the following day.

Room Tip: High floors (front) for sea views, low floors (front) for beautiful garden only views. Accept rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review shared on tripadvisor about Porto Mare hotel. Happy to learn that overall you had a positive holiday experience. Regarding the garden room in fact we do have some rooms facing the opposite side of our garden and as we did not want to have an extra room type for only some rooms we decided to classify it as “garden view”. I promise good attention to it.

Sincerely hope to welcome you In a future visit to our island.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east yorkshire
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

This hotel proved just as wonderful as previous reviews suggest.
Set in beautiful gardens overlooking the sea, with plenty of places-chairs / beds available - proved to be an extremely relaxing place.
Buffet breakfast had a very good chioce of foods-service was efficient and staff friendly and cheerful.
Did not try eating dinner at any of the restaurants but did have a salad lunch at the poolside bar which was tasty. There are plenty of restaurants within walking distance to suit all budgets. Would recommend The Atlantic restaurant just a few minutes walkaway on the road to Funchal.
Enjoyed the live music entertainement - especially the blues band which was excellent- would recommend .
Room changing service was also efficient and the lady that changed our room was cheerful and welcoming.The very large bed was extremely comfortable-appeared to have a memory foam like mattress topper - slept like a log -something i rarely do away from home!
Having a fridge in the room was great! However the charge for a safe and wifi appeared a little excessive - managed without-there is a pc in reception with free internet use.
Paid extra for suprior room and seaview- well worth the extra- room large with fabulous views over the pool,grounds and sea.room was on the 4th floor.
To further add to our delight with service recieved-my hubby left his i phone in the
Docking station in the room- rang the hotel from the airport- recieved it back via post at the end of the same week of departure!
Well done Porto Mare hotel ! Would definately return.

Room Tip: 2nd-4th floor rooms appeared best sea views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Porto Mare hotel. Glad to know that overall you had a positive holiday experience with us and also pleased with the staff efficiency returning the item you have forgotten. I will certainly share with all of them your nice comments.

Sincerely hope to welcome you In a future visit to our island.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado


. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

i v been going 4 past 8 yrs, av ownership there. great location, excellent food in resturants. accomodation clean spacious, would reccomend. to all of all ages. decleor spa reasonable prices. plenty of pools. cant praise enough. free wifi set in beautiful gardens

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short not to thank you for the “best resort” opinion regarding your recent stay at Porto Mare hotel.
Thank you also for such a great support by staying in our hotel so many times.
OBRIGADO

Warm regards,

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Family Hotel in Funchal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#10 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Escapio, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira
Porto Mare Madeira
Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.