We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“March holiday our first visit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Upgrade
Ranked #9 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Hereford, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“March holiday our first visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had a lovely time, the hotel was exactly as promised, really good facilities and excellent service, the only problem, don't get caught out by the expensive drinks in the pool bar, 2.50 euro for a very small bottle of water is a rip off, especially when you can buy at 0.35 euro in the shop next to Eden Mar. I mentioned to the reception staff and they said they understood my issue but could do nothing!

Room Tip: We upgraded to the twin superior and was very pleased
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughts about your visit to Porto Mare hotel and happy to learn that overall you had a positive experience.

Please understand that the prices of drinks and other services in a hotel are not comparable to the same items bought in a supermarket or drinks shop.

Apart of the specific services we offer when we sell a mineral water, we have other facilities available to all our guest such as gardens, pools and for example entertainment that are not offered when you go to any supermarket/drinks shop.

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a near future in any of our properties.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado
. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,096 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    834
    226
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
197
729
23
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (294)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

I was truly curious to see / stay in a hotel that has a 9.1 rating on booking. Well,it was worth it.
Transfer from Malaga Int A/P goes fast on the new motorway. The rooms are lovely, big, with a breathtaking view to the ocean. White satin/cotton sheets on the bed are lovely. The pillows are very soft, just perfect to relax and sleep. The breakfast and dinner buffet are very good (but not perfect). Fantastic price/value ratio. Amazing botanic garden.

DEFINITELY WORTH IT! TRY THIS HOTEL ONCE IN A LIFE TIME!

Room Tip: Take a room on the 5th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your comments about your recent visit to Madeira and Porto Mare hotel in particular shared on tripadvisor.

We are happy to learn that overall you had a positive experience and sincerely hope to meet you in a near future,


Warm regards,

Muito obrigado
. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aldeburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Excellent service,very clean,superb gardens and swimming pools, not a lot to do at night in the hotel but it was February!
Choice of restaurants within the complex offering a la carte or themed evenings, we upgraded to half board on site, it gets cheaper the more nights you have, you choose the restaurant and evenings to eat, excellent value compared to prices in restaurants outside of the hotel.
For lunch and afternoon drinks try the BELLA ILHA 50 Metres to the left outside the hotel, Italian run bar and restaurant used by locals and the Reps, much cheaper than the hotel superb freshly cooked food, local specialities,pasta and pizza see seperate review

Room Tip: Get a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review shared on tripadvisor with so many other holiday makers. We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to learn that you had a positive holiday experience with us.

We will be most pleased to welcome you in a future visit to Madeira

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

A lovely hotel. Very clean and well maintained. The gardens and pools are excellent. Breakfast also excellent. Staff helpful and friendly. Overall we had a very relaxing and enjoyable stay at the Porte Mare.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your thoughts shared on tripadvisor about your stay at our property. We are delighted to know that overall you had such a fantastic experience

We hope you can visit Madeira and our hotel in particular in a near future. We will be most pleased to welcome you.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cranbrook, United Kingdom
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2013

A lovely hotel with excellent service and facilities. We had half board but ate in the hotel one night and the meal was lovely.
Good restaurants nearby and a courtesy bus into funchal although you could walk in - took about 20 - 30 minutes.
Trips varied in price but we went with a Blandys one that was more expensive but very good - in a minibus rather than a coach and the guide was excellent.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for you positive feedback and for let us know that you have enjoyed your stay at Porto Mare hotel.


Sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Widnes Cheshire England
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

Went as a family of 6 and requested 3 twin rooms alongside each other which we were given. We had 4th floor superior rooms and they are really lovely. They are a good size with amazing views of the gardens and the sea beyond. Beds are comfy, some English channels on tv, hair dryer in bathroom and tea and coffee making facilities. And the maids restocked the tea/coffee/milk each day. A safe is 10 euros with 20 deposit. Pool towels in room and gowns in superior rooms. Breakfast very varied and pleasant even at busy times, loads to choose from. Didn't eat here rest of day except for bar snacks which were very nice but not much choice. Cocktails divine, with a bit of entertainment on offer (very low key and bland) but fine for an hour or so. Spa, pool area, gardens -all clean and meticulously kept. Hotel is about 30 mins from centre with lovely Italian restaurant a few mins away, as is Chalet Vincenti which is a lovely place to eat and Hole in One pub next door a good place to stop for drinks. The marina is in a bit of a mess with building work ongoing but has to be done sometime I suppose. Airport at madeira very busy with queues taking forever to get through security. All in all, loved madeira and loved the hotel - would definitely return to both.

Room Tip: High floor and go for superior room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your “perfect” review about your stay at Porto Mare hotel.
It is rewarding to know that overall you had such a positive holiday experience.

Sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

We booked the Porto Mare because it looked like it would provide a stress-free, relaxing break where our two-year-old would have plenty to do. And so it proved.

The biggest plus point was the service and friendliness of the staff. In particular, the waitresses and waiters in the Atlantida restaurant (where breakfast and the evening buffet dinner option are served) were very warm and accommodating for our little one. More than that, they often went out of their way to entertain and interact with him. Special praise is due to waitress Nicola Mendonça who made every mealtime a pleasure.

On the day we arrived there was a bottle of sparkling wine and a pair of flute glasses in our room. Then at dinner that evening, the waiters and waitresses brought out a birthday cake and sang Happy Birthday in Portuguese for our son (whose second birthday it was, which we had mentioned when checking in).

The hotel provided a proper cot-bed (I will attach a photo) as opposed to the more usual flimsy fold-up travel cot you tend to get in hotels. We stayed in a large end-of-corridor corner suite which meant we could watch DVDs in our lounge room once we'd put our son to bed at night. This had a kitchen area with sink, hob, fridge, kettle and microwave which meant we could easily prepare sterilised bottles and boiled water for our son.

We found the best swimming pool for family swims was the Eden Mar's indoor pool, as this was less deep and had wide steps descending progressively into the water at one end. This meant it was easier for our son to step in by himself, and for us to hold him once he was in the water. By contrast the indoor/outdoor pool in the Porto Mare was a little too deep, and the large outdoor pool in the Porto Mare was unheated and so too cold in late February.

We also once took him in the small, circular children's outdoor paddling pool which was good too, albeit it soon gets crowded if a few children get in.

The free shuttle bus into Funchal was convenient and the driver simply popped our Maclaren buggy into a storage area under the bus without our even needing to collapse it.

The gardens in the hotel grounds are really nice. There are all kinds of plants and trees, many of which are labelled, including cacti and orchids. There is even a small aviary with brightly coloured tropical birds that provide a pleasant tweeting background soundtrack.

There is a (unmanned) kindergarten/creche with lots of toys, ride-on toy motorbikes, a Wendy house, etc., plus an outdoor play area with a climbing frame, spring-mounted car and horse, etc. But our son was probably more entertained by the crazy golf course, which he liked to climb on and over (without actually needing to rent the putter and ball to enjoy himself).

The physical structure and design of the hotel are excellent. Although it's a big complex, especially if you include the Eden Mar and Residence (which occupy the east and west sides), you never really get the sense of being in a massive monolith of a place. The space is cleverly broken up, both indoors and out.

As for criticisms, it's surprising that the hotel charges 10 Euros per week to use the in-room safe. I've never known any hotel do this. While the service in the Atlantida restaurant was excellent, it did seem a little slower and less sparkling at the Veranda outdoor poolside bar/cafe. Although our room was on the 5th floor, every night we could still hear muffled music coming (presumably) from the ground floor bar when we went to bed at 11pm. And (this is a small point!) the bedside clock radio had a habit of setting off its alarm at seemingly random times, meaning that we eventually unplugged it.

Before we booked the Porto Mare we had also considered taking a suite in the Eden Mar, which would have been larger and a bit more expensive. But we were glad to have chosen the Porto Mare because not only was the suite perfectly large enough but the physical appearance and ambience of the Porto Mare seem slightly nicer and a little more special.

Room Tip: The end-of-corridor suites are very spacious. 5244 is a great room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at Porto Mare hotel and I am happy to know that overall you have enjoyed it.
Thank you as well for the praise of Nicole. I am sure she will be delighted to receive your thoughts.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#8 Family Hotel in Funchal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira
Porto Mare Madeira
Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.