We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Christmas and New Year 2012/13” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
5% discount
Ranked #9 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
UK
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Christmas and New Year 2012/13”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The festive programme and food was as good as ever. A highlight of our holiday was the hotel's trip to Santo da Serra, with lunch at the Porto Bay Serra Golf Hotel. Outside the hotel, by Rudolf, we were entertained to local Christmas music followed by a memorable 'surprise'!
The staff are always so welcoming and I would recommend a visit to the Porto Mare at any time of the year.
Whilst the Atlantida Restaurant in the hotel is wonderful, we enjoy eating an evening meal out. There are many options in the close vicinity of the hotel. Eating with the locals at Papa Manuel is always a pleasure - try the fish soup. Il Basilico is a popular favourite Italian restaurant, part of the Porto Bay group, and we usually have a few meals there.
We are looking forward to returning in March, then next Christmas.
Try it - you won't be disappointed!

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for such a pleasant review shared on tripadvisor about your holiday at Porto Mare hotel.
Happy to learn that you took advantage of some of our activities we do organize to our guests within the resort and also outdoor ones as the trip you mention to Santo da Serra.

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a future visit to our property.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    910
    250
    26
    10
    2
See reviews for
218
789
27
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
England
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Great hotel and facilities. Excellent staff and service and immaculately clean.
Superb gardens, nice indoor/outdoor pools and on-site restaurants to suit all tastes with good food.
There is a hotel courtesy bus to central Funchal only 10 minutes away, which runs several times during the day.
Nearby are also a number of good local restaurants within easy reach.
Try the Solar da Adjuda - go for the filet steak on the stone. Circa 17 euros each, bottle of Douro good wine for around 14 euros.
Also try the pizza restaurant Ristorante Pizzeria, Casa Itália
Rua do Gorgulho, Centro Comercial Eden Mar Loja 16,o just 25 metres down the road down from the Eden Mar Hotel towards the Pingo Doce supermarket.
Fabulous pizzas (and we are fussy). 32 euros for two large pizzas and a bottle of house wine (a good quality Dao).
Also try Dos Combatentes restaurant near the old cathedral in Funchal just 100 metres or so up from Blandy's wine shop at the top of the nearby garden/park/bandstand square.
Great food and service. A hidden gem.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review posted on tripadvisor about your recent stay at Porto Mare hotel.

Glad that overall you had a very positive holiday experience in Madeira and our hotel in particular.

Sincerely hope to welcome you in a future visit to our property.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Just back from my second visit here and, once more, felt sad to leave. A week of peace and tranquillity in a beautiful hotel with views and gardens to die for. Already dreaming of next time! Lovely room and wonderful breakfasts on the terrace beside the pool. What more could you want?

Room Tip: Garden rooms are also lovely. Don't think any rooms are bad. Think I was upgraded as had been be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for your kind review about your recent stay at Porto Mare hotel.

Instead of dreaming please make it real and plan another visit to Madeira. I will be most pleased to assist you on anything you might need.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2013

We had our third holiday at the Porto Mare / Porto Bay and our expectations have been met once again. Wonderful room with view, lovely food and very pleasant staff who did all they could to make our stay an enjoyable one! Courtesy bus made our trips to Funchil much easier and the indoor pool was a great way to start our day before a very satisfying breakfast (so much choice) on the verranda in the sun. Chocolate week is a great time to visit!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “great” review about Porto Mare hotel.
Good to know that we manage to meet your holiday expectations and we will be most pleased to see you around soon.

Warm regards

Muito obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
171 reviews 171 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
198 helpful votes 198 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Spent a week there and cannot think of a single fault. We shall certainly be returning to this hotel. (Cost Information : 7 nights half board, Superior room with seaview, early February 2013, EasyJet holidays (including flights from Gatwick and 1 Hold case) was GBP 632 pp)

Plus Points
- Spotlessly clean
- Large spacious room
- Lovely communal areas/pools/gardens
- Excellent buffet food selection
- Exceptionally pleasing staff - genuinely friendly.
- Plenty of free car parking on site if in Hire Car

The hotel offers buses into Funchal - which is about a 30 minute walk away. We walked and it was very enjoyable - but does include a bit of a hill on the way back !
Guests seemed to be a mixture of many western european nationalities - and not that many young couples - possibly because out of school holiday times - I don't know.

No idea why this isn't a 5 star hotel - perhaps they don't offer a big enough selection of hand crafted snacks in the bar or whatever the criteria is for these star rating agencies - but as far as I am concerned, this is a 5 star establishment for the things that actually matter.

You will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Superior Rooms carry a premium surcharge - but they really are good - loads of room - balcony and se...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you sharing on tripadvisor your “excellent” review about your recent stay at Porto Mare hotel. Comments like the one you wrote give us even more responsibilities, but also a lot of pride in what we do. THANK YOU

For sure that will be a great pleasure in welcome you back in a future visit to Madeira.

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
62 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
119 helpful votes 119 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Having previously stayed in the very good sister hotel (Eden Mar) we were expecting the high standard which we had experienced there, and we were not disappointed. The bedrooms are very spacious, with a large and very comfortable bed, excellent blackout curtains - (no early morning waking with the sun shining in) spacious balcony and a TV on which you could access three main English programmes (although we didn't watch it at all as the weather was great.)
We had half-board and the choice of food in the Atlantida Restaurant at both breakfast and dinner is excellent. We also ate one night at the Basilico Restaurant which was also of a high standard.
All the staff in the hotel are lovely and friendly especially those in the hotel bar.
The location of the hotel is good - easy access to the coastal walk towards Camara do lobos, and a 50 minute walk into Funchal (although the hotel also provides a regular bus service)
The only reason I have not given it 5 stars is that while we were there one of the indoor pools was being refurbished and not only could we not use it (not a real problem as there are 2) but on 2 days there was a really bad smell which permeated the hotel (and even our bedroom) from the glue being used in the pool area.
I would be very happy to return again sometime in the future and would fully recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review about your stay at Porto Mare hotel.

As I mentioned in a couple of tripadvisor comments, the Porto Mare indoor pool was closed due to a major water leaking that had to be repaired. During the period that this specific pool was closed we heated the outdoor Porto Mare pool but we apologize for any disturbance we might have caused to your holidays.

Sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, Overijssel, Netherlands
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

After an 8-day tour around the beautiful island of Madeira, we spent 3 days at Hotel Porto Mare.
We really enjoyed every aspect of this hotel, from the room to the staff. It is extremely hard to find any points to criticize. We only wish we had stayed a bit longer.

Being exhausted from hiking and traveling for the past week, we enjoyed the pools, enjoyed great massages and skin care, and were completely relaxed afterwards.
Every single member of the staff was extremely friendly and gave me the impression they thoroughly enjoyed their work. This made for an extremely nice and relaxed atmosphere, where one can totally relax and enjoy everything that Porto Mare has to offer.
The room was quite large and provided us with a great view at the beautiful flower garden.

Next time I visit Madeira, I definitely stay at this hotel again to relax.

Room Tip: Rooms above the ground floor have a nice view of the ocean, and the beautiful garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor about your holiday experience at Porto Mare hotel.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you in a near future,
Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Family Hotel in Funchal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#10 Business Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira
Porto Mare Madeira
Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.