We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, comfortable hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free Upgrade
Ranked #10 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Bournemouth
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
61 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Lovely, comfortable hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Having previously stayed in the very good sister hotel (Eden Mar) we were expecting the high standard which we had experienced there, and we were not disappointed. The bedrooms are very spacious, with a large and very comfortable bed, excellent blackout curtains - (no early morning waking with the sun shining in) spacious balcony and a TV on which you could access three main English programmes (although we didn't watch it at all as the weather was great.)
We had half-board and the choice of food in the Atlantida Restaurant at both breakfast and dinner is excellent. We also ate one night at the Basilico Restaurant which was also of a high standard.
All the staff in the hotel are lovely and friendly especially those in the hotel bar.
The location of the hotel is good - easy access to the coastal walk towards Camara do lobos, and a 50 minute walk into Funchal (although the hotel also provides a regular bus service)
The only reason I have not given it 5 stars is that while we were there one of the indoor pools was being refurbished and not only could we not use it (not a real problem as there are 2) but on 2 days there was a really bad smell which permeated the hotel (and even our bedroom) from the glue being used in the pool area.
I would be very happy to return again sometime in the future and would fully recommend it.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for review about your stay at Porto Mare hotel.

As I mentioned in a couple of tripadvisor comments, the Porto Mare indoor pool was closed due to a major water leaking that had to be repaired. During the period that this specific pool was closed we heated the outdoor Porto Mare pool but we apologize for any disturbance we might have caused to your holidays.

Sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,079 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    225
    24
    10
    2
See reviews for
195
717
23
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (287)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Zwolle, Overijssel, Netherlands
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

After an 8-day tour around the beautiful island of Madeira, we spent 3 days at Hotel Porto Mare.
We really enjoyed every aspect of this hotel, from the room to the staff. It is extremely hard to find any points to criticize. We only wish we had stayed a bit longer.

Being exhausted from hiking and traveling for the past week, we enjoyed the pools, enjoyed great massages and skin care, and were completely relaxed afterwards.
Every single member of the staff was extremely friendly and gave me the impression they thoroughly enjoyed their work. This made for an extremely nice and relaxed atmosphere, where one can totally relax and enjoy everything that Porto Mare has to offer.
The room was quite large and provided us with a great view at the beautiful flower garden.

Next time I visit Madeira, I definitely stay at this hotel again to relax.

Room Tip: Rooms above the ground floor have a nice view of the ocean, and the beautiful garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion on tripadvisor about your holiday experience at Porto Mare hotel.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you in a near future,
Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadway, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We have only been to Madeira on two previous occasions at the neighboring Eden Mar and the Cliff Bay before this holiday. All three holidays were with the same hotel chain, Porto Bay. Our room was outstanding, spotless throughout and offered us a super sea view. The hotel is in a good position and they also run a free bus service into the centre of Funchal.

It was low season and the hotel clearly wasn’t full, but there were enough facilities on offer to keep us entertained throughout our week. Breakfasts were good, with plenty of choice and something for everyone. Evening meals also offered a high standard of food with plenty of variety – unfortunately, because the hotel had so many vacancies there wasn’t enough customers around towards 9pm to create any atmosphere and it felt like all the effort that the staff had made to create the buffet was wasted. Although we were on half board, we elected to have 2 of our evening meals in the “Med Restaurant” and take advantage of a 17 Euro credit per person for customers on half board. The food in the “Med Restaurant” was 1st class!

Overall, the good points are the staff, the location, the rooms, public spaces, food choice, food quality, free Wi-Fi, bus to town, TV channels including BBC1, BBC2, ITV, Sky News, BBC World & BBC Entertainment.

I do have 2 niggles to write about – they are minor, but here goes. First, the pool bar plays the same CD’s all day long with tracks in the same order – please treat the pool bar to an MP3 player loaded with thousands of tracks/melodies that can be played out on shuffle! Secondly, the evening resident duo goes through the same songs every night, very repetitive and just when they create a good atmosphere with people dancing – they take a break and return with 50% of the customers having left the bar!

Room Tip: Taky your smartphone, laptop, tablet computer or iPad and keep intouch with home via the free Wi-Fi
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing on tripadvisor your thoughts about your recent visit to Porto Mare hotel.

Happy to know that overall you had a positive holiday experience. Regarding the two points raised I will discuss it with my team and find a solution.


Sincerely hope to see you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

Just returned from a fantastic week in the Porto Mare. Nothing is too much trouble for the staff and they went out of their way to make it a very enjoyable stay. The room was superb (we paid extra for superior sea view and did not regret it at all.) The meals were delicious and the bars were also good (there is a happy hour from 5 pm to 6.30 pm and we paid just over 5 euros for a large beer and a gin and tonic.) Swimming pools were very good and the other sports facilities are excellent - tennis, ping pong, mini golf, gym etc. We were very fortunate because the weather was really warm for the time of year (up to 24 degrees Centigrade on two days) and we didn't see a drop of rain. Did a few nice walks along the coast and explored Funchal over a couple of days too. Will definitely come back.

The only downside to the holiday has nothing to do with Porto Mare - we booked the Ibis Hotel in Birmingham Airport as an overnight stay prior to flying out and got parking at a lowish cost... never again. The hotel was ok but the parking (Airparks) is miles away from the airport and they only lay on two shuttle buses per hour. We just missed one when we came out of the terminal after arriving back from our holiday and waited about 30 mins in a badly designed bus shelter which was virtually a very chilly wind tunnel. They do offer to bring your car to the airport on your return but they charge a very steep £25 for the privilege.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for the sea view - we thought it was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 22, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for sharing on tripadvisor your thoughts about your recent visit to Porto Mare hotel.

It is rewarding to know that you have enjoyed your stay and it will be a pleasure to welcome you back in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013

First visit to Madeira and the Porto Mare. A lovely hotel, very clean, great rooms, fantastic gardens.The breakfast choice was extensive had everything including Cava. Took great advantage of the happy hour and the free chocolate and Madeira Wine tasting that went on throughout the week. Found Funchal an interesting place to visit and plenty of places to walk along the coast and inland. Loads of restaurants within easy reach. The only negative was the refurb of one of the indoor pools that was taking place but it was being re opened as we left. Weather was good considering there was snow and ice back home. Will be back.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the “great “ review abut you recent stay at Porto Mare hotel. Your feedback about it is most appreciated and we are happy to knopw that overall you had a positive holiday experience.

The Porto Mare indoor pool was closed due to a major water leaking that had to be repaired. During the period that this specific pool was closed we heated the outdoor Porto Mare pool but we apologize for any disturbance we might have caused to your holidays.

Sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tayport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was our second visit to this complex in two years. Yet again the high standards were maintained throughout. Rooms spacious clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were an experience in themselves, in quality and selection.Staff were knowledgeable and looked after any queries in a cheery pleasant way. The location with the beautiful grounds added to the relaxing atmosphere.
Limited areas with access to Wi-Fi was the only quibble I had. Not enough to put us off booking next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at Porto Mare hotel.

I am happy to learn that overall you had a positive holiday experience.

Something new…we will be working on wi-fi soon, therefore next visit who knows?

Sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

8th return visit to the Residence which is part of a complex including the Eden Mar and Porto Mare hotels situated in the Lido area of Funchal. We were fortunate to enjoy 4 weeks there with sunshine and blue skies daily. The complex as always has well maintained facilities and beautiful , spacious grounds. I attended gym classes on yoga, pilates and aquafit which were all superb and a particular mention for Aurelio (?) whose enthusiasm and fun makes the hard work almost enjoyable. The staff are always extremely helpful and friendly and although the complex was full it never seems too busy. The food in the Mediterraneo and Il Basillico restaurants was of a high standard and there is a great range of local restaurants, competitively priced, to dine in. Until next year! Barbara Lindsay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor about your recent stay at The Residence. Thank you for the public praise of Aurélio I am sure he will be most pleased to receive your feedback.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you on your 9th visit to our property.

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Funchal
#8 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#8 Family Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Escapio, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Otel, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira
Porto Mare Madeira
Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.