We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Porto Mare” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)

Save Saved
You added Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 91 hotels in Funchal
Tayport, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Porto Mare”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

This was our second visit to this complex in two years. Yet again the high standards were maintained throughout. Rooms spacious clean and comfortable. Breakfasts were an experience in themselves, in quality and selection.Staff were knowledgeable and looked after any queries in a cheery pleasant way. The location with the beautiful grounds added to the relaxing atmosphere.
Limited areas with access to Wi-Fi was the only quibble I had. Not enough to put us off booking next year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback about your stay at Porto Mare hotel.

I am happy to learn that overall you had a positive holiday experience.

Something new…we will be working on wi-fi soon, therefore next visit who knows?

Sincerely hope to welcome you back in a near future,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..

ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

983 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    754
    197
    22
    9
    1
See reviews for
162
649
20
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

8th return visit to the Residence which is part of a complex including the Eden Mar and Porto Mare hotels situated in the Lido area of Funchal. We were fortunate to enjoy 4 weeks there with sunshine and blue skies daily. The complex as always has well maintained facilities and beautiful , spacious grounds. I attended gym classes on yoga, pilates and aquafit which were all superb and a particular mention for Aurelio (?) whose enthusiasm and fun makes the hard work almost enjoyable. The staff are always extremely helpful and friendly and although the complex was full it never seems too busy. The food in the Mediterraneo and Il Basillico restaurants was of a high standard and there is a great range of local restaurants, competitively priced, to dine in. Until next year! Barbara Lindsay

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on tripadvisor about your recent stay at The Residence. Thank you for the public praise of Aurélio I am sure he will be most pleased to receive your feedback.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you on your 9th visit to our property.

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Second stay at this hotel and can thoroughly recommend it. Great facilities, beautiful gardens, good food, two lovely warm indoor pools and best of all, really friendly and helpful staff. We shall return later this year and hopefully in future years.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Just a short note to thank you for the ”wonderful “review posted on tripdavisor with feedback about your recent stay at Porto Mare.
We are really happy to know that you had another positive holiday experience.


Sincerely hope to meet you soon,

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

This is a modern hotel complex with excellent well maintained facillities. We stayed in a delux room overlooking the pool. Excellent view of the sunset every evening. Breakfasts were some of the best we have had in hotels. All the staff were really friendly and helpful, they couldn't do enough for you.

The location couldn't be better, its an easy walk through lovely gardens into the centre of Funchal, close to the beach and the coastal walkway and a bus stop right outside the hotel where you can get a bus to anywhere on the island.

Food in the hotel is great but there are also lots of restaurants and bars close by. We loved it and have already booked our next holiday there

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the review shared on tripdavisor with feedback about your recent stay at Porto Mare hotel and happy to know that you had a such a positive holiday experience.

It will be a great pleasure to welcome you for your future (already booked) visit to our property.

Warm regards,

Muito Obrigado

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Returning yet again, have had a wonderful break post new year.

Accommodation excellent, had the bonus of a side terrace this time.

Food is varied and of an excellent standard.

Overall will be back, it's just such a perfect view, good location and wonderful helpful staff.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the 6th visit to our property and it is rewarding to know that we manage toonce again fulfill your holiday expectations.

I also take the opportunity to thank you and all the other guest who during 2012/13 shared on tripadvisor their thoughts about Porto Mare and therefore contributed for the Travellers' Choice® 2013 Winner Top | Best Service

I will be most pleased to welcome you soon,

MUITO OBRIGADO

Warm regards

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayrshire
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

I would agree with all the recent reviews. My husband and I chose this hotel after staying in the Cliff Bay in July which is part of the same group. We had a most enjoyable holiday there and would certainly recommend a holiday in the Cliff but we felt we wanted a change seeing the holidays were only a few months apart. We arrived on New Years Eve to a very welcoming and helpful reception desk, this could be said of all the staff from management through to maids.

The weather was much better than we expected and managed to have our breakfast outside most mornings, needing a cardigan on occasions, which was delightful. We enjoyed the New Year celebrations. The Dinner/Dance in the Med restaurant on Wednesdays is well worth a visit also the Dinner/Dance in the Il Gallo at the Cliff on Saturday nights is highly recomended.

We would like to thank everyone for making our holiday one to remember, we hope to see you again sometime this year.

PS. Thanks for taking note of our room preference we were delighted with our room, great sunsets.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Really happy to know that we had a positive contribute for your relaxed holidays and thank you for sharing your opinion about it so many other holiday makers.

I also take the opportunity to thank you and all the other guest who during 2012/13 shared on tripadvisor their thoughts about Porto Mare and therefore contributed for the Travellers' Choice® 2013 Winner Top | Best Service

It will be a pleasure to welcome you soon,

MUITO OBRIGADO

Warm regards

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laren, Noord-Holland, Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We have been in this hotel 4 times and we love it. The service is very good. We will certainly be back asap. The pools are good and Mr. Jose Agostinho is sure to make your relax and swimming time around the pools comfortable. The garden is lovely too.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
antoniopais, General Manager at Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), responded to this review, January 18, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion about our property with so many other holiday makers and thank you for the public praise of one of my colleagues. He will be most pleased to receive your comments .

I also take the opportunity to thank you and all the other guest who during 2012/13 shared on tripadvisor their thoughts about Porto Mare and therefore contributed for the Travellers' Choice® 2013 Winner Top | Best Service

MUITO OBRIGADO

Warm regards

. ..
ANTONIO PAIS
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay)

Address: Rua Simplicio Passos Gouveia, 21, Funchal, Madeira 9004-532, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Business Hotel in Funchal
#7 Spa Hotel in Funchal
#7 Family Hotel in Funchal
#9 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#9 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Porto Mare hotel occupies the central wing of the Vila Porto Mare resort and benefits from the use of all its facilities. There are many different corners and atmospheres here ... something new to discover every day. The rooms combine views over the ocean with tropical gardens. Four restaurants, six bars, an ice-cream parlour, five pools, SPA, sports and children's facilities... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Escapio, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Porto Mare Funchal
Porto Mare Hotel Madeira
Porto Mare Madeira
Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay) Madeira/Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Porto Mare Hotel (Porto Bay), register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.