We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful staff, every one helpful, friendly, cheerful and efficient.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Regency Cliff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Madeira Regency Cliff to your Saves list
Madeira Regency Cliff
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Penzance, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wonderful staff, every one helpful, friendly, cheerful and efficient.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

This is a small hotel, I think around 57 rooms, so obviously it doesn't have acres of marble reception rooms. The terrace is lovely to sit out on with amazing views. Even in January we sat out for breakfast with the staff bustling around to make sure tables were set up for anyone wanting to eat outside. We loved having our tea and coffee served by the staff in proper teapots with hot water jug. We loathe self service tea and coffee. I am an insomniac and our room was on the corner, it wasn't really noisy but I was worried, so the reception swopped all the bookings around and we were given a room facing the sea without the slightest chance of any noise unless there was a tsunami. The breakfasts were really good, we didn't eat in at night as we wanted to try the restaurants in Funchal. In our opinion this is the best "value for money" hotel we have been in for a long time. Garry & Maggie Allden Cornwall UK

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Allden,

Thank you for your review and kind comments. We are glad to hear that you had a wonderful stay at Regency Cliff. We had the chance to speak several times during your stay and I was very happy to learn that you are considering returning to Madeira and to our hotel in a very near future.
I once again thank you for sharing your opinion. We all hope to see you back very soon,

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    535
    172
    28
    2
    7
See reviews for
79
518
24
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crewe, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2011

My mother and I recently spent a week at this hotel. We had individual rooms but with an interconnecting door which made it more like a 2 bed/2 bath apartment. All rooms have a sea view. The hotel is relatively small - only 59 rooms I believe, and so it was quiet and as it did not appear to be full, it felt like you had individual attention from the staff. The hotel is about 3 km from the centre of Funchal but the local bus stop is just outside with buses running about every 10 -15 munutes to Funchal, less frequent to other destinations. Shops and a supermarket just across the road. I even ventured to have my hair cut. We took half board - extensive buffet at breakfast and buffet/table d'hote for evening meals. Food was very good both in quality and quantity and tasted much better than the menu description might lead you to believe. Being winter time, I had the indoor pool and steam room to myself most of the week and yes- they would put the steam room on just for me when I wanted it. Nothing seems to be any trouble for the staff of this hotel and I would hope that it is the same at the height of the season. Having stayed at other hotels on the island at greater cost , this hotel offered everything that they did.

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing with Trip Advisor readers your opinion about our hotel and Staff.
It is always with great delight that we acknowledge that we managed to exceed our guest’s expectations.
We sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future,

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2011

This is an appalling Hotel. The Lounge/Reception Area is uninviting and poorly laid out. Not suitable for cosy chats with fellow guests. The furniture is uninviting with large uncomfortable chairs and settees -- too heavy to move them. It is open plan alongside the Restaurant with the associated noise. The bar is part of the Restaurant and it is not easy to buy drinks when the restaurant is open. Our Bedroom was a good size but the furniture was again too heavy to move, and there was a lack of drawer space.
THE REDEEMING FEATURE WAS THE DAY TO DAY STAFF. ALL VERY HELPFUL, FRIENDLY AND EFFICIENT. A pity the Hotel General Manager (iolanda [-]) did not match her staff''s high customer care standards. She invited Guests to a Welcome Meeting, but was not there to greet them. She arrived unannounced about half an hour late - extremely poor manners and protocoland was then dismissive of any adverse comments and appeared only to want to hear some of the male guests saying how attractive she was.
The food was not very enticing, but though there was a good selection at breakfast the eggs, bacon mushrooms were often not hot.
We did not use the leisure facilities but they appeared to be good. The courtesy bus arrangements were restrictive and not good.
WILL NEVER RETURN !!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, February 4, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. In fact I had the pleasure of meeting you at our weekly cocktail and we spoke for a long time. You may recall that I emphasized that we value, accept and respect all opinions of our guests. Our aim is to fulfil our guest’s expectations and most of the times, fortunately we achieve this goal. It was of course, with great regret, that I acknowledged that we failed with you both.
I would like to explain to our readers, that Madeira Regency Cliff is a modern hotel inaugurated in 2001.Our main concern each year is to keep the hotel updated. The relaxed interior will for sure surprise you with its uniquely identifiable colours and maximum use of natural light. All our rooms have a spacious terrace from which you may enjoy views of the bay and the infinite blue sea. This is supplemented with the most modern facilities to guarantee you maximum comfort and make your stay unforgettable. I invite all Trip Advisor readers to visit our site: www.regencycliff.pt
We believe that there is always space to improve our services and the best way, is for sure, to hear the needs of our guests.
On behalf of the Management and Staff of Madeira Regency Cliff I thank you, once again, for your comments and apologize for not fulfilling your expectations.

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucks
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

Had a lovely week staying at this hotel. The staff were so helpful and friendly, nothing too much trouble. The room spacious, clean and wonderful view overlooking the sea. Beds and towels changed daily, although towels on the hard side.
Food was very good at breakfast, only ate in restaurant one evening as like to try different places and food, but good. Seats in restaurant very uncomfortable, needed to be padded more as could only feel the hard wood surround, even though looked very chic. Happy hour was good especially the cocktails, (can recommend the Unforgetable)
Good bus service outside the hotel, including the open top ones and plenty of taxi's up the road.
Good selection of restaurants with atmosphere along small road up from the cablecar along seafront of Funchal. Highly recommend.
A lovely island, nice and friendly people with plenty to see and do. Recommend a car if like to see the many wonderful views from high in the mountains. A visit to the market in central Funchal is a must, lots of beautiful flowers, vegetables, fish and some crafts.
Afternoon tea at Reids is a nice way to relax one afternoon. Scones are superb. If you like Orchids visit the Orchid Gardens, some lovely species. Try bringing one home to grow!! I have plus other plants. Bird of Paradise seeds take about 7-8years to grow and flower.
Look forward to returning another winter to escape the dull wet cold weather here in England.

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyClif, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Regency Cliff with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to learn that we fulfilled your expectations and that you are already considering a return trip to our Island and to our hotel.
We all look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future,

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whaley Bridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2011

We have just returned from our 6th visit to this wonderful hotel (january 2011) it never fails to please, from all of the staff going out of their way to please you to the hotel being spotless nothing is too much trouble for them. The breakfast will not fail to please there is everything you could wish for from hot cooked breakfast to cereal, fresh fruits, cooked meats etc, etc. The dinner times have various theme nights to full ala carteThe hotel rooms are a very reasonable size with all rooms having a full ocean view and a change of bed linen and towels every day should you require. This really is a gem of a hotel in the middle of the atlantic that should not be missed. We will be booking a further holiday their in October this year and again in January next year.
Regards
Bill&Marie Carden

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyClif, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, January 24, 2011
Dear Mr. and Mrs. Carden,

It was with great delight that I read your review. I would like to thank you for your kind comments and for your continued preference for Regency Cliff. I will certainly share review with whole Team.
We all look forward to welcoming you next October, for your 7th visit.

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrevieja, Spain
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2011

Very good almost all. Quiet place, big and clean room, balcony with table and chairs, great ocean`s view, very good sheets, very good breakfast, helpfull staff, free shattle to/from downtown twice a day. Not good: Ventillation in bathroom works bad. Flat TV too far away from a bed or too small. To say the truth, for me it was nothing, i didn`t want to watch it, but for my friends it wasn`t good . Bed. There were 2 single beds staying together and i falled twice between them during... mmm... i was with my wife, so, i think, you can understand, what i mean :-).
And it would be nice, if hotel`ll have heating pool next time.
In any case, i can recommended the hotel to all people for relaxation.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, January 17, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We value all comments and observations of our guests, as we believe it is the only way we can improve and maintain our service.
Regarding the two single beds we would like to inform that we have a few rooms with king size beds that are available for all of our guests on request. Both Swimming pools are heated, but unfortunately we had for 4 days a problem that is at the moment sorted.
We sincerely hope to see you back in a very near future.

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kibworth Leicester England
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2011

Having stayed at The Regency Cliff five times we recommend this hotel for anyone who is looking for a hotel that is excellent in every respect. Everyone of the staff are there to look after your every wish. They are friendly and interested in ensuring that you are really cared for in all ways for the whole of your stay. The cuisine is excellent and varied with a theme for each evening which will satisfy all tastes and the meal deals are real value. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable and represent excellent value for money. This is a hotel that will suit all tastes at ant time of the year and is situated with easy access to the centre of Funchal either on foot, by courtesy or public bus and an inexpensive taxi.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IolandaRegency, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, January 17, 2011
Dear Guest,

It was with great pleasure that the Team of Regency Cliff welcomed you for the 5th time. We are glad that once again we fulfilled your expectations. We thank you for sharing your experience with Trip Advisor readers.
We all look forward to welcoming in a very near future,

Best Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Address: Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Funchal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeira Regency Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.