We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Regency Cliff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Madeira Regency Cliff to your Saves list
Madeira Regency Cliff
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Package
Ranked #14 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
“The perfect hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

We have stayed 4 times at this hotel and will be returning for a fifth. Its is very difficult to fault this hotel. The staff really know their role and make an effort to go out of their way to ensure that their guests are happy The food is well prepared and well presented and is full of good taste. The views from the "rooftop" balcony are quite stunning. All this for a reasonable cost. I f you visit and stay Funchal do not miss this experience It alsohas a superb location just on the outskirts of the town.

Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

780 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    182
    28
    2
    7
See reviews for
82
544
25
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (211)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We stayed at the Madeira Regency Cliff for the second Time and have enjoy our relaxing Holiday there. We had have not only good Food, also very good service and friendly, helpful Staff. Facilities, like Pools and the Turkish Sauna are perfect. We will come back next Year and looking forward.

Room Tip: All Rooms has Sea Views, is very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmarthen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just spent a week in this hotel.Excellent stay with good clean rooms and wonderfull sea views.Hotel is very clean with friendly staff.Good breakfasts but we did not eat in the hotel in the evenings.However we did have lunch time snacks by the pool and I was very happy with the quality and choice.Great happy hour cocktails in the evenings.

Room Tip: Stay on 2nd,3rd or 4th floor rooms all sea facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just returned from three weeks at Regency Cliff, our first visit to Madeira, and we loved it. Clean, quiet location (bedroom walls a bit thin so noisy guests who cant close a door or drag chairs across balconies are a pain, but that will happen almost anywhere), great breakfast choice and amazing cliff top area to relax. Lovely staff.
Not sure how some hotels qualify for five stars and yet Regency Cliff are rated four! Its small and consequently has small but adequate pools, lobby etc! How could we improve it, simple. Sun bed and sun umbrellas poor quality and not comfortable (like most in Madeira). Our only critique is the time it took to clean & treat the deck area, many hands make light work and less guest disruption.
Didn't take dinner in hotel, Madeira and this area is teeming with really good restaurants and we enjoy an evening walk out. Great bus service, 1,3,5 day passes available at reception take you almost anywhere from almost right outside the door. Loved it!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was our 3rd visit to this hotel and it just gets better and better - lovely room with a sea view, very clean, friendly staff , great breakfast in a quiet location - what more could you want. We only stayed B&B as there are some fantastic restaurants in the area.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Paul-Trois-Chateaux, France
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Fantastic staff, always ready to help with a smile, even when we arrived at 2a.m!
Rooms very spacious and comfortable with a large, well equipped bathroom, very comfortable beds and coffee making facilities.
Good breakfast buffet. Dinner unexciting but quite good value for money.
A lot of attention to detail - on my birthday an iced cake arrived and because we were leaving too early for breakfast, we were provided with a continental breakfast in our room without having to ask for it.
There is a shuttle service into Funchal but there is a bus stop right outside and a frequent bus service.
On the downside, not very much parking space. The first night we had to park out on the street.
Just one other little thing-I did think a few nibbles could have been provided with the aperitves.
All in in all, I can highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worthing, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

First time in Madeira we wanted to see a bit of the island and its character. Regency Cliff staff were very friendly and helpful.The location of the hotel was outside the main town but just a €1.95 bus trip away (€1.25 if you loaded your ticket up with 10 trips at the bus station). It was also on the hop on/hop off bus routes. Breakfast was to a good standard but the area was well supplied with restaurants so we didn't actually eat in the hotel at night.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Address: Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#15 Family Hotel in Funchal
#16 Business Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeira Regency Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.