We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very good option if you don't want a 'resort' hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Regency Cliff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Madeira Regency Cliff to your Saves list
Madeira Regency Cliff
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Package
Ranked #13 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
London
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“A very good option if you don't want a 'resort' hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Well-situated with very good views across the bay to Central Funchal and within walking distance of The Forum's shops and a promenade walk. Cheap car hire across the road. Close to key bus stops. Rooms are generally spacious, though not all have enough easy chairs for relaxation - we had to share one between two! Beds are comfortable, especially if you upgrade from the basic room to one with a King Size bed. Avoid rooms on the fifth floor under the restaurant and close to the car park, which can be noisy if you want to sleep in late. Rooms all have some sort of view but do ASK if you're not clear which sort of view you might get. Views at the side are more spectacular but views south to the sea benefit from day long sunshine: your choice! Food is generally good, particularly at breakfast. They are very good at posting the Dinner menu at breakfast time so if you're not on half board, you have the option of booking an individual dinner. We did this and enjoyed a good meal of local fish and fine wine one evening, instead of our usual exploration of local restaurants. Breakfast staff are generally attentive, with one or two friendly 'stars' who smile and offer great service. Sadly, reception staff are not as full of smiles and warmth, though the best of them are efficient and helpful. We did find the room maids' daily omission of something or other irritating at first, but then began to see it as vaguely amusing. If you mind about missing towels, toiletries, water etc., you might not see the funny side of this lack of attention to detail!

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

758 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    545
    176
    28
    2
    7
See reviews for
80
528
24
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed for a week 12-19th January,lovely hotel,fabulous location on the outskirts of Funchal on cliff edge with great views of the Atlantic Ocean and along the coast towards Funchal city,hotel staff polite and helpful we stayed in room 406 which has two balconies and was great,the hotel lay on free bus/taxi service into Funchal and back,comfy beds nice en-suite just real quality rooms, Funchal is a very beautiful city with great restaurants and bars,shops,museums,lovely promenades to walk along and is kept very clean and tidy,there are cable cars up to the mountains above Funchal which is a must to do,also the toboggan run down the streets from above Funchal is good fun but when you reach the end be wary of the taxi drivers waiting to either take you back up from where you came or drop you in the city either way it's 2km but these guys are the biggest rip offs you will come across, when we asked how much back to the city we were quoted 20euros when we said no it went down to 15 then 10 euros we still said no and walked off we got taxi down road for 8euros so be wary of this lot, apart from them the people are really nice,friendly and can't do enough to help,but if you have never been to Madeira it is definitely worth a visit,it was our first visit and we can't wait to go back and the weather is superb around 66-70f.

Stayed January 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chichester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

this is a quiet establishment ideal if you don't want kids running around was quite stunned with the size of the room have paid more for half the size in UK hotels we stayed B&B which was a very good option for us , buffet style breakfast plenty to choose from, use of the sauna and gym if you are that way inclined , all staff had good command of English and were very helpful rooms were serviced daily the location for us was ideal not city centre and not out in the middle of nowhere

Room Tip: south facing rooms have the better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have just returned from a week in this hotel for the 4th time and each time we visit it gets better. The terrace outside is now a beautiful relaxed seating and eating area. Everything is always clean and very tastefully presented. Staff are brilliant as usual and always efficient and helpful. We hopefully will continue to visit this lovely hotel for many years to come.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is a quiet, intimate hotel, very modern in all respects. We stayed here for 4 nights over Christmas. Our room faced due south and the balcony caught the sun virtually all day. Blissful!
The hotel is well situated for buses, but I would not recommend the open top tour which takes you all round the outskirts of the city as well as into the centre.
We'd booked half board, which included a Christmas Eve gala dinner and was good value for money. Other meals were quite good, with the exception of the Christmas Day dinner which was a buffet. The food was rather flavourless and not hot, which was a shame.
The service was good and the staff very helpful and friendly. Our room was well appointed and kept beautifully clean.
There were only a handful of parking spaces, none of which were easy to access, but we happened to be lucky and always managed to get one.
I would thoroughly recommend this hotel, but it seems to be in a rather windy corner of Funchal and was at times very cold. Rooms facing out to sea, as ours was, seemed to be far warmer than those facing Funchal which did not appear to get much sun.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We last stayed 10years ago and returned to stay in the Regency Cliff. This is not a large hotel which is exactly what we like as you have the more personal touch. We thought it wonderful last time but it has improved even more. Spotlessly clean all over the hotel, such friendly staff in reception area, restaurant and bar and domestic. All staff were willing to help and always greeted with a smile. We really did feel like royalty. We were invited to cocktail evening with the General Manager and she spent time with all the guests and was genuinely interested in how our stay was and that all was OK.
We had a superior room and it was just wonderful looking out over the sea. Our room was so quiet and beautifully clean. Fresh fruit was left in the room with fresh water and on departure maderian wine and cake. What a treat!
Breakfast is an array of gorgeous breads, fruits, cooked items, pastries, cheeses and cold meats, all freshly presented. Evening meals were varied and just delicious. One in our party had a birthday and we were presented with birthday cake, champagne and a rendition of happy birthday by a violinist. What a special treat!
In conclusion, this is a simply wonderful hotel and we could not fault it in anyway. A gem in Funchal.

Room Tip: Any with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have recently returned from a wonderful stay at this hotel which including Christmas Day. We stayed in a Suite which was worth every penny. With an extremely large bedroom leading off to a very large balcony with rattan furniture. A large living room diner (flat screen tele in lounge and bedroom) small kitchenette and massive bathroom.

The staff were superb and clearly recognised and tended to the needs of their many repeat visitors. Nothing was too much trouble and I chuckled as some of the gents complained that another guest was getting more kisses than they.

The gala dinner on Christmas Eve with as much wine as you could drink was great value and very tasty.

Our only regret was that we didn't stay for New Year as all the returning guests couldn't wait to tell us how fantastic the fireworks were. Looked like they planned fun too with a party taking place until 3am (we did wonder who would be up as everyone was in bed before 11pm on Christmas Eve).

Well, we won't miss out next year as we have booked up for 9 days back in the same room and this time we will be staying for New Year!

If you do go before Christmas, then don't miss the all night Christmas market which is wonderful!

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Address: Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Family Hotel in Funchal
#12 Business Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeira Regency Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.