We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful hotel,small,peaceful,relaxing lovely.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Regency Cliff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Madeira Regency Cliff to your Saves list
Madeira Regency Cliff
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“wonderful hotel,small,peaceful,relaxing lovely.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

stayed for a week in feb 2014.hotel spotless,lovely staff,rooms with balcony over looking sea,full views of the sea,not straining to get a peep.very quiet and so relaxing.Dressing robes,in the bathroom,a nice touch.Good breakfast on terrace,over looking sea, excellent views,Would not use any other hotel.Half day walking trip with Lido,not to good,mini bus to starting point, joined an other group result,very large group,marching single file line,rushing,no time to stop for photos,no guide input.Great,views but lacked input.

Room Tip: all good as far as I know
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed you stay at Madeira Regency Cliff and that you would not use another hotel in Madeira.

We hope to see you back,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    173
    28
    2
    7
See reviews for
79
520
24
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

This is our second visit to this lovely hotel on a B&B basis as there are lots of restaurants around and about. The hotel is clean, rooms spacious,friendly staff, wonderful breakfast which was taken on the terrace most mornings, sunny balcony looking out to sea plus an indoor and outdoor pool - what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed once again your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We look forward to welcoming you, hopefully in a very near future,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Loved this place, had amazing view of sea and coast towards Funchal from our room. Well located hotel in main hotel area west of Funchal, spacious comfortable room with good facilities. We enjoyed good weather in early February (warm enough to sit out in the daytime, and use outdoor pool). Hotel had a very nice outdoor area for breakfast with again fantastic sea views. Excellent breakfast buffet, but we were less enthusiastic about evening meal - very nice ambience and stylish restaurant, but food a bit bland and unexciting. Lots of other restaurants in the area, however, and the centre of Funchal is a walkable distance, with frequent bus service along the main road. Hotel also has daytime shuttle service into the centre.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, June 3, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to learn that overall you had a nice holiday.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in a near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2014 via mobile

We stayed a week in February 2014 and had a mixed bag of weather. The room we had was very quiet and overlooked the south, with open views of the sea. It (like all rooms I think) had a balcony with table and chairs. Inside, the room had ample space, a tv (limited English-speaking channels), kettle and a nice ensuite with a really powerful shower, hair dryer etc. The room decor was pretty good and it was clean and fresh. The hotel's restaurant is newly decorated and comfortable and there's a lovely roof terrace with panoramic views. If the weather is nice, breakfast here is lovely. The breakfast was varied with hot and cold food, cereals, cooked breakfast, meats, cheeses, yoghurts, bread etc. We only ate in the hotel one evening and the food was good but we felt quite expensive when you added in the wine. The hotel staff were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel provided free transfers for us to and from the airport and laid on a shuttle bus twice daily into Funchal and back - about a 10-15 minute drive. We organised a couple of tours with a local tour company (Flora Travel) through the hotel and were picked up from and brought back to the hotel which was great. The hotel is conveniently situated close to a newish shopping arcade with several shops and a good sized supermarket, as well as several restaurants. Would we come back to this hotel again? Yes we would, although the average age of the guests was probably 60/65+ when were there, so it may not suit everyone!

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We hope to see you back in a very near future,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromley, United Kingdom
1 review
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

We enjoyed a few days at this charming Hotel just before Xmas. It is one of the smaller hotels in the Hotel District and is well situated, so you do not have a feeling of encroachment from nearby buildings. There is easy access to the promenade to walk beside the sea, which leads to other amenities. There is a range of good restaurants nearby. A limited courtesy taxi service runs daily into Funchal and there are frequent local buses.The staff were delightful - efficient, friendly and helpful. Our second floor seaview bedroom with balcony was spacious,comfortable, clean and quiet. The public areas are very attractive and the breakfast terrace has spectacular views. There is a very good range and choice for breakfast and the evening meal we ate was exquisitely cooked and presented. The music presentations were of a high standard and not intrusive. The cocktails from the bar during 'Happy Hour' were superb. We enjoyed this relaxing experience and will plan another visit

Room Tip: Travel out of session for good deals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holiday and that you will plan another visit to our hotel.

We hope to see you back in a very near future,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edlesborough, United Kingdom
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2014

We have just returned from our fifth visit to the hotel and once again have had a fantastic time. The hotel is very welcoming, in an ideal position on the cliff edge and has good sea views and views across the bay to Funchal. It also has all the facilities needed for a relaxing holiday. Staff are warm, extremely helpful and courteous to all nationalities. Breakfast and evening meals at the hotel have been at a consistent high level for each of our five visits. It is also nice to meet and share experiences with guests met in previous years.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are delighted to acknowledge that you had a fantastic time at Madeira Regency Cliff. It was indeed with great pleasure that we welcomed you for the 5th time.

Thank you for your support and loyalty.

The Team looks forward to welcoming you next year,

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014

Spent a delightful week at the Regency Cliff Hotel.The hotel is of medium size and is modern and spotless.Our room was large and had a superb view of the sea and as it was warm at night we left the balcony door open and went to sleep to the sound of the sea below.We found the staff helpful and attentive and when there was a minor fault with the TV it was repaired instantly.After eating out in Funchal for two evening dinners we took the option of buying four dinners in the hotel.The dining room was full each evening so we had to wait a few minutes for a table but this was not a problem.The breakfasts were good with fruit etc. and cooked eggs available.The large and pleasant outside eating area was used occasionally according to how the weather was.

The hotel had arranged for a taxi to meet us at the airport which was well worth while and also on our return to the airport at the end of the week.We found everyone , the taxi drivers , the locals and waiters all spoke excellent English in fact our taxi driver had lived in London for some years where there is a large Madeiran population.

We found the indoor pool warm if a little small.The sitting area around the outside pool soon fills up on a sunny day so we often sat in the sun on our balcony.

The hotel is about a mile and a half from the centre of Funchal and as it is downhill we walked and caught the bus back.The buses are frequent (use the number 1 or 2) and we were told to buy ten journeys each from a tobacconist in the nearby supermarket.The buses run a Giro system similar to the London Oyster card which activates each time you get on the bus and does not hold up everyone as when you buy a single ticket from the driver.

We used the buses every day and once went on the 48 bus up to Monte.An alternative way of getting to Monte and the tropical garden is to take the cable car which is a must.We visited the Blandys Madeira Winery for an interesting tour and tasting.We took the bus to the botanical gardens one day where you can catch a cable car to Monte.

If we go to Madeira again we would certainly use the Regency Cliff Hotel.

Room Tip: Superior sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, April 2, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are glad to hear that you spent a delightful week at Regency Cliff and that if you return to Madeira you will not hesitate to choose this hotel again.

We hope to see you back in a very near future,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Address: Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Funchal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeira Regency Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.