We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another wonderful holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Regency Cliff

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Madeira Regency Cliff to your Saves list
Madeira Regency Cliff
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 90 Hotels in Funchal
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Another wonderful holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

We've stayed at the Regency Cliff several times before and looked forward to staying there again. The latest changes to the terrace are a major improvement and have made a big difference. I think it's very telling that the staff remain the same year after year, are really friendly and always helpful. A really delightful small hotel with excellent rooms, good food (especially the breakfast buffet!) and wonderful views out to sea. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your most valued opinion with Trip Advisor readers. It is always with great pleasure that the Team of Madeira Regency Cliff welcomes you. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed once again your holiday.

It is also very rewarding to acknowledge that our repeated guests are pleased with the improvements we made in our Restaurant Terrace.

Thank you for your support and continued preference, we hope to see you back very soon.

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    536
    173
    28
    2
    7
See reviews for
79
520
24
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, United Kingdom
1 review
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Have just returned from a wonderful break at the Regency Cliff Hotel in Funchal.A lovely clean and restfull hotel with friendly and helpful staff.Must also highly recommend the Monumental Grill,situated just across the road from the hotel for adding to an overall brilliant stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Co-op Travel

Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your kind comment. We are very pleased to learn that you had wonderful break at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We hope to see you back in a near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Upgraded room on arrival. Very clean. Bath Robes, Location - taxi or bus ride into Funchal or a lovely walk with coffee stops on route.. Sea view from every room. Indoor and outdoor pool. Would agree with other reviewer evening food not so exciting. Breakfast good, staff friendly,
Madeira is a lovely Island well worth a visit, Taxi drivers are very friendly and most speak good English,

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We are very pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We hope to see you back in a near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Just had a really superb holiday at the regency cliff hotel, extremely comfortable and the staff could not have been more friendly and helpful. Would thoroughly recommend it.
It is very near to the frequent buses into Funchal and also to the tourist buses for trips around the island. Never having been to madeira before we were thoroughly impressed. The only downside was the shambles at the airport for the return trip home.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have magnificent views' the 3rd floor in particular.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are very pleased to learn that you had a superb holiday and that you were impressed with Madeira Island.

We hope to see you back in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Hotel room had everything we wanted, lovely balcony with comfortable chairs, perfectly cleaned every day, powerful shower & even bath robes! Breakfast had good choice of hot & cold food. Hotel is a good walk into Funchal centre but on mainly level ground.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Co-op Travel

Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your contribution. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holiday.

We hope to see you back in a near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newtown, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

This hotel was outstanding. It was faultless in all departments. The quality of service provided by all the staff deserves to be highlighted. The rooms all have a fantastic sea view and the outdoor dining area is very atmospheric - especially if you are enjoying a pre-dinner cocktail!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your holiday.
We hope to see you back in a near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
1 review
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We recently returned from our second stay at the Regency Cliff and once again we had a wonderful holiday. The hotel has undergone various renovations since our last stay and they have further enhanced the facilities without losing the charm of this lovely, small hotel. The management and staff are all exceptionally friendly and go out of their way to be helpful and make you feel at home. The accommodation is clean and spacious with lovely views. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis as we like to explore local restaurants in the evening. There are many good restaurants within easy walking distance of the hotel. We highly recommend the Regency Cliff and we are looking forward to another stay there next year

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, October 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment which I will share with the whole Team. We are very pleased to learn that you had another wonderful holiday.

We all look forward to welcoming you next year.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Address: Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Funchal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeira Regency Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.