We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have returned a 2nd time this year, Superb, Clean, Amazing, Friendly!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Regency Cliff

Save Saved
You added Madeira Regency Cliff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Madeira Regency Cliff
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Summer Package
Ranked #13 of 91 hotels in Funchal
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“We have returned a 2nd time this year, Superb, Clean, Amazing, Friendly!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I have been told that Madeira was voted the best holiday island destination. We can now understand why this wonderful island has been voted this. Anyway, this review should start with the Hotel.

We stayed 2nd time. We stayed there in Sep 2012, and returned for a 2nd time this Sep 2013, well last week.

Staff: Extremely professional and friendly. Everything flows like clock work. They also provide intern ships currently to 2 young enthusiastic waiters. They always had a smile and enjoyed their tasked. We can only say a lot of positives about the other staff, from cleaners, waiters and reception and more.

They made even more of an effort after our return. We received a hand written welcome note which was kind of nice as nowadays all is typed on a computer. It gives the personal touch.

We were treated with surprises every morning when we have returned to the room. There was a delicious fruit basket and a tasty bottle of water waiting for us. Another day there was a chocolate and the last day we have received a traditional Madeira honey cake and Madeira wine. Really sweet and healthy.

The hotel is clean, the food is fresh and you get extra in case you are still hungry after a meal. they have 3 nights of buffet night, Italian, Madeira and Tropical night and a lot various hand baked cakes and fruit as dessert.

The break fast : All what you can imangine. I was told that one of the staff grandmother is baking one of their cakes which is served in the morning. Not to sweet just right as you would expect a home backed cake to taste like. Eggs, meat, fruit and more for an early start. Of course, you might have seen the pictures of their terrace overlooking the see and more.


Tranport links : Are really good. Two buses No 1 and No 2 will take you to the main town centre. About 15 mins bus ride for 3.80 EURO for 2 person

The Hotel has also a FREE of charge cab service in the morning that takes you to the town from 10am or 11am and then back again in the evening. All free of charge.. All that needs to be done is to book with the reception the day before.


Free Hotel Wifi and Free Hotel Internet using a standard desktop pc

I have seen only quite and pleasant people using this hotel. Seldom Children but if they were any Children, they have behaved and were quite

I can write a lot more but i think i got most of the important points across

We will return for a 3rd time for sure as we got friendly with most of the staff there.

Out side activities. There are a lot of restaurants and a large shopping mall near by (5 Mins walk) called "MADERIA FORUM". Mo to Sun open. A lot of places from food and cloth shopping and cafes.

If you fancy a nice Pizza, you can also walk down the hil for 10 - 15 mins to Casa Italia and more.

Anohter note about the Cab/Taxi , Bus drvers and people in general.

All friendly and willing to go to the extra mile to help. The bus drivers has always enough change at hand in case you need to pay the fare. there are no complains from bus drives if you flash them a 5 or even 20 euro note. (Unlike here in the UK<...they wont even let you on the bus)

Cant wait to return for our 3rd visit

Markus and Lorraine (Guest staying in Room 312)

Room Tip: Ask for for a See View with Balcony room. You pay extra for this and you can choose this when bookin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a detailed comment; it will certainly help our future guests. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your second visit and that you will return.

We thank you for your kind review and support.

Regency Cliff Team looks forward to welcoming you,

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

691 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    497
    159
    27
    2
    6
See reviews for
76
478
23
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed for 10 nights wished we had stayed for 14!
The hotel is modern and clean. The bedrooms are big with sea views, tea/coffee making facilities and air conditioning! The pool is not very big, but big enough. The area around is very hilly (but all Madeira is hilly). There are lots of restaurants within easy walking distance (we would recommend the White Candle) although the hotel food is very good. The staff are attentive and very friendly.
If you want a quiet, relaxing holiday we would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind comment. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bern
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

Perfect Location, really friendly staff and nice food. The prices for a dinner are ok, but not very cheap. Our room was very big, when we arrived, we got a free upgrade to a larger room with sea view.
The breakfast buffet is really not ok. There are no marmelades (one per day) and the fruits are not fresh. Also the ham and the cheese are not very tasty. But if you buy a daycard for the bus and go to the city you can have a nice breakfast there.

all in all a very good hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment which had our best attention. We are pleased to learn that overall you enjoyed your holiday.

We are sorry to hear that you were not pleased with our breakfast. We would like to clarify our future guests:

Marmelade: Every day one homemade marmalade, 4 different compotes, honey and Nutella.

Cheese and Ham: Every day 3 different types of cheese and Ham

Fruit: Every day 2 different types of fresh sliced fruit, fruit salad, plus homemade caramelized fruit.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Maria, Cape Verde
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a charming Hotel! Very well located, with easy access to the sea. The food is excellent and the service could not be better. The ocean view is beautiful. I really loved staying here and I recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your holiday and will not hesitate to recommend Madeira Regency Cliff.

We hope to see you back in a very near future

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Very nice hotel indeed. It's small too and quiet, but this may not suit some familes. The only downside is that the pools are rather small but still good enough for us! Food was good though a little pricey, but then again you can eat as much as you like when it's buffet style (same goes for the extensive breakfasts).
Staff were pleasant, polite and had very good English, and even understood my Brazilian Portuguese, most of the time.
The rooms were excellent - clean and pleasant with good facilities, including a Nespresso machine so we could make decent coffee!
Few downsides -The wifi coverage is a little hit-and-miss in the rooms - a few more repeaters would help. Use of the in-room safe cost extra - this really should be free.
Overall - highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We booked our package with jet 2 as it looked to offer all we wanted. Must say that the reviews on trip advisor are on the money and it really is as good as it appears. The whole place from reception to rooms and outside pool and garden area are super clean and comfortably thought out. Comfy chairs and loads of places to hide in corners and act as a lizard. The pool is on the small side but is enough to cool down. Our room was a big space, cleaned everyday with fresh towels and no funny smells. Madeira on the whole was stunning, scenery and views, friendly people and some great cake shops... what more do you want. Liked staying in a smaller hotel you get much better service and feel like a person instead of a number. This is a really great hotel, with nice hard working people. Thanks for a fantastic time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is with great pleasure that we acknowledge that you had a fantastic time at Madeira Regency Cliff.

Regency Cliff Team hopes to have the pleasure to welcome you in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a small hotel, in the middle of the hotel zone of Funchal. We chose it based on all the good reviews on trip advisor, and we had an excellent holiday as a result. Last year we stayed at the Porto Santa Maria in Funchal old town, and while that is a good hotel, our room overlooking the park was noisy, in complete contrast to our room here and at a much lower cost. It on the 3rd floor, south facing, and was not overlooked, so it was great to start the day lying in bed with a cup of tea looking at the sea. The classic room was nicely decorated, and the large bed was extremely comfortable due to a mattress topper. The hotel was tastefully decorated throughout, and it was also great to to eat breakfast or have a drink in the evening looking at the view from the terrace. There were also plenty of sunbeds around the pool even though the hotel was full. We only ate breakfast, there was a good choice of bread, cooked meats, hot food, fruit, cake etc, and the scrambled egg was superb! The staff were all polite, helpful and friendly.They even kept a straight face when I handed in a door card I found on the bottom of the swimming pool, only to find 2 hrs later it was mine, having fallen out of my shorts pocket whilst swimming! One tip - if you want to travel on the city buses, buy a card and top up from the newsagent by the escalator on the 3rd floor of the Forum shopping centre. Each journey costs 1.30 euro instead of paying 1.90 on the bus itself, so a trip to Monte on the 48 bus from the stop by the hotel costs 2.60 return for a 1.30 hr round trip. Result.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We are glad that your expectations were fulfilled and that you enjoyed your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in a near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Address: Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#12 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Funchal
#18 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeira Regency Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.