We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Regency Cliff

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Madeira Regency Cliff to your Saves list
Madeira Regency Cliff
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 89 Hotels in Funchal
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Santa Maria, Cape Verde
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

This is a charming Hotel! Very well located, with easy access to the sea. The food is excellent and the service could not be better. The ocean view is beautiful. I really loved staying here and I recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your holiday and will not hesitate to recommend Madeira Regency Cliff.

We hope to see you back in a very near future

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

792 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    571
    182
    30
    2
    7
See reviews for
85
551
26
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Very nice hotel indeed. It's small too and quiet, but this may not suit some familes. The only downside is that the pools are rather small but still good enough for us! Food was good though a little pricey, but then again you can eat as much as you like when it's buffet style (same goes for the extensive breakfasts).
Staff were pleasant, polite and had very good English, and even understood my Brazilian Portuguese, most of the time.
The rooms were excellent - clean and pleasant with good facilities, including a Nespresso machine so we could make decent coffee!
Few downsides -The wifi coverage is a little hit-and-miss in the rooms - a few more repeaters would help. Use of the in-room safe cost extra - this really should be free.
Overall - highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinion with Trip Advisor readers. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We booked our package with jet 2 as it looked to offer all we wanted. Must say that the reviews on trip advisor are on the money and it really is as good as it appears. The whole place from reception to rooms and outside pool and garden area are super clean and comfortably thought out. Comfy chairs and loads of places to hide in corners and act as a lizard. The pool is on the small side but is enough to cool down. Our room was a big space, cleaned everyday with fresh towels and no funny smells. Madeira on the whole was stunning, scenery and views, friendly people and some great cake shops... what more do you want. Liked staying in a smaller hotel you get much better service and feel like a person instead of a number. This is a really great hotel, with nice hard working people. Thanks for a fantastic time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It is with great pleasure that we acknowledge that you had a fantastic time at Madeira Regency Cliff.

Regency Cliff Team hopes to have the pleasure to welcome you in a very near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

This is a small hotel, in the middle of the hotel zone of Funchal. We chose it based on all the good reviews on trip advisor, and we had an excellent holiday as a result. Last year we stayed at the Porto Santa Maria in Funchal old town, and while that is a good hotel, our room overlooking the park was noisy, in complete contrast to our room here and at a much lower cost. It on the 3rd floor, south facing, and was not overlooked, so it was great to start the day lying in bed with a cup of tea looking at the sea. The classic room was nicely decorated, and the large bed was extremely comfortable due to a mattress topper. The hotel was tastefully decorated throughout, and it was also great to to eat breakfast or have a drink in the evening looking at the view from the terrace. There were also plenty of sunbeds around the pool even though the hotel was full. We only ate breakfast, there was a good choice of bread, cooked meats, hot food, fruit, cake etc, and the scrambled egg was superb! The staff were all polite, helpful and friendly.They even kept a straight face when I handed in a door card I found on the bottom of the swimming pool, only to find 2 hrs later it was mine, having fallen out of my shorts pocket whilst swimming! One tip - if you want to travel on the city buses, buy a card and top up from the newsagent by the escalator on the 3rd floor of the Forum shopping centre. Each journey costs 1.30 euro instead of paying 1.90 on the bus itself, so a trip to Monte on the 48 bus from the stop by the hotel costs 2.60 return for a 1.30 hr round trip. Result.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We are glad that your expectations were fulfilled and that you enjoyed your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you in a near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

We have just returned from a 10 night break to Regency Cliff Madeira. We chose this Hotel firstly from "word of mouth" and secondly due to Trip Advisor reviews. We were in a classic room on the 5th floor (room 502). This was our first trip to Madeira and really didn't know what to expect. The Hotel is small, 59 rooms in total, this was an advantage to us, more personal, less hustle and bustle and pleasingly so much quieter. The only noise either during the day or at night was soft background music or the noise of the ocean. Thankfully no daytime recreation that you feel obliged to join or are forced to endure. Rooms are spacious and very clean, carpeted and very quiet air conditioning. Towels and bedding are changed regularly (you decide how often). 4 nights per week (Thurs - Sun) is waiter service dining on the outdoor terrace. We had exceptional food, extremely well cooked and presented. Wonderful duck dishes and fish courses, followed by equally tasty deserts. All breakfasts were buffet service with plenty to choose from but were very much the same each day. Sadly the evening buffet was a little disappointing. We found we were waiting for food containers to be topped up and I found I was eating on my own whilst my husband waited for the food he wanted.
However, I celebrated my 60th Birthday whilst in Madeira and to my surprise found a Birthday Cake in the room and good wishes from all the Hotel Staff. THANK YOU SO MUCH. This was a lovely surprise.
Staff in the Hotel were very pleasant and very obliging. On the 2nd day of my holiday I broke my sunglasses and asked reception if they had any superglue. The following day there it was and I was able to repair my glasses rather than have to buy a new pair. THANK YOU AGAIN.

****Things you need to know*****

You are charged if you want to use the safe in the room. 25 euros refundable deposit
and 2.3 euros per day.
Water in the room is 2.50 euros plus mini bar charges for bottles of water.
Water in the restaurant on an evening is 3 euros.
There is a Spa supermarket down the road where you can buy a litre of water for 0.80 euros and many other household items.

We found Madeira to be very scenic and the trip on the cable car is a must. We purchased a triple journey ticket for 60.50 euros for 2 people from the tourist booth next to the harbour. (Cable car from Funchal to Monte, down to the Botanic Gardens, then back up again and then all the way back down to Funchal. It probably is cheaper by local bus but not as scenic.

Overall our holiday was very relaxing, we sunbathed in an area next to the indoor pool and gym and there was just the 2 of us. It felt as though we had our own personal leisure facilities.

This Hotel prides it's self on Good Customer Service which we believe it is mostly achieving, but from experience of many holidays around the world in 4 & 5+ star Hotels we have never had to take our own cases to the room or not even be shown there. Here we were just directed to a lift after waiting 20 minutes to check in. First impressions count, perhaps if the Hotel are expecting multiple guest arrivals at any one time there should be more than one person available on reception. And it would also be much more welcoming to have a complimentary bottle of water in the room rather than a bottle with a price tag on it. These are just suggestions and by no way detract from our overall enjoyment of our holiday. We will return to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday and look forward to meeting the staff again. THANKS

Room Tip: The Higher the better and facing the lido. We were in 502.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,


Thank you for your comment which had our best attention. We are pleased to learn that overall you had a very enjoyable holiday and that you will return.

We all look forward to welcoming you

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for a week in July and had an excellent break. The hotel has around 50 rooms so there is no mad rush for anything. Top notch service, spotlessly clean and attention to detail.
Our room was 302 which had an excellent panoramic sea view, very spacious with blackout curtains and we had no noise whatsoever. I informed the hotel in advance of our silver wedding anniversary and on return to our room on Tuesday champagne was waiting, a really nice gesture.
We booked the half board option which was excellent, the evening meal was really nice food mostly from a three course menu served at your table, just a few nights having buffet style. Breakfast has an excellent choice fruits, hot and cold food etc.
Nice subtle entertainment was on nightly.
No hustle or bustle for sunbeds, poolside snack bar, an outdoor and indoor pool with steam room and small gym.
Staff were very attentive, organised and helpful with everything, we were really treated very well. Courtesy taxi's to and from Funchal was a really nice addition.
Hotel is nicely situated in a modern area with some nice friendly cafe bars close by. Funchal is aroung 3km away (free taxi) and is really nice with great cafe's, shops and old town narrow streets.
Lunch at the Ritz Cafe is a must with live guitarist outside, brilliant.

We will definitely visit here again and would strongly recommend this hotel if visiting Madeira.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 302, perfect views. only a few rooms seem to have limited sea view maybe 1st floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your holiday at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crewe, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed here twice over the past few years and it's a great little hotel in Funchal.
Our choice was to stay with bed and breakfast and walk in the evening to one of the numerours restaurants nearby. Rooms are smartly presented and a good size, kept clean and tidy. Beutiful sea views from the elevated patio area where you tan take breakfast and drinks. Small outdoor pool but not busy so enjoyable for a relaxing swim as well as an indoor pool. Sufficient space and sunbeds available for the guests. Lots of things to see in Funchal and the wider Madeira. Probably better for adults rather than families with younger children.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, August 30, 2013
Dear Guest,

It was really a great pleasure to welcome you back. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed once again your holiday.

Thank you for sharing your opinion.

We look forward to welcoming you

With Warm Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Address: Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
#13 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#14 Family Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeira Regency Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.