We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent holiday hotel.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Madeira Regency Cliff

Save Saved
You added Madeira Regency Cliff to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Madeira Regency Cliff
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Special Winter Package
Ranked #13 of 91 Hotels in Funchal
Southampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday hotel.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We chose this hotel because of its location and size as we dislike large, impersonal hotels. From the start it exceeded our expectations. The staff were very welcoming and friendly. Our standard room was on 5th floor and we were very happy with it. It was clean, comfortable with air-con and a good size. The view across the ocean was quite stunning with a little verandah too. Towels were changed daily. Cleaners were very efficient, the room always looked very spic and span. The king sized bed was extremely comfortable. We had booked B&B only because we like to be a bit independent and there are lots of local restaurants in the area within easy reach. We have no complaints about breakfast either, all tastes seem to be catered for. We had a lovely weeks holiday and will definitely be returning. The local buses are cheap, and plentiful, just outside hotel too, plus a free shuttle daily provided by hotel. What's not to like? Thank you Iolanthe and all your brilliant staff for making our holiday a great success.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind comment. We are delighted to learn that we managed to fulfill your expectations and that you will definitely return.

Regency Cliff Team looks forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    165
    27
    2
    6
See reviews for
76
497
23
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

This is a lovely, smallish hotel with great ambience. Don't be put off that it is about 40 minutes walk from center of Funchal. There is a courtesy bus service and local buses are plentiful and cheap. Taxis also very reasonable and are metered. The walk into town is pleasant with numerous quality restaurants and bars on the way. There are also several good restaurants close to the hotel. The Forum shopping Mall close by has many quality shops. The hotel is very comfortable, modern and exceptionally clean. Views from rooms and restaurant, pool etc are spectacular. We chose a superior room and were very pleased with our choice. The staff are very friendly and helpful and, as this is a relatively small hotel, they get to know you and your requirements very quickly. We had our coffee and tea served without having to ask. We were amazed at the choice of cocktails which were very reasonably priced. The hotel is geared towards adults because both pools have no shallow end.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind review. We are very pleased to learn you had an enjoyable stay at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a very near future,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

When we arrived on holiday in May we booked in advance for a Classic Room. The charming receptionist offered us an upgrade to a Superior Room,

Our room looked rather basic, for what was described as a Superior room, to be fair we were basing this on the fact that we used to have time share at Porto Mare, also 4 star,The wall was damaged in one small area near the bed. One mains socket was cracked, but repaired when I pointed it out. The bathroom was ok but the yellow tiles and fitments were rather dated in our opinion, The shower over the cramped bath was not ideal. There was a kettle for tea and coffee making, and sachets provided, a great facility. We were on the 1st floor, and did not find any problems with people sitting outside on sun-loungers etc. Nobody stayed that long, we were not pool side. The flat screen satellite TV was good, and the wi fi fast superb and free, thank you so much for that!

I spoke to the reception, and to the manager at her cocktail party, and voiced my opinions. Reception offered us a free upgrade to a luxury room, the best in the hotel. This had a trouser press, and a coffee making machine in it, plus two balconies. I have not use for a trouser press and too much coffee is bad for anyone. We were astonished to see that the bathroom was as dated, as in our Classic Room, the shower being over the bath but with a glass or plastic sliding partion instead of shower curtain. We got used to our room and did not want the hassle of moving, so decided to stay where we were. The manager put some Maderian wine and cake in our room to say sorry for faults in our room, a nice touch.

There was maintenance going on when were were in the hotel, the workmen were charming,but why do decorating and work outside during the holiday season? They could have filled and repainted one wall and fixed the plug on the wall in our room before we arrived?

Having said that we felt at home at the hotel, the staff were all friendly. The buffet meals were superb. It was possible to try all sorts of different dishes, starters and desserts, we ate far too much during these. The final meals were a la carte and excellent. It took time to get used to being served food. The beer at the table was nothing special and tasted watered down to me. I stuck to ginger ale and saved a fortune. Their large beer was in a medium size glass, no pints of beer were available! At breakfast there were some lovely cakes provided. We were on half board and enjoyed every single meal. The serving area was a little cramped at times. It was in the dark, pity there was not some natural light there.

A great Madeiran dance evening for free. Only quibble was that on the firework gala evening half board customers had to watch others who had booked that evening to go to the fireworks, be served a Maderia wine as a starter. It was rather thoughtless and rude not to give the same to us. One couple asked as why we did not have any wine! I suggested to the Manager that they should offer an earlier sitting for half board people who did not want the meal and trip to the fireworks, she said that was a good idea.

A much better location than Porto Marie Hotel, a Lido is close as is an excellent cliff walk. Lovely flora and fauna. Also liked the shopping mall opposite, great cafe where we could get inexpensive cappuccinos and pastries. Nice shopping alongside the locals.

Overall a great hotel but needs re-decorating and seats need recovering in our room, maybe others. A couple we met said there was no seating at all in their Classic Rooms.

The indoor pool is small, and there was algae on the grouting by the ladder out, and on several points by the edges of the pool. These should be easily cleaned with a brush, but were not.
The outdoor pool was very cold when we were there. No music in the indoor pool and gym area, although the manager says there was ambient music.

Good hotel, great food, hope that the re-decoration programme the manager told us about will bring the rooms up to spec.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review which had our best attention. We took note of your comments and truly believe that they will help us to improve our services.

Regarding the special Atlantic festival package, guests on BB paid for the dinner including drinks and transfer to the city to see the fireworks. We offered to all our half board guests the transfer to see the fireworks. Half board does not include drinks during the meals.

All our rooms have balcony with a table and two chairs. Classic rooms don’t have sofa chairs but all the other types have (superior, Jr. suite and suites).

We would like to inform all our readers that we are permanently doing maintenance works to keep the hotel up to date. The Restaurant terrace is being renovated (almost done). We have now a completely new siting lounge area. During this year, we are also changing the covers of the room’s furniture (half of the rooms already completed).
We have also changed all tables in the Restaurant and we will change, shortly, all chairs.
Exterior painting is in course. Last year all room carpets were changed.

We are pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back in a near future,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Excellent Boutique style hotel with helpful and friendly staff. Decor is modern and bedrooms well furnished. Convenient location with shopping center with supermarket and C&A just across the road. Pleasant walk into town but conveniently located bus stop just outside for local or open topped tourist buses. Well stocked self service breakfast bar and though we only had one dinner it was very good quality and reasonable value.
For the independent traveler:-
Buy 3 day unlimited journey ticket for local yellow buses for 12 Euro. Easy to top up for more journeys.
Use the 48 yellow bus to get to the gardens at Monte. Cable car (10Euro) or bus back to centre of Funchal. No 1 or 2 back to the hotel.
People watch at one of the cafes on Avenue Arriage near the Municiple Garden (Jardin Municipal)
Dont walk down hill unless you are able to walk back up!

Only two requests for the hotel Management who I know reads these reviews.
1 The bacon at breakfast needs to cooked until crispy not left in its own fat.
2 Alternative pillows should be (are they? ) made available. The existing pillows are far too small and hard (polyester lumps) for the British Head ;-)

Room Tip: In my opinion rooms on levels 3, 4 or 5 and numbered 06 to 10 inclusive give more interesting views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment which had our best attention.

Regarding the pillows, we have alternative, we regret you did not request at reception. I took
note of your comments which will for sure help us to improve our services.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you in a near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

This is a gem of a hotel. Yes, it is a little way out of town, but two local buses pass right by the hotel. There is also a courtesy bus available at 10 and 11 am,and two return trips to the hotel in the afternoon. If only 4 people, then you are transported by taxi. It is a very pleasant walk down to the centre of Funchal, and you could just get the local bus back.

We were upgraded to a superior room, which was first class. I was a bit wary as it was on floor 1, and I had read that as it was near to the pool, that it could be a bit noisy. The opposite was the case, as guests were on sunbeds to read, or just to top up their tans. It was never an inconvenience to us.

The bedroom was very spacious, clean and bright, and the room service was excellent, with two changes of bed linen in the week that we were there. All other parts of the hotel were very clean, especially the colourful dining room and the decked dining area.

All of the management and staff were very helpful, nothing was too much trouble. There was a good choice of food for breakfast, the fresh fruit salad was especially good.
Some evening meals were buffet style with a varied choice, and others were served to your table.

This was our fifth holiday in Funchal, the first in the Regency Cliff, but it won't be our last.

Thanks to all concerned for making it such an enjoyable holiday.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

It is always with great pleasure that we acknowledge that we managed to fulfill our guest’s expectations. We thank you for your kind comment.

We are pleased to learn that you will be returning to our hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We have recently returned from a weeks holiday at this hotel. We were booked in bed and breakfast and could not fault the staff or the food. Everybody went out of their way to be helpful. It is pleasant half hour walk into town but there is a bus service outside the hotel as well as a taxi rank and a courtesy bus into town from the hotel. Breakfast is served on the terrace as well as the restaurant and there are lovely views over the bay. We will definitely return

Room Tip: I think it would be beter to have a room on one of the higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. We are very pleased to learn that you enjoyed your stay at Madeira Regency Cliff.

We look forward to welcoming you,

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel is a bit removed from the center of town, which was a bit inconvenient. Taxis cost about 6 euro to get to things. The hotel has a shuttle which runs at very specific times so if those times work for you, its very easy to get to town. Otherwise its a 30 minute walk or so.

The hotel is nice. They upgraded us to a suite because it is our honeymoon, which we appreciated. Breakfast is included and was pretty good. The hotel staff are friendly and pretty helpful. Very pretty views of the sea.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RegencyCliff, General Manager at Madeira Regency Cliff, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comment. We are glad to hear that overall you enjoyed your holiday.
We would like to inform our readers that there is a bus stop (50m from the hotel) and that the buses run every 15m and the cost is 1,90€ and you can buy the tickets at reception.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you in a near future.

With Kind Regards
Iolanda Fernandes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Madeira Regency Cliff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Madeira Regency Cliff

Address: Travessa da Quinta Calaca,6, Funchal, Madeira 9000-693, Portugal
Phone Number:
Location: Portugal > Madeira Islands > Madeira > Funchal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Funchal
#11 Romantic Hotel in Funchal
#12 Luxury Hotel in Funchal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Madeira Regency Cliff 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Inaugurated in May 2001, Madeira Regency Cliff is a 4 star boutique hotel, just 5 minutes away from the bustling city centre of the capital, offering stunning views over its cliff-top location. This beautiful stylish hotel offers 59 tastefully designed rooms, including 2 suites and 6 Jr. suites.All rooms equipped with cable TV, Flat screens, Air Conditioning, safe, mini-bar (with fee), coffee and tea facilities.Suites and Jr. Suites equipped with coffee machine Nespresso, trouser press and MP3/DVD player.Connecting rooms are also available.Hotel Facilities: Wi.Fi internet access in Lobby and rooms , Fitness room, turkish bath, massage room, heated outdoor and indoor swimming pools, restaurant with possibility to eat outdoor, bar and pool bar.From the hotel there is also a direct access to the Lido Promenade. Shops and restaurants in surrounding areas (Shopping Centre 50metres) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Booking.com, Odigeo, Otel and Venere so you can book your Madeira Regency Cliff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Madeira Regency Cliff Hotel Funchal
Regency Hotel Funchal
Madeira Regency Cliff Funchal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Madeira Regency Cliff, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.